We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely complex a bit quiet though” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balaia Golf Village Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Balaia Golf Village Resort to your Saves list
Balaia Golf Village Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sitio de Balaia - Apartado 917, Albufeira 8200-915, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Belfast
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely complex a bit quiet though”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed here for ten days, first impressions very good it's a huge complex very well maintained with beautiful gardens and lots of pools to keep everyone busy! We stayed in a two bed superior apartment with 2 bathrooms and all mod cons ie washing machine dishwasher etc fully equipped kitchen, we had a great stay though a couple of things to take note, no evening entertainment and only 2 complimentary bus runs per day at 10am and 6pm only carrying 24 passengers at 10am and 24passengers at 6pm, we stayed with another family so we had 9 in total in our party, what was surprising was we found reception staff not helpful when making enquiries about public buses and pushed us along the route of ordering taxis which incurred a supplement for the hotel, so they benefit from you ordering a taxi, trips excursions etc could be arranged at reception but at inflated prices, the strip was around 15 min walk from complex, but if you go in opposite direction there are great places to eat also at olhos d agua which is 5 to 10 min walk away! In all we had a great holiday but if you are travelling with teenagers you may want to rethink, it's ideal for those wanting to have a quiet holiday and perfect for very young families, the pools are beautiful and no trouble getting sun loungers, the accommodation is a little dated as is the main bar behind reception and could do with a bit of a facelift! Having said that we would go back!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    171
    40
    19
    8
See reviews for
216
96
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Egremont
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed here for a week on half board. When we arrived the heavens opened but a member of staff huddled us under a huge brolly for the short walk to the minibus, then drove us right up to apartment 360 which was on the first floor, lugged our cases up the stairs and showed us around the apartment and explained where everything was.
The apartment was quite a decent size with a separate kitchen, bedroom, bathroom and lounge/diner. We had 3 patio areas, one at the front, two at the back and there were sun loungers, table and chairs and parasols. There was plenty of seating area in the lounge, a TV in the lounge and bedroom. The kitchen, although a bit dated, had everything you would need if you were self catering. All the appliances etc. were spotlessly clean and there were plenty of dishes, cups, pans etc. We bought mugs to drink out of as the cups were small and delicate and we were terrified of breaking them (and losing our 50 Euro deposit)
The bathroom was the one room that needed bombing and refurbishing. I've not seen tiles like that since the 70's ! Joking aside, the tiles were cracked, the bath was disgusting, the drains ponged and there were ants all over the place. We had no air conditioning so had to close the outside shutters and leave the patio door open at night or we would have cooked.
The pillows on the bed were cushion sized and a bit smelly but there were enough cushions throughout the apartment to swap and change. The safe cost 11 Euros for the week but is bolted to the floor of the wardrobe in an awkward to reach place. We had to get down on our hand and knees to open it every time which wasn't ideal.
The whitewashed accommodation is set among delightful, well maintained gardens and lots of tall trees. There are 5 or 6 pools dotted around (we only found 4) and in the middle of the complex is a 9 hole golf course. Little paths lead off the main roads to the various apartments, it's like a labyrinth. I don't think we got all the way around the complex but it was nice to walk around at night and look at the flowers etc.
There was plenty of gardening staff working daily keeping the grounds looking good.
Breakfast was taken in the Clubhouse and like other reviewers, it was quite a trek (uphill in parts) to get there. At least we worked up an appetite getting there and walked the food off afterwards !. The choice of food wasn't huge but you wouldn't starve. It would have been nice, however, to have croissants and yoghurt.
Our evening meal was in the other restaurant near reception and again not a huge choice but enough. The desserts were to die for - I could never decide so ended up with 2 or 3 !. The service in the restaurant was a bit slow at times and we had quite a wait for our drinks bill each night.
Some of these apartments are privately owned (as was the one next door to us) and have been modernised and refurbished. There is a website where the owners rent them out and the prices are very reasonable.
There is a daily courtesy bus into Albufeira but it only runs at 10 am and picks up from Albufeira at 6 pm. It doesn't operate at the weekend.
There is a mini market on the complex but their prices are dearer than if you go into the big supermarket in Albufeira.
We came here for a peaceful, relaxing week which is exactly what we got but there is absolutely nothing to do at night. The Clubhouse closes at 7pm and the bar in the other restaurant doesn't look very inviting. If you wanted to go out for a meal or drink at night, you would have to go to Santa Eulalia approx. 20 minutes walk away. There is a new hotel/apartment block going up across the road so hopefully there will be somewhere to eat and drink.
We would definitely come back again but would book through the owners club to get the better accommodation.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet location, ask for an apartment away from the pools as it can get quite noisy dur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Great location if you just want to relax, is quite far away from other places, beach/strip etc. (cab) golf course is great and so is the selection of pools, grounds are well kept and clean and staff friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed for a week and having picked by pot-luck, were very pleased. Our 2 room apartment was right by the road (475) so traffic could have been a problem, however I sleep heavily. The room was clean and well serviced including a tumble dryer for days when the temp drops below 25, which is never. We had no air con but the fans were fine. A great little supermarket 3 mins walk.

The pools are excellent and the restaurant food, although pricey, is actually very good compared with local restaurants.

The grounds are very well kept and we found the staff generally friendly; occasionally perhaps a little disinterested. More friendly than the Turks though.

Our kids loved their stay. Overall a great place to lounge and relax. Book directly or through Travel Republic to get a good deal.

Room Tip: Ask them to fax a copy of the site map. Choose a pool side apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

When we booked the apartment, we knew where it was located, so we can't complain about the location. When taxis were available, it was a 10 minute ride to Albufeira, and about €8 each way, which isn't bad if there's a group of you going out. What was frustrating was the lack of taxis from the hotel, we often resorted to walking toward Albufeira and attempting to flag a taxi, which worked 75% of the time, other times we walked for more than 15 minutes (not the Village's fault).

The apartment itself was nice, and luckily our bedrooms were on the ground floor which was about 10º cooler than the upstairs living area, there are fans in the room, but they are really ineffective and the apartments could really do with some air-conditioning.

The reception staff were very nice and helpful, although they seem a bit short-staffed, and sometimes we'd have to wait 10+ minutes to just ask a simple question. They also didn't seem to appreciate the queue of people behind the person they were serving.

One of my main gripes about the Village was the 'extras' they charged for, which seemed excessive, and maybe counter-economical. I think that without exception, every bar/restaurant/café we went to had free WiFi, but the Village charged €10 a day (or €50 a week I think). The snack bars by the pool were over-priced, paying €3.50 for a beer, which you could get for €1 in town, €12 for an hour of tennis, €50 for a 9 hole par-3 course (including shoe hire/club hire). We stayed for 10 days, and noticed the tennis courts being used just a handful of times, and a similar number using the golf. I do wonder if the prices were a bit more reasonable, they'd get more people participating.

The beach is also more than a 10 minute walk away and involves a steep hill.

All in all, a nice resort, and probably ideal if you have a family and plan to eat in the apartment and just have the odd night out.

Room Tip: Choose one with bedrooms on the lower floor, as these are a lot cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberkenfig, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I have just returned from here. Firstly we had no air con in room unlike the others guests in our party. This made our stay unbearable! We were too hot to eat/sleep. The staff on reception I found to be unpleasant, unhelpful, when there is a problem. Others than that the rooms were well equipt. On the last day my watch was stolen from the room which is very upsetting. We called police who were very helpful. There was no break in so the only people could be the cleaners who made our room up even though we had the do not disturb sign. It is pot luck with this hotel re air con so staff told me and I really do not suggest anyone stay here without it as even when temps around 25 the rooms are boiling. I had to sleep with doors open which meant I had a lot of bites which were quite infected. Fans are of no use.

Room Tip: Visit old town. Make sure rooms have air con in both bedroom and lounge. Lovely beach bar near by y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick ireland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Stayed in Balaia GV for 10 nights in June. Two adults and two 14yr olds. We arrived just after midnight and received a pleasant welcome. We found all the staff (reception, cleaners, pool staff, grounds men) to be pleasant throughout our stay.

We were in a large 2bed apartment. It was well equipped with a Flat TV ( with Skysports/BBC/RTE/ITV/TV3) dish-washer, wash machine and clothes dryer, along with a microwave, 4element cooker and oven. The kitchen was well stocked with everything you’d need – except mugs, which we bought for €1ea.

The apartment had a large enough dining/lounge area which opened to a small patio and grass area with patio furniture. There was also a bathroom, kitchen and two bedrooms, one en-suite, with plenty of storage space, cupboards, drawers etc. There was powerful supply of hot and cold water to both bathrooms and the kitchen all day and night.

We enjoyed the pools, mostly using the one nearest reception. Sunbeds were always available. Most of the pools went from 1.2 to 2.4meters depth (one went to 2.8mtrs), however they all had a kids pool incorporated.

Balaia GV is very quiet – maybe too quiet for some. There is no evening entertainment at all, not even for kids. You can walk 600mtrs to some restaurants and pubs (left at gate) which are cheap and cheerful, but there are better ones, albeit a bit more expensive 1.5K towards Albufiera (right at gate), however you would need a car to get to them.


You can order a Taxi from reception, but be aware if you order during the peak times (7pm to 9pm) you could be waiting 45mins or more. And the Taxis are not as plentiful, or as flexible as they are in Ireland & Britain – we tried to get in to a Taxi that had just dropped people off at Balaia but were refused because the Taxi had a pickup scheduled somewhere else!!

The Golf Course is a 9 hole par3 – very beautiful, but expensive at €35, or €50 including rental of irons & shoes (its only a par3 remember). Bring your own balls or you’ll have to pay another €10 for three!! It’s a tough enough par3 with the course record only 3under for 18(2x9 holes).

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it for a relaxing holiday for families, couples and friends.

Room Tip: Stay away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balaia Golf Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balaia Golf Village Resort

Address: Sitio de Balaia - Apartado 917, Albufeira 8200-915, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#28 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Balaia Golf Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully landscaped gardens with pine, cork and almond trees are the prefect backdrop for your home in the sun, only 500 meters from the beach. Around the grounds you can enjoy 6 swimming pools, a health club with indoor pool, 4 tennis courts, restaurants and snack bars. A 9 hole executive golf course, golf academy (with resident pro), driving range with putting greens, practice bunkers and chipping areas complete the leisure facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Balaia Golf Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balaia Golf Village Hotel Albufeira
Balaia Hotel Village
Balaia Hotel Albufeira
Balaia Golf Village Resort Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balaia Golf Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.