We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very green!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alto da Colina Aparthotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Alto da Colina Aparthotel to your Saves list
Alto da Colina Aparthotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Balaia - Apt 866 | Balaia area, on the road to Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 8200, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Lancs.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Very green!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Did not know what to expect for our first time visit to Portugal on a last minute whim. Barren like Egypt or Greece?
Very surprised. Firstly at how green the country is. They had/have a lot of rain.
Spacious room. Fab pool. Friendly staff through out. The food was probably the best I have had in an all inc apart from Brazil. My mother who is best described as fussy did not complain once. Result!
Downside is, you are not served at all. It is self service all the way.
Very strange that you have to go inside a closed restaurant to help yourself to drinks. Not sure if there were any accidents negotiating the two doors. Maybe a seasonal thing? Paper/plastic cups.
There is nowhere 'quiet' to sit in the evening. Too many noisy gaming machines. This is a family hotel. Not for couples.
Expect to pay a deposit for a/c and tv remote controls.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    95
    39
    18
    14
See reviews for
215
33
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Alto Colina in Balaia over Easter (2 adults, 1 teenager). The hotel is really well kept, lovely pool areas - slide and splash pools were closed as we were out of season, but looks really good for kids. Large sports areas, inside pool which was freezing! Really nice room with close-off bedroom from the main living area and good kitchen. Best thing about this place was the food and the man who books you into the restaurant (and does the shuttle service to Albufeira...) We are all fussy eaters and the food was excellent every night with a themed choice that changed ever day, plus the basics in case you don't like the theme. Best food ever from an A.I. Shame the drinks weren't up to the same standard, but hey-ho you get what you pay for and this hotel is good value. Didn't like the bar area at all, they could do with some sort of lounge for those who don't have 5 or 6 under 5's that want to run around till late.....
All in all, good value, good food, lovely pool areas, nice room, great staff. Would reccomend.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Just returned from our week holiday from Portugal. We originally booked a different hotel but for our luck we were booked out to their sister hotel, the Alto da Colina.
That was the best thing that happened to us!!! The manager on duty, Jo was absolutely amazing. She really went out of her way to make sure that we were looked after :) She is a real credit to the hotel. Her hospitality really touched us and we will always have good memories of Portugal :)
The food was excellent, we got the full inclusive deal and we never left the restaurant unsatisfied.
The staff there is AMAZING, the receptionists, the lady in the bar, they all had great customer service.
We spent our last 2 nights in a different hotel, and we regreted not staying in Alto da Colina all the time. It is perfect for children, our little girl ( 3 yrs) had so much fun, she made loadz of new friends, even though they didnt have some of their facilities open since we were in pre-season the kids just had so much to do. The playground is fabolous.
Just wanna say a big thank you to Jo and all the staff to make this holiday so memorable for us, we loved Portugal and the Portugese are really friendly, i would definitely recommend this hotel :) THANK YOU JO:) :) :)

Room Tip: We stayed on the 1st floor and our balcony was twice as big as the others and we had a sea view too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drybrook, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights the last weekend in April, Lovely friendly , clean hotel :-) Rooms are huge with a lovely huge balcony , The pool is nice and plenty of sun loungers available . The food & drinks are nice, nothing special .. But for a cheap break it's perfect ! Would definitely go back and loved our stay here .

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

A great family hotel especially if you have young children. We spent a week here during the Easter break with our 5 and 7 year old on an all inclusive break. Upon arrival, we were allocated our room but it smelt quite badly of cigarette smoke and after contacting the management, they sent a maid to clean the room again whilst we went for lunch and a drink. Unfortunately, when we returned to the room, it still smelt of cigarettes. I again spoke to the manager and he agreed this wasn't acceptable and changed our room, which was fine.

It was the first time we have gone all inclusive as we are always a little apprehensive about the quality of food served from previous stays at all inclusive hotels where we didn't go for the all inclusive option. The food at the Alto da Colina was excellent and was of good quality and tasty. Lovely made to order omelettes for breakfast as well as American pancakes. Always freshly grilled meat and local fish for lunch and dinner, with a fab salad bar. I particularly enjoyed the San Miguel on tap! The restaurant staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient. They never seem to have a day off.

The water park at the hotel was closed until May but we were able to use the water park at the sister hotel (The Alfagar) across the road. It is also through the Alfagar that you reach the beach via some pretty steep terrain and is about 10 minutes walk from the Colina Hotel.

The Hotel also have a free mini bus service down to Albufeira old town which takes around 5 minutes.

The hotel was always immaculate and staff are always cleaning something, whether it be the floor or the windows, the pool or the gardens surrounding the pool. Great to see!

So just one last thing...Thank you to Daniel for sorting our room out and Walter who was always helpful at the reception.

Thank you for a great holiday, just the break we needed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed for a week on a All Inclusive basis.The rooms are large with good size balconies we stayed on the top floor in block 1 with a sea view. Cleaning was poor, one day it was missed completely, towels not changed, cups were left in corridors for days and marks left from split drinks were left on window cills.

Major worry we had was no staff in the buffet restaurant used a cleaning spray when they wiped down tables that had been used. I saw on many occasions staff using the same cloth to wipe down a food area then a table, table mats then put the same cloth on a trolley , never put in water , never changed between these actions and no cleaning fluid used.Food was only warm at the best of times never hot and quality and choice was poor. Breakfast was very good but the rest of the meals were bad. Yes they had a childrens area but this was same nearly every time.

Cocktails are served from a push button vending machine at the back of the bar ! They are awful too. The bar area is very small .

New reps were being trained during our week there and we subjected to listening to them talking about ...getting pissed, graphic discription of what went on ...and swearing! When they met up for breakfast one day. In fact on more than a few occasions they took over tables and chairs due to the large group that were staying.

Booked direct with Thomsons who forgot to inform us that the whole VILLAGE experience does not start until May 1st. The 2 Al A Carte Restaurants were closed, you could not get any spirits until 4pm as thats when the main bar opened and the supermarket was closed. There was supposed to be entertainment twice at the hotel one night it never happened and the other was a parrot show! To which poor parents at the end had to stump up ten euros per picture of their child.

You are out of the way , no where to walk to if you have mobility issues. They do offer a bus service in a morning to the old town but this gets very busy .

Only a average hotel

Room Tip: Need to be in block 1 , if in block 2 you have a lot of steps to get to the main block. Make sure yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed here for a quick week to avoid the bad weather at home. We had top floor sea view/pool view lovely views and big apartment with huge balconies. Great air con . Pool cold indoor pool just as cold. Breakfast was the best meal of the day by far. You can get cold drinks beer wine and that's it until 4pm then the other bar is open to get shorts the coctails are awful . Lunch has about 4trays of vegetables and a few meats and pasta many dishes are rice with beans rice with peppers the sweets have mousse and other mousse no cakes or nice desert one of the worst allinclusive I have been to snack bar is hot dog wich is a tiny sausage on stale roll and chips or cardboard pizza they really cut on costa here the hotel staff are very helpful. The rooms are not that clean shower curtains have black scum mark at bottom the towels are replaced but the tables are left un wiped and we kept are room tidy. Never seen the pool area cleaned once while we where their we saw same plastic cups still at the chairs from day before. Public toilets are very clean though would I stay here again no because of the allinclusivey

Room Tip: Top floor block 1have the washer /dryers/iron
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alto da Colina Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto da Colina Aparthotel

Address: Balaia - Apt 866 | Balaia area, on the road to Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
#22 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#28 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto da Colina Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alto da Colina Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Da Colina Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira
Alto Da Colina Aparthotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve
Club Alto Da Colina
Alto Colina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alto da Colina Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.