We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Montechoro & also bar/restuarants” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montechoro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Montechoro to your Saves list
Hotel Montechoro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Alexandre O'Neill, Albufeira 8200-343, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #136 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Liverpool
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hotel Montechoro & also bar/restuarants”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Montechoro 12/6 to 20/6 -2013.

Hotel standards has declined since we last stayed there 5 yrs ago, stayed here a few times, but as other reviewers state, it is desperate tor a refurb, main public areas are fine but rooms dated and standards not as they used to be, , Breakfast was same every day and quality of food and drink not as appetising as in the past, we ended up eating out after 3 days,upside is the pool area is really lovely and staff are really nice and helpful too, so sad to see the decline of a once Flagship hotel, if rumours are right it is said to be changing ownership and then renovation, but don't know if true, I hope so!

Places to eat/Drink- Plentiful, lots of Portuguese Restaurants have' menu of the day' average price 10 euros for 3&4 course meals, great value, in particular we ate at 'Sunset on the Strip for the best Sirlon steak ever 9e and 'Os Compadres' in the small square at top of strip by 60s bar, fabulous food, 4 courses for approx 9 euros..also in same square 'the English Kitchen' great breakfast from 3.75e and Sundays roasts, not forgetting the Cottage which is now down at lower end of the Strip, both really good places to eat if you want English food, but don't be afraid to eat Portuguese as they are great too.Nice Restaurants in Old town square slightly dearer, but worth the view as you eat, we chose 'Bravo' Italian, biggest portions ever seen in an Italian Restaurant, also the Sir Harry does the best ever English breakfast! .Albufiera & Strip has improved and a great place for all age groups, can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: we stayed overlooking the main entrance, but heard that some rooms overlooking the pool (& strip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    115
    109
    72
    59
See reviews for
116
154
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Just home from a week at Montechoro Hotel We paid for H/B but had to eat out We had dinner in the pool bar for 2 nights dining room closed lack of customers. 2 main courses to choose from I asked for breaded fish I was given fish fingers I saw red Then I had breast of chicken It was flat in batter that looked liked it was bought in LIdl Nothing against Lidl I shop there. I expected 4 star food The management is giving false advertisement.Very bad lighting in the halls .Half of hotel closed.Dining room opened for our last 2 nights because a coach full of students arrived.Even then food terrible. Choice of 1 meat rice and carrots The only positive was nice big bedroom spotless clean comfy bed Would never stay again.

Room Tip: We asked for pool view Our room was on the ninth floor facing run down centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Terrible is the word that sums up this hotel! We stayed here (my friend, myself and my 2 boys) last summer and to say it was bad would be an understatement.. Dog poo on our carpets, cockroaches floating in our bed.. On one occasion my friend was reading her paper on a chair and the chair legs went from under her.. Do not stay here it has no entertainment, no welcoming staff, the food is horrible, they charge you €1 to call a taxi and they can't even make a simple breakfast.. This really was the holiday from hell I would advise everybody not to stay here.. Was I a bit harsh? No it was just me being honest :)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

A scary place with insufficient lighting. I got the sense that the owners don't want to use electricity and so they keep the hallways dim.

Staff seem to ignore you and sweep up right up against where you're sitting. I think that zero work or remodeling has been done there since the place was built. Example - the plumbing makes ALOT of noise!

I would've given 1 star across the board but their breakfast was pretty good.

Save your money & sleep in a car...you'll be more comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Great location at the top end of the main strip. Courtesy transport provided to old town square at various arranged times but is also a pleasant walk to old town from hotel as it is mostly downhill and 3km away. One of only a few hotels that includes a free breakfast, which is great, all you can eat buffet style, which is what you need first thing in the morning without having to leave the hotel. The reception staff are all nice and friendly and work long hours. It much no problem at all when I asked the nice lady on reception to ring up and sort out our transfers back to the airport the day before departure. Rooms cleaned daily. Brilliant view from facing the pool and strip.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Even though we'd booked a 4* hotel on a H/B basis they managed to put us in the 'Club 99' self catering apartments across the road, this was quickly sorted the following morning though and were given a "free upgrade"! We had room 735 which had a great view from the balcony and a quite comfy king size bed.The whole hotel is dated but very clean and the staff pleasant. When we stayed the hotel was very quiet, only three couples ate in the evening, they never opened the dining room and we ate in the pool bar from a very "economic" menu. We did eat breakfast in the dining room once and that was on our last day due to an early start and that was quite good. There was no entertainment at the hotel and the poor weather didn't help, we spent many an evening in the near by 'Erin's Isle' Irish pub. Thanks to Max and the bar staff for the warm welcome.

Room Tip: Insist on a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This hotel was very clean and the facilities were good.
Our room was very spacious and furnished and decorated to a good standard.
The hotel has got 2 pools with one being a kids pool and the other a mixed age pool.
The hotel location isn't the greatest as its at the top of the strip and is uphill when walking back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Montechoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montechoro

Address: Rua Alexandre O'Neill, Albufeira 8200-343, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Montechoro 4*
Number of rooms: 362
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Montechoro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Montechoro Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Montechoro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.