We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic apartments, quiet, but relaxing place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Alpinus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Luna Alpinus to your Saves list
Luna Alpinus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pinhal do Concelho - Acoteias, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Wigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic apartments, quiet, but relaxing place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

Me, my wife and our 3 year old daughter spent a week at luna alpinus in october of last year. We had booked a 2 bedroom apartment. The first thing that struck us (after the lovely reception area) was the size, cleanliness and quality of the apartment. It really cannot be overstated just how big the 2 bedroom apartments are. A lovely open plan sitting, dining and kitchen area has the first, smallish balcony. There is then a large, well appointed main bathroom and a large twin room where our daughter slept. There is then a large master bedroom, with a huge en-suite which is nearly as big as the main bathroom.

The real bonus though, is the second balcony and sun terrace you get leading off the master bedroom. I walked onto our balcony the first morning, looked left, and my jaw dropped. A huge sun terrace of our own with sun loungers set out for us.

The accommodation is overall superb, and was that good we were happy on a few nights to cook for ourselves in the apartment and just experience being there. The furniture is of an 'IKEA' sort of quality (not a bad thing!) and there are nice touches like the pictures on the walls being original canvases, not just prints.

There are two pool areas that catch the sun at different times of the day, and both were very clean and comfortable and had children's pools. Occasionally bar staff could be hard to find, but it was off season. The restaurant in the hotel was expensive, and not very good, we ate there the first night because we arrived late, but didn't bother again.

There are a few (very few!) restaurants nearby, but there was nothing wrong with the food they serve, and the prices not too bad either. The local kwik-e-mart is literally round the corner from the hotel and good for getting things in for breakfast etc. A tip is to learn a few portuguese words and buy the local produce, as it's far cheaper than the imported stuff you'll recognise.

Falesia beach is 20-30 minutes walk away and there is a steep hill at the end of the walk, so beware older travellers. However it's well worth the trip as it is absolutely beautiful. There's also a little square with bars and restaurants half way there, good for a pit stop.

We got a taxi ride into albufiera (about 8 euros each way) which is much more lively and much more of a resort. Seemed like it would be a great place for a night out, but as we had the little one with us, we couldn't find that out!

Evening entertainment at the hotel was a bit mixed, they had a few musicians on, which were entertaining enough in a europop kind of way. Better than nothing I suppose!

If you are after a quiet, relaxing holiday, where you make your own entertainment then I'd recommend the luna alpinus. You certainly won't be disappointed with the accommodation (other holiday makers raved about the size of the single bedroom apartments, they hadn't seen the 2 bedrooms!). The location will be too out of the way for some. for us it was ideal.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    238
    137
    67
    30
See reviews for
246
183
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

Firstly, the Luna Alpinus is definitely worthy of the 4 stars it is rated. The lobby and reception area is huge, beautiful, clean and decorated tastefully. The outdoor swimming pool is also clean with enough sundecks, and also a pool for children. We stayed in a standard apartment room, which consisted of one large bedroom, a clean, spacious bathroom, a well maintained kitchen and a sitting room, which was basically one sofa and two armchairs around a coffee table and a tv on a cabinet. There was also a stereo, AC, a safe in the closet in the bedroom. The kitchen also had all the utensils one would need (again all very clean) and all electrical appliances were fully functional. There was also an ironing board and an iron in the cupboard near the front door. The view from our balcony was from the front of the hotel, therefore we were facing the road, which was very quiet and then an open field with well maintained trees, therefore a lot of greenery. We saw many people played golf in this area .In the distance there was another hotel situated. Very peaceful area.

Secondly, as the hotel is in a quiet area, it is around a one mile walk to the beach, which was enjoyable to us in the warm weather. Beach itself is beautiful, very blue water and fine white sand. Streets are quite narrow and some very hilly so be prepared for the uphill walk back to the hotel! As we were self-catering, it was fortunate that although the hotel is in a quiet area, there are a few shops around the corner. Some souvenir shops, a bank, a supermarket and a hairdressers. If walked further down the road, becomes more lively as more cars and people and more shops and restaurants.

Thirdly, there are regular minivans to the old town and strip from the hotel, which are free of charge. Hotel also administer excursion pamphlets if asked. We went on one excursion, which was to Lisbon. I think it is well worth going on this excursion as very enjoyable with wonderful sights. The tour guide took us to many famous monuments, and a museum, we went over the largest bridge in Europe and he dropped us off in the city centre where we could explore on our own.

Furthermore,staff are polite, albeit a little reserved, not overly-friendly, as i found out later on that most of the people are like in Portugal! Our receptionist, however was lovely, Sandra dos Santos Goncalves-Hi Sandra!! She gave us tips on where it is worth going and not going, which types of salespeople to avoid and generally making our stay more pleasant.

All in all, this hotel is luxury for the price we paid. Although it is in a peaceful spot, it is easy to travel to the beach and tourist attractions via the minivans. Must admit never saw any taxis near the hotel, though not a problem as never needed one. I do not have any complaints regarding this hotel, apart from the fact we had to carry our own luggage to and from the room! This could be due to the fact we went at an off-peak period. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stratford upon Avon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

we went to this hotel with Extra Weeks. The Hotel itself was lovely and the accommodation was more than adequate and very pleasant. It was in a relatively quiet position, not too far from a beautiful beach. There was an excellent fish restaurant across the road. The reception staff were very nice and truthfully we couldn't fault the hotel and my husband and I have relatively high standards!Unfortunately we were approached by a chap Chris Butcher who worked for Holiday Solutions and a company EIL (European International Leisure). We were taken up with the whole holiday ambience and were 'persuaded' to part with over £3,000 for a three year holiday plan whereby we could take holidays at 70% below the normal price - sounds too good to be true, well it was and we lost the £3,000+ I feel the hotel should be aware of these people who use their premises to snare the waiting holidaymakers. Enjoy the hotel but just say NO to these people of dubious means.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

We came here before, 2 years ago and so booked a return because of the spacious rooms with good facilities. The resort is great, although I can see why some people find it limited. We like the relatively compact resort - there are around 20 restaurants in Acoteias, but no nightclubs. There is an excellent local supermarket and it is easy to lunch or dine in and the big kitchen allows for decent cooking. The beach here is just gorgeous. The hotel now has two pools, much better than before. The two bed apartments are unrivalled for spaciousness at this price - the twos have two small balconies but a huge sun-terrace for sunbathing on or relaxing in the evening.
The hotel currently operates a free bus to two other hotels in the group - one at Olhos D'Agua - get the bus there and then walk back along the beach, and the other at the foot of 'The Strip' which our teenagers loved. You can connect from here into Albufeira really easily and it is well worth spending an evening in the town square.
Our only criticism really would be the lack of entertainment at the hotel this year. previous guests will agree that 'Seasons' who previously ran it did provide a range of things, some good and some not so, but this year we found that there was almost nothing laid on, which meant that we spent a lot of money in the local bars.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

this was a globe span trip, well done to them, the rooms were clean, the kitchen was very well equipped, there was a lounge with tv, radio, cd etc, there was a shuttle bus that took you into town (free ) .
OK the down side the food was cold but there was plenty , I turned the thermostat up on the soup container then the rest of the week was fine, I did the same on the main course food trays but only got away with it for one day then it was turned down again, this was a great shame as the food was of a good standard and some nice choices, the night life well there was none in the hotel. so if you just want to chill out then go there

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

This hotel was chosen because it was set away from the noise of Albufeira but maybe a little too far, not the desciption given by Globespan..... also there is no indoor pool or gym as indicated.... It is a long walk to the beach but you can take the courtesy bus to Felisia beach and walk down the steps, well worth it. Bus driver was very cheery unlike the reception staff who we found to be moody and not as helpfull as they could be. There is little information at the hotel about the area.
The hotel is clean, apartments are very spacious and cleaned every day. towels changed daily, no gripes there, even BBC1 and ITV channels...
Albufeira by night is very busy, lots of stag and hen doos, saw an obvious drug deal go down on Friday night, lack of Police presence considering they are so blatent. On the whole a fab holiday, great hotel but maybe a little too far away from town if you want to pop out at night because there is little to do around hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrewshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

Just back from excellent 7 day holiday at the Alpinus. We had booked a one bedroom apartment with our adult daughter intending to use the sofa bed in the lounge. On arrival we found that one of the metal folding supports on this bed was broken and would not allow it to fold properly.
Reception immediately offered a two bedroom/two bathroom room overlooking the quieter of the two pools at no additional cost.
Both bedrooms were a good size as was the kitchen/lounge area.
Reception were always very helpful the only downside was that there is almost a complete lack of information on the surrounding area or any other hotel facilities.
Yes the area is very,very quiet and you do need to visit Albufeira for a much wider choice of eating facilities/bars etc. but we were aware of this before we went.
However prices generally in the local area are better value than those in Albufeira.
Sun Loungers were always available at both pools but this probably was because it was mid September
Towels were changed daily and the rooms were given a quick clean.
Not a hotel if you want action but fine for a peaceful break!

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luna Alpinus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Alpinus

Address: Pinhal do Concelho - Acoteias, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
#47 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Luna Alpinus 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Luna Alpinus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Alpinus Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve
Luna Alpinus Hotel Albufeira
Alpinus Albufeira
Hotel Alpinus
Alpinus Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Alpinus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.