We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A weeks stay in the heart of the city.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Polana Residence Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Polana Residence Hotel to your Saves list
Polana Residence Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Candido Dos Reis n0 32, Albufeira 8200-103, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A weeks stay in the heart of the city.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Myself and my partner had a week here at this hotel, it was basic (we referred to it as a Travelodge) but it had good facilities, good standard Air Conditioning, a well equipped bathroom and a small balcony to do a spot of people watching to start or finish your day.

The location for this hotel is fantastic, you cannot ask for a better location, on your doorstep is many restaurants and bars all across the strip - in the main part of old town, even better is that the beautiful beach is a mere slow 5 minute walk.

The staff are very accommodating, friendly, give you tips on hot spots and help you out with all your holiday needs, rooms cleaned to spotless conditions everyday too.

So you literally can't ask for anything more (unless you want luxury).. although we didn't use it that much, you had access to the pool over at Hotel California, which is near enough next door.

The only thing I would say need improving is their breakfast isn't particularly fantastic - we ate out most mornings even though we chose the bed and breakfast option mainly due to no hot foods available and not a great selection admittedly.

For me, the noise wasn't a problem, I got to sleep near quickly each night. The best thing for us was to open the balcony doors allowing the noise in whilst you get ready for bed just for ten minutes then closing them as you climb into bed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    24
    14
    10
    5
See reviews for
5
47
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Just had a weeks stay here and we loved it. Great location, close to everything but very very noisy at night until 4am when all the music stops and the revellers return to their hotels. However, close the double glazed doors and sleep like a baby! The staff are all helpful and man the receptions all night. The room we had,403, was fine and had a small but adequate balcony. Breakfast was ok but nothing hot..well it was very warm outside from early on so who wants fried bacon and egg anyway? The beach was 5 minutes away and is fantastic, but as this hotel has no pool they have a sister hotel, Hotel California, which does and is ok to use showing your room card. All in all we enjoyed it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This hotel is way overpriced for what you get. A truly disappointing experience. Bathroom had a bad smell that seemed to keep re emerging. I was very unpleasant to be awoken at 8am in a room that was not dark enough for sleep. Also the noise is a major sleep hindrance up to 3 or 4am.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

excellent location for the beach, restaurants, bars and square of the oldtown. While located on a busy street which was noisy in the evenings we slept relatively easily (if you are a very light sleeper or have trouble getting to sleep with some background noise then this is not for you!). Room very clean and cleaners in daily. Front door staff extremely friendly, cant fault this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

Best of both worlds sitting in the hub of the old town we were concerned about sleep but it was not a problem at all. Staff are so friendly and helpful. We booked a standard room but upgraded to 1 with sun terrace wen booking in. Was xtra but well worth it

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I've spent 9 nights in this residence by the end of July.
I've choosen this residence because its situation, ideal for people who likes to spend the whole night in the discos around, that was my case.
The problem waswhen I am came back to the hotel, around 4 o'clock in the morning, workers were rebuilding houses around the residence and they start arount 7 o'clock to make NOISE....imagine to sleep only 2-3 hours in the morning....They have no respect ....money...money...
I complained in the reception to get part of my money back....no way!!
Other disadvantage: no parking and the public one was very expensive: 1 Euro/hour!!
Very small rooms...
BUT very very nice/kind people at the reception!!

PS: photo of my bathroom after the workers kercherised the house near my balcony

Room Tip: take the one with terrasse
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Staff was very friendly. Right in the middle of town where all the action is. This is a 2 star hotel and we expected less but were happily surprised.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Polana Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polana Residence Hotel

Address: Rua Candido Dos Reis n0 32, Albufeira 8200-103, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Polana Residence Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the vibrant heart of the old town of Albufeira with her restaurants and bars.The hotel is just a few minutes walk from the beach.This, for the most part, recently renovated hotel has a cozy, modern and friendly atmosphere.The hotel has comfortable, tastefully decorated rooms, some with terrace, all with tv and airconditing. In the morning you can enjoy a full continental breakfast.There is 24 hours reception available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Polana Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polana Hotel Albufeira
Polana Residence Hotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Polana Residence Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.