We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book Now” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa to your Saves list
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Praia de Santa Eulalia, PO Box 2445, Albufeira 8200-916, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Book Now”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

I have just returned from a very very relaxing one week Easter break at this wonderful resort on the edge of Albufeira.
I took my mother and two children aged 13 and 9 and we had a fantastic time both at the hotel and on the wonderful clean beach which is situated right in front of the hotel.
we had a sea view suite on the second floor which comprimised of a bedroom with a super king size bed and jacuzzi on suite with all facilities and a lounge area with a double sofa bed and an en suite. The view was amazing overlooking the pools and over the ocean which was situated more or less right outside your window. Ther was more than enough space to sleep a family of four. The rooms are very well sound proofed and all floors are carpeted to prevent any noise disruption as are the passages.
The resort has a main hotel with the restaurants and bars inside and there were a number of 5* villas situated to the font of the hotel and the ocean to the rear. It has a number of excellent restaurants within and 3 outside near the private beach.
There is a relaxation and therapy zone ( a spa ) downstairs which hosts the gym which is well equiped and modern to a massage room and hairdressers, there is heated hydro pool for thelasus treatments. This is highly recommended to try and is free with the suite.
As it was Easter we shared the hotel with a lot of Portugese and spanish eager to enjoy the resort also and the entertainment was a 24 piece orchestrer who played on the Saturday evening and were fantastic as was the party atmosphere inside the hotels grande reception / bar area. There were no Rod Stewart entertainers or tacky parrott shows here!!.
The breakfast is a must and will have something for everybody including Salmon and Champagne which went down well with the actors and fashion designers who were amongst us. However this is the only area which I feel must be addressed before there is a serious burn and that is the toaster, there is only one and boy oh boy does it get hot to the touch, please assist your children.
You must try the old town for it's fish and other Seafood as it one of the best places for fish i have ever tried, freshly caught and bought that day, some are still alive in the tank when you choose, the strip is only frequented by the partie's and group's so be warned of the atmosphere this creates, so if it's a nice quiete meal definetely stay away.
Villamoura is a short taxi ride away and also has good eateries and a very nice marina is a nice day out for a visit.
The staff within the resort are second to none and the reception staff will assisst you in possible way they can from your luggage to your taxi transfers to the airport.
You can take advantage of the free bus which takes you into albuferia and paicks you up after a browse around the many sights,restaurants and shops.

All in all this was exactly what i wanted when i wanted it, it was Clean, spacious, relaxing and very enjoyable, i will return the same time next year ( volcano forbidden )

THIS HOTEL IS A MUST

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2010
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Grande Real Santa Eulália.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, not only at our Hotel, but also in the Algarve
and were able to visit some of our attractions like the old town of Albufeira and Vilamoura. Thank you also for alerting us about the toaster, this has in fact, never been mentioned before and we will check this immediately and do everything to avoid any dangerous or unpleasant situations. We look forward to welcome you back, for a hopefully trouble free holiday with no “volcanic ash disturbances”.


Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    300
    122
    38
    16
See reviews for
360
388
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

Just come back from a weeks stay here, weather great, we checked in late and staff excellent. Main pool was heated which was great for the kids loads of towels available. Nice kids playground and very kind staff in kids club. We had a studio apartment and they set up the travel cot with clean sheets and blankets and it was a good matress, my toddler slept well in it, however my only problem was the beds were too hard, didnt sleep well all week on it, so annoying as for once our kids slept through the night, which they never do at home, all the sea air i guess!! Great spot on the beach, felt safe and secure here, very clean hotel, and very nice grass areas for kids to play on, really well maintained no litter anywhere. such a nice place, just ask for a matress topper if you dont like very hard matress, i didnt know this beforehand, but have since read other reveiews and seen they will try and help you, just wish i would have known this when i was there, overall nice place, will return but would stay in a seaview room next time the views really are stunning.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, June 7, 2010
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We regret that not everything was perfect and that, due to our beds, your stay was not as comfortable as you, and we, would have expected it to be. As you remarked, we provide mattress toppers would have been very pleased to provide them. Most of our Hotel rooms are equipped with these toppers, but not all Resort Suites yet.
To make sure that your next stay will be more comfortable, please do not hesitate to send an email to amendes@hoteisreal.com, informing us about you arrival, and we will prepare your bed according to your preferences.
We look forward to welcoming you back and remain at your disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odivelas, Portugal
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

I was in this hotel for two nights for a business conference.
The reception was at late hours in the night but I was glad to see that the employees were delighted to see me and had a smile on their faces - I felt welcome!
The room was spacious and so were the other rooms I saw, from my collegues.
The bed linens were soft and so was the bed - I slept like a baby (normally I do not have much sleep outside my house)!
The room had enough space to place a childs bed, which was nice!
The hotel is located right over the beach and the view was wonderful, not only from the room but also on the lobby and swimming pool so, even though I was working, I felt relaxed at the same time.
After the conference I had the chance to go to the swimming pool where there were hotel towels to use, which was nice also.
Maybe the only thing I didn´t like was that the room number did not match the floor it was located in and, although it was easy to follow the directions, I didn't understand the logic of room number placement and I thing it could be confusing if you didn't follow the main corridors.
Also we did have to go down a flight of stairs to reach the breakfast room and I did not see an elevator access, which can be difficult for people who have difficulty climbing or decending stairs like handicaped, for example.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, May 31, 2010
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review of the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, even though it was only a short stay and that, although you were working, you had a relaxed and pleasant environment.
We thank you for your remark regarding the room number assignment and regret if it was confusing. The reception floor, with the main entrance, has been designated as our floor 1, the other floors have been numbered according to their location below or above the reception floor and although it never has been commented before, we understand that in the beginning this might be a bit confusing.
Regarding, the access to the floor -1 where the breakfast room and beach access is located, there is no direct access by elevator if your room is located in the west wing of the Hotel, but we do have two elevators, located in the small hall right next to the lobby and the stairs, which can be used to access all floors of the hotel.

Thank you once again for your kind review and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Grande Real Santa Eulália, for a, hopefully, longer stay.

Kind regards




Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

Have just returned back from an 8 day stay at this hotel and we all really enjoyed our stay.
We had an apartment neat a pool and it was lovely in the morning to be able to watch our children enjoy the pool while we had coffee on the balcony.The reception staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble...They went out of their way at all times to please the customer.The staff at Cafe Americano however were not so good..They didnt have the same qualities as the other staff.Loved the idea of huge bales of towels beside every pool so you could use and discard as often as you wish without the need for deposits.Also liked the open green areas around the apartments where kids could play around a little.However the food was a little expensive and but lovely.Was didappointed with the deserts at the buffet table.....You know on holidays this is one area you want to indulge....too little to choose from and none of the deserts to die for.I was expecting lots of cakes,cream, icecream but no icecream unless you asked for it and very few cakes....could definately improve here.But would I go back...definately yes!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2010
Dear guest,

Thank you for your nice review.
We are glad that your overall experience at our Resort was enjoyable and that you even consider returning. We took note of your remarks and regret that you were not satisfied with the quality of the service provided at the Bar Atlântico and our Dessert Buffet. We will pass your comments to our F&B Manager and ensure that we will do our utmost to offer a consistent level of service in all our outlets, according to our usual standards, and will review our dessert selection.
To avoid any misunderstanding, we also would like to remark that we do not supply unlimited towels during the whole year. Since it has been quiet now, there has been no need to establish a limit of towel per guest, but during the main season, we implement a towel control system, and guests will need to present a card to receive a towel and only receive a limited number of towels per day.

We look forward to welcoming you back. Should you require any assistance or information, please do not hesitate to contact us.


Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010 via mobile

We are currently staying at the 5 star Grande Real Santa Eulalia Hotel (April 2010). It is a nice hotel and has a lot going for it such as nice staff at reception and lovely rooms with nice sea view (at an additional cost).
When we were booking we were swaying between the
Sheraton and this hotel. We chose to go with the Grande Real
on the basis that it seemed that the spa facilities were
of a higher standard and we were looking for a
relaxing holiday were we could use spa and unwind for a week. Having arrived here and looking
to book vas treatments we are fast appreciating that
this is the first 5 star hotel we have ever visited that charges you individually for
use any of the spa facilities. E.g, everytime you want to use the
steam room/ sauna it will cost you 10 euros per person. There is also an indoor
pool which is a 'thalasso pool,' stated as being a separate treatment in its own right and this
costs approx 40 euros pp for each session. Receptionist at the spa is very quick to point out that use of gym is 'free!' We have to pay these costs even if we are booking treatments with a therapist. We have no
qualms paying 5 star prices for 5 star treatments and have
done so in many hotels however these costs are a bit much. If the hotel is looking
to make an extra few euros by charging guests
that 10 euros each time for use of steam room and sauna they should increase
price for hotel or make these costs known at time of booking so the holidaymaker can genuinely compare
like for like at time of booking. If that had been the case we would have
chosen to opt for the Sheraton!!

We can only recommend that holidaymakers consider the
additional charges for these facilities if it is your intention to
take a spa break. However if you are looking for a nice hotel without a focus on use of spa this may be hotel for you.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2010
Dear guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to post a review of the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA.
We regret that you were not aware about the extra costs to use the Spa facilities, but would like to point out that, as you suggested, we make these costs known by the time of the booking. Our webpage mentions clearly that there are extra costs for the use of Spa facilities, it is mentioned in all our contracts with tour operators and our reservations department includes the Spa price list with the detailed information about the available services and prices in every quotation sent to guests that book directly with the Hotel.
We also would like to thank you for the suggestion to offer complimentary spa facilities by increasing our room prices. But, since we are not exclusively a Spa Resort, but also a Family Resort and Beach Resort, not all our guests use or are interested in our Spa, and we therefore prefer to keep our room rates less expensive and give guests the choice of using or not the Spa facilities. We also do not want our Spa to become too crowded. As our colleague explained, the Thalasso circuit is a treatment of its own, recommended and renowned for the benefits and effects of its characteristics on the treatment of diseases as arthritis, rheumatism, respiratory or dermatological problems, depressions, amongst others. A quiet and peaceful ambient is essential for the success of any treatment and if we would allow the complimentary use of our Thalasso circuit, we would not be able to guarantee this tranquility anymore, since many would use the Thalasso circuit as a leisure swimming pool, which is not its intended purpose and would harm the guests who really use it for its beneficial and healing properties. For this reasons we do not want an across the board increase of our room rates, but for everyone interested in our Spa facilities, we suggest to check our Spa packages and programs, which apart from accommodation, include treatments and the use of the Thalasso Circuit. Additionally, we also offer cures, specifically designed for the treatment and relief from ailments as rheumatism, back pain, Tired legs, as well as Anti-Cellulite, Detox, Well-being, Anti-Stress and Anti-tobacco cures. We believe that these Spa Packages would allow you to have the holiday/ Spa break that you were looking for and expected to find at our Resort.
We hope that we will be able to welcome you back and would like to invite you to visit our site or contact us for further information about our Spa packages.


Kind regards




Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

Excellent location within Algarve, close to the highway to Lisbon, on the beach! Facilities are good and well maintained. Service on the pool area definitely could be better for a 5 star hotel. Spa is excellent. Very good for a short stay with the fammily

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2010
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, our services and facilities. We regret if the pool service was not up to our usual high standards of quality. We would appreciate if you could provide us further information about it, as we would like to understand which of the services provided at our pool did not correspond to your expectations. By informing us if it was our Food and Beverage service (more specifically the Pool Bar, Food or the waiter that serves the sun loungers) or if it was the sun lounger and towel service provided by our pool boys, you would help to recognize and correct a possible mistake or weakness. Please do not hesitate to contact us through amendes@hoteisreal.com if you would like to help us and provide us more information.

We hope that despite of this we will be able to welcome you back to the Grande Real Santa Eulália.


Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

Have stayed at grand real santa eulialla 3 times now. My list vist with my wife and 5 year old daughter was last july, found the service excellent even in peak season the hotel was not to busy. Eat at the perguila restaurant evey night and found the food to a very high standard and excellent service by the restaurant staff and found that any request was meet. Stayed in a suite room in the hotel and found it very good and really enjoyed the spa bath. It is a very nice and quiet environment to take a young child to. Found the prices not to bad for a 5 star hotel compared to the prices in the uk. It is that good have booked to go again in july

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2010
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your kind and motivating comments. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stays at our Resort so much, that you already stayed three times with us and are re-visiting us again this year. We would like to assure you that the whole team will do its utmost to provide you another pleasant and memorable experience with us and remain at your disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards




Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa

Address: Praia de Santa Eulalia, PO Box 2445, Albufeira 8200-916, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#10 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#12 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#19 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 344
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort And Hotel Spa
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Hotel Albufeira
Santa Eulalia Portugal
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.