We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa

Save Saved
You added Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Praia de Santa Eulalia, PO Box 2445, Albufeira 8200-916, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #14 of 163 hotels in Albufeira
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“5 star Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We have just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel (Feb 2014).The hotel in in a gated complex with very pretty grounds ,with direct access to the beach. On our arrival the reception staff were friendly , smiley and very informative.Our room did overlook the front so we were near the carpark but this did not affect us at all. The entrance to the hotel is lovely, and a great quiet place to sit and read.We booked bed and breakfast, and what a breakfast, !!!! everything you could possibly think of or indeed want, excellent service and cleanliness, we did not need anything else all day as you can eat as much or as little as you need.There is a free shuttle bus to the nearby town, but we found it scruffy and uninviting, although appreciate it was very quiet due to the time of the year.we have really enjoyed our stay and would recommend, as now feeling very chilled and relaxed.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review, which we really enjoyed reading.

It was very gratifying to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and how impressed you were with the service, cleanliness, location and especially the breakfast.

We will make sure that your comments will be passed on to our entire team and our Chef and would like to thank you on behalf of them for your consideration!

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon for some more rest and relaxation at the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    411
    249
    99
    30
    12
See reviews for
294
314
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lund, Sweden
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Maybe this hotel is nice if you are going for holiday with your family but if you re on business - no. Internet connection worked very badly if it worked at all. My room was overlooking the carpark, the bed was very hard and the room very dark with old furnitures. The pools are very small and to get a sunchair was something to dream about

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We sincerely regret that the stay at our Hotel did not correspond to your expectations, mainly due to the rooms and the view. If you ever visit us again, we recommend to book a sea view room, which will grant you a beautiful view over the ocean, as well as more light in the room, since the rooms facing south usually get more sun.
Please make also sure that you visit one of our pool areas located next to the Resort Suites and which usually offer plenty of space and chairs for guests who prefer a more laidback and private atmosphere than the one our main pool area has to offer.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again for an hopefully more enjoyable stay.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

just come back from the grand the hotel was outstanding well looked after ,the grounds were excellent ,the staff outstanding could not do enough made you really welcome
we had a apartment loads of space for the two of us, were immaculate bed made every day even though we were self catering
food was great freshly cooked ate nearly every day at the seaside café good value prices were great
was well deserving of its five star rating

Room Tip: apartments loads of space fit your family in there easy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read how much you enjoyed staying with us.

We are really happy that everything from the Resort Suites, their size to the service, location and food corresponded or even exceeded your expectations.

Thank you so much for having shared your feedback with us and we really hope that we will be able to welcome you again, hopefully soon, to the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We have just returned from a seven day holiday, staying at this superb beach front five star hotel. It really lives up to its five stars. We paid extra to have a sea view hotel room which was well worth it. You could actually hear the crashing waves of the Atlantic from your room. The rooms were very spacious, and we found the huge bed to be very comfortable. The check-in was quick, friendly and efficient. All the staff spoke very good English. We were half board and have to say the breakfasts were fantastic, anything you can think of for breakfast was there, even cava! The fresh fruit was a real highlight, fresh (not tinned) pineapple, kiwi, oranges, grapefruit, grapes. Pears, apples, melon... The list goes on. The evening dinners were also superb, with top quality food including steak, rack of lamb, sea bass, Piri Piri chicken, algarvian prawns,etc all served up perfectly. The waiter service was excellent too.

The hotel entrance is gated and there is access to the beautiful Santa Eulalia beach via steps directly from the hotel, though you need your room card to pass through the gate. The beach front cafe is a lovely spot to enjoy a drink or a meal. There is also a courtesy bus to take you to either the Old town or new Town of Albufeira which we used a few times. The swimming pools looked lovely but were too cold for us to be tempted with a dip! The bar is spacious and friendly, also with ocean views. Everything has been well designed to make full use of the superb beach front. We had a fantastic holiday and are already looking to return as soon as we can. Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, thank you for a wonderful holiday,

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view, well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed review.

It was really gratifying to read that you had such a wonderful stay with us that you are planning to return as soon as you can. This is indeed the biggest compliment we can hope for and we would like to thank you on behalf of our whole team for your kind comments and consideration.

Thank you so much and we look forward to welcoming you again soon for another lovely stay at the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skerries, Ireland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We just spent a week at this beautiful hotel. A really beautiful hotel, beautiful foyer and marvellous proportions. Our room was a classic facing the car park, if you can go for the view on the seaside, the view is spectacular. Also if you have a choice take the half board, the food was very very good and it's too far out of town to walk down for all meals. The breakfasts are sumptuous and the staff are lovely. I found the bed and pillows to hard but they will change these for you so just ask early in holiday. As I say the staff are very nice, there is a small shop with excellent value. We had a fabulous day trip to Seville, a long day but well worth it, as it happens, it was my birthday and when we returned they had delivered free wine and a birthday cake to our room, it was a really lovely surprise, how kind!

Room Tip: The rooms are very large and comfortable but if you can afford it ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

We are happy that you have had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us and that you were impressed with the setting, decoration, food and our team. We are also glad that you enjoyed our small birthday surprise and hope that it helped you to relax after a long, exhausting trip.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again to the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA for what will hopefully be another lovely experience.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed at the hotel over the new year. On arrival at the hotel check in was efficient,and the reception staff welcoming. Our room had a garden /sea view which was very pleasant. The room was extremely clean and well presented. Now for the problem. If you don't like firm beds don't stay here. We requested mattress toppers when booking but didn't get one, we asked at reception who informed housekeeping and although they did provide some padding it wasn't effective. The poor sleep and muscle pain was rectified to some degree by spa treatments every day.
Now for the food. Buffet breakfast was adequate with everything you could ask for so no complaints there. The evening ala carte meal in the main restaurant was at best average but to be honest typical hotel standards. The cafe bar over looking the beach had stunning views, and was a great place to spend an hour or so. It just a shame the food wasn't in the same league.
The bar staff were faultless and served top end cocktails at reasonable prices.
Now for the million dollar question would I come back. Yes if the beds were softer.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us, but regret that not everything corresponded to your expectations.
We understand that some guests prefer a softer mattress, rather than a firm, especially our northern European guests, while southern European seem to prefer firmer ones. In order to suit the preferences of as many guests as possible, we provide the mentioned mattress toppers, which usually close this “cultural gap”. We regret if the bed even with these still did not match your preference. We are very pleased to inform you that we are currently analyzing the possibility of changing the mattresses and hope that these new ones will suit you better.
Should you visit us however, before this change happens, please do not hesitate to contact us as we will be happy to try to find an alternative solution.

Please be also assured that your comments regarding the food will be passed on to our Executive Chef and F&B Management and that we will try to improve wherever we can.

We look forward to welcoming you again and remain at your entire disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

What can i say from the moment we arrived it has been a great stay! We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment facing the pool which was well equipped with all we needed. Got like 5 pools in total and great beach. Breakfast was great everyday with very friendly staff. Got a kids club with different activities everyday which is great for families. Room service is excellent and they even washed up things we forgot. Reception staff are very helpful too. Room service menu seem a bit expensive but prices on the coffee shop near the beach is very reasonable and they do great selection of food all day till 5pm. Free shuttle service for the old town was great too. Great stay and we will come back for sure. Only 20 min cab ride away from Vilamoura marina which will cost you around €16. Only recommendation will be to have some coffee and sugar in the apartments rather than free toiletries since everyone remembers to bring that but need a coffee soon as you arrive after your flight.....Would recommend to stay if your coming to Algarve...very clean...great hotel. Sad to be going back tomorrow.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

It was really gratifying to read that you had such a lovely stay that you will be definitely returning, which indeed is the best feedback of all.
Thank you so much for having shared your experience with us and also for your suggestion to offer coffee and sugar in the apartments. We currently do not offer tea and coffee facilities, only kettles in the apartment as a standard and in the Hotel upon request, but we will have your suggestion in consideration.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you again for another great stay at the Grande Real Santa Eulália and remain at your disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa

Also Known As:
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort And Hotel Spa
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Hotel Albufeira
Grande Real Santa Eulalia
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Hotel
Santa Eulalia Portugal
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve
Address: Praia de Santa Eulalia, PO Box 2445, Albufeira 8200-916, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
#5 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#8 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#10 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.