We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't go wrong!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa to your Saves list
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Praia de Santa Eulalia, PO Box 2445, Albufeira 8200-916, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Clark, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in May 2012. 2 adults and 1 three year old boy. We had a great time. This place was perfect for us. Pools were lovely. Food was great. Room was spacious and clean. Beach was close and clean. It was close to the highway and other areas so we went out at night to explore. Would go back for sure if we are in the area again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review!

We are happy that you had a great time with us and enjoyed every single aspect of your stay from the location to the food, rooms and cleanliness, actually so much that you would return which is the biggest compliment we can hope for!

Thank you so much and we look forward to welcoming you again to the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA, hopefully soon.

Yours sincerely


João Máximo
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    300
    122
    38
    16
See reviews for
360
388
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

I trust trip advisor reviews when choosing hotels so I had to share my views on this hotel. We stayed in a resort studio suite which is a small apartment. It was spacious - large double bed, sofa bed, single bed, kitchen/dining area. It also had all the amenities one would require for a self catering trip - fridge, hob, microwave, coffee machine etc. The room was spotless which for me is important.

We stayed on a b&b basis and the choice at breakfast was amazing from fresh fruit, meats & cheeses to a full cooked breakfast. The fresh orange juice was delicious and there was also champagne on offer. We ate at the Atlantico cafe bar for lunch several times. This has amazing views of the beach & the sea and is a lovely place to sit for lunch. The food is reasonably priced and tasty. Try the ham & cheese toastie (which is big enough for two). The beer here is also cheaper than the pool side bars. A large beer at the cafe is 3 euros but 4.5 euros by the pool.

At night we ate out in Albufeira. Try Il Cappuccino for a low cost meal. We walked for 35 minutes to this restaurant which serves 3 courses plus half a litre of wine each for 7.5 euros per person. Dont be put off by the exterior of the restaurant/cafe, its lovely and quaint once you enter and the staff are so friendly. We sat outside at the back chatting over our wine & food. I'd definitely go back.

My husband & I spent the first few days of our honeymoon at this hotel and returned one afternoon to find a bottle of champagne and a huge platter of sliced fresh fruit. I thought this was a lovely little touch.

The resort has everything you need for a great holiday - beach, 3 outdoor pools, cafe/restaurant, bar and is close enough to the strip & old town if you want to venture out. A taxi to old town cost around 7 euros and we walked to the strip.

There were lots of families with children here who were having lots of fun so I think this hotel is ideal for families & couples. This is a wonderful resort - we will definitely be returning and recommending it to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen the Grande Real Santa Eulália as your honeymoon destination and congratulations on your recent wedding!

We know how high the expectations of our guests are, especially of guests who are celebrating a special occasion as you did. Therefore it was very gratifying to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us, actually so much that you will be returning.

Thank you very much for recommending us to your friends and, through this review, also to the world. We look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully soon, for another amazing stay at the Grande Real Santa Eulália.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel is a fabulous hotel with beautiful grounds and swimming pools ,even has its own beach with bars restaurants .Rooms are spacious and very quiet .Staff are very attentitive and rooms are cleaned daily with fresh towels etc .Total Chill out hotel .Courtesy bus runs daily to old town and new town but only fits 28 passengers .There is a 10 minute walk to nearest bars and restaurants and taxi to old town is 6 euro approx .Worth getting a bus to VILAMOURA to see marina .Breakfast is very good but sometimes annoying when forced to sit somewhere you dont want to by maitre d .

Room Tip: Rooms facing on to reception are very quiet but i would say most rooms are .We only had standard roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to read your review and how much you enjoyed every single aspect of your stay with us, from the rooms to the pools and the staff.
Thank you very much for your comments and be assured that they will be passed on to the entire team, including our maitre d’. We would just like to add however that he certainly was not trying to annoy you, but just trying to make sure that a flawless service is provided in order to allow our guests to enjoy a perfect breakfast without having to face queues or waiting times.

Thank you for having left your feedback on Tripadvisor and we look forward to welcoming you again to the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA.

Yours sincerely


João Máximo
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed in May for 1 week as a self catering guest. Beautiful location right on the beach. Extremely friendly staff . All areas spotless clean . Kids club used most days for my 7 & 4 yo.Agree some areas need a revamp. Have booked again for october.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please forgive us for repeating ourselves, but we cannot say often enough that there is no bigger sign of appreciation than a returning guest. Therefore it was really gratifying for us to read that you have already booked your return trip for next October.

Thank you so much for your preference and we look forward to welcoming you again for another fantastic stay at the Grande Real Santa Eulália.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

we stayed here 26th til 31st may for our honeymoon, on arrival to the hotel we were amazed by the size of the lobby and how well presented it was, our room was upgraded to a sea view with a private Jacuzzi and the room was spotless, we didn't have complimentary slippers like it said we would but everything else was amazing. minutes after arriving in our room we had a knock at the door and was presented with a fruit platter and a bottle of champagne. the bed was slightly hard but not enough to give us back ache or sleepless nights. The breakfast wasn't much to our taste and we stayed clear of the sausages after trying them the 1st morning. we had room service which we were charged for roughly 25euros that included the service charge of around 7 or 8euros, but if we had have gone to the restaurant it would have been free. we ate lunch at the restaurant by the beach and some of the female staff would do well if they smiled or even said thank you when u paid for your meal, the service there was quick as they get really busy and noticed they had childrens menu of fish fingers and smiley faces so that's good if you have fussy children. the evening meal in the hotel was a buffet style and most nights spot on with choice but if you don't eat meat or fish options are limited. the rice every night was crunchy either under or over cooked and there was one night where we wasn't to keen on anything there was to offer but we tried it and found it to be lovely. the complimentary shuttle to take you into town could do with being a bit bigger during busy times more so in the morning as there is only room for 27ppl and no standing passengers and every morning there were people left behind to make their own way in a taxi or wait for a later bus. this is also the case if you are returning to the hotel old town being the 1st pick up point and if the bus is full the ppl waiting at new town to get on the bus are unable to get on. the hotel is a distance away from the aqua show, splash and slide and many other trips out so you will have to get a taxi. we went karting for half hour and the taxi cost us 55euros but he took us there (about an hours drive away) waited for us then brought us back. so for half hrs karting it cost me and my husband 125euros. on the whole we were impressed by how friendly the staff were (more so the males) and even if we didn't leave I "clean me" sign on our hotle door the cleaners still came in, made the bed, hovered and washed the glasses and bathroom restocked the products in the bathroom. we didn't use the free towel passes for the beach as we didn't really do the beach thing so it was pointless. such a beautiful place would probably go there again if we can get the inlaws to have the children, not a place I would take my kids to tho, one child fell off a wall while we were there which hid the ramp to the underground car park and ended up with broken leg and broken arm so keep your children away from looking at the fountain at the front of the hotel. also if you do get a room with a Jacuzzi be careful when getting out and walking onto the tiles they are slippy (my husband got his toe stuck in the grid and ripped his toe to shreds both sides.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Congratulations on your recent wedding and thank you for having chosen to spend your honeymoon with us.

We are really glad that you have had an enjoyable time with us and that most services and facilities corresponded to your expectations.
Thank you also for mentioning the points that you feel could be improved and we are very pleased to inform you that since May we have added two additional runs to the courtesy bus schedule in order to deal with the increased demand during the high season.
Attractions like the water parks or theme parks, are not located in the town centre, but are relatively close and most of them offer complimentary transfers from and to the hotels located in Albufeira. Our reception will be very pleased to give you more tips and details about these parks and the services they offer.

We also acknowledged the comment regarding the child suitability of our Resort and just would like to add that we are an extremely child friendly Resort with many services designed especially for children. We have also regular Health and Safety audits in our Resort to make sure that our guests and children spend an enjoyable, safe stay with us and we are very pleased to inform you that our Resort fulfills all Health and Safety requirements.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully soon.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

stayed the 14th till the 20th of june 2013. needed some were to relax and switch off. Just my wife and I , kids being looked after at home. Found just the place at the Grande Real. Stayed in a studio, with everything you could need and 43sq metres , room to move about and a pool view balcony. Hotel very clean, staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast selection excellent. All round excellent time, no complaints only praise. Thank you Grande real staff. If you like grilled squid, try Martins restaurant , left as you go out the hotel gates, bloody fantastic

Room Tip: studios are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We really appreciated your kind review and are happy that you have had an amazing time with us and found the relaxation and comfort you were longing for.

Thank you very much for having shared your feedback with us and especially for the comments about our staff. We will make sure that these will be passed on to them and thank you, on behalf of our team, for your kindness and consideration.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another perfect, relaxing break at the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Just back from a week at this hotel which is a really nice quality beach hotel. Rooms are spacious and sea views lovely. Prices Ok - 2 beers with dinner were 7 euros; lunch in the beach restaurant was 25 euros for 2 meals, ice cream/pastries and 2 soft drinks. Voucher system for evening meal works well- 38 euros is more than enough to get 3 courses on room service or the very nice fish restaurant. My partner is vegetarian and the fish restaurant does veggie food and in the main buffet they made him pumpkin ravioli one night when there was nothing he fancied. all the food was good quality and wile they don't put a lot out at once what is there is always freshly prepared. Shuttle to Albufeira works well but I can see it might get filled up quickly in high season. Easy to get onto the beach- most hotels have a steep climb but this one doesn't and 2 loungers and an umbrella are 15 euros a day or 10 euros half a day. Cornetto style ice creams from the beach are 1.50 euros each. Nice walk at low tide along the beach to Olhas D'Agua which takes about 30 mins one way. Lots of rock pools on this stretch of coast so beach shoes are useful and make the whole coast more interesting than just sand we saw cuttle fish, crabs, jellyfish, shrimps etc. First restaurant/bar literally by the main gates and plenty within a 10-15 minute walk towards Albufeira, as is a supermarket. Turn right out of the hotel and there are 3 supermarkets of varying sizes within 10 minutes. WIFI in main hotel rooms was free but if you did have to pay it was I think 2.50 euros for 30 mins!
Couple of possible drawbacks - the main hotel pools ( there are 2 other smallish ones in the grounds by the suites) were small and did not really have enough loungers even at this time of year. And there is no entertainment at night- it didn't bother us but it might be a problem for some. The next hotel if you turn right out of this one does have some evening entertainment if you want it.
All in all we would recommend this and would gladly go back.

Room Tip: Sea view is well worth it- even from same level as reception, although higher would probably be bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind and detailed review.

We are happy that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us, actually so much that you would gladly return, which is the biggest compliment we can hope for.

We also appreciated your tips and suggestions, not only about the Hotel, but also about the surrounding area which will certainly be useful for other travellers. As to what concerns the Resort, we are very pleased to inform you that during the forthcoming high season the frequency of the Shuttle Bus service, as well as the evening live music programme will increase.
And to everyone who wants to enjoy a relaxed and tranquil atmosphere by the pool, we recommend using the Nascente or Poente Pool, which are much quieter than the main pool area.

We look forward to welcoming you again to the Grande Real Santa Eulália and remain at your entire disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa

Address: Praia de Santa Eulalia, PO Box 2445, Albufeira 8200-916, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#10 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#12 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#19 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 344
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort And Hotel Spa
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Hotel Albufeira
Santa Eulalia Portugal
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.