We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will book it again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa to your Saves list
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Praia de Santa Eulalia, PO Box 2445, Albufeira 8200-916, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We will book it again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

I m not going to write too much as its already been said this is a truly outstanding hotel in anybody' s book , a real treat .
We also chose a transfer we were very happy with yellowfishtransfers were good value ,nice vehicle and punctual.
The area is gorgeous beaches ,restaurants etc.
Convenience store s close by .
Would do it all again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review and recommendation.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much that you will happily return, which, in fact, is one of the biggest compliments a hotel can hope for.

We look forward to welcoming you back for an, hopefully, another enjoyable stay with us.

Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    297
    121
    37
    16
See reviews for
357
384
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gemini999
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

We stayed at the Grande Real Sant Eulalia Spa Hotel for 1 week in early March in a studio apartment which is located behind the main hotel in 2 storey townhouses. The studio was decorated with lots of colour and a 'Mexican' feel to it but very pleasant. All the balconies faced the sun all day so it was lovely to sit on the balcony or terrace. The studios are all on the 1st floor and the bigger apartments are on the ground floor. It was very, very quiet when we stayed which suited us. The hotel was lovely. The staff were always friendly and helpful. Their spa and gym facilities seemed excellent, although we did not use them. There was a spacious swimming pool area in front of the hotel which overlooked the beach and all guests had easy access to the beach via a key locked door which was very handy. There is a beach cafe/bar called Cafe Bar Atlantico (seems linked to the hotel) just below the hotel which is very popular for lunch, snacks or breakfast. The beach is beautiful and very quiet out of season. Great place for walkers. The hotel provides a very good free shuttle bus service to Albuferia old town and new town 5 times a day which we thought was excellent. The main swimming pool is heated. We would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a quality, peaceful location with very good facilities.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to get the sun all day long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Dear guest,

It is very gratifying for us to learn that you were completely satisfied with every aspect of your stay, from the accommodation to the facilities, location and the friendliness and helpfulness of our team and we sincerely thank you for your kind and detailed review.
There are just two minor points that we would like to clarify in order to avoid misunderstandings. As you mentioned, all Studios are located on the first floor of the buildings. The two-bedroom Resort Suites are also located on the first floors, so reserving a bigger Resort Suite does not automatically mean ground floor. Also most rooms get sun, but the rooms facing south, which in the case of the hotel main building would be the sea view rooms, get sun during a longer period than the rooms facing north. If a sunny room or balcony is very important for you and you are planning to stay in the Hotel main building, we would recommend reserving a seaview room.
We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to a sunny, relaxing and peaceful stay at the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA.

Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

I recently stayed at the Santa Eulalia at a buyers conference and had a great time, I really enjoyed the hotel, even if I didn't get to try all of the facilities.
The entracne the hotel is amazing with a massive lobby with lots of glass, all very bright and welcoming, the reception staff handled the mass arrival of several coaches very well and I was quickly able to check into my room. I didn't have a sea view (my room looked directly onto the car park) but from what I was told the sea room views are definitely the place to be. The room itself was very comfortable, a lovely sized bed, that although a little hard for my tastes was comfortable enough. The room was clean and well stocked with dressing gowns and extra pillows. Although there was no kettle and coffee nor an iron.
Overall the decor looked a little tired almost like the fading glamour of the Brighton Grand, little chips of paint here and there and could probably do with a bit of a make over.
However, the staff throughout the hotel complex were exceptional, absolutely fantastic service everywhere I went, the food was good quality, the drinks were reasonably priced and the staff were friendly considerate and helpful.

All in all a very nice hotel that I hope to bring my wife back to next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the service and friendliness of our team.
It is a pity that you were not able to try all our facilities, but we hope that you will have more time available during your next visit with your wife. We hope that until then some of the points mentioned by you have been corrected. We are constantly carrying out maintenance works in our Hotel and Resort. Some of our Resort Suites for instance, have just been painted, and we have already scheduled further renovation works in some of our rooms for the weeks following Easter. There are no plans however to equip all our rooms by standard with kettles and irons, but these items are available upon request.
Thank you once again for your detailed feedback and we look forward to welcome you back, hopefully, soon.

Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shetland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We have just returned from a week at the Grande Real. I have to say that from start to finish it has been an absolutely fabulous experience. Although a small mix up on our suite on arrival, this was soon sorted and I have to say that Sovereign holidays were amazing. The staff and in particular the Kids Club staff were amazing. My 4 year old daughter just about had one on one attention, which she loved. The Spa is amazing and once again all the staff are wonderful. Your every need taken care of without the staff being too intrusive. We had the hotel just about to ourselves which was perfect. Our daughter had a fantastic time, made even better my her new little friend she met at the club and we also enjoyed the company of her parents as well.
All in all a truly wonderful holiday and we are in the process of booking to return next year.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Dear guest,

We appreciate all reviews and comments, but, of course, it is especially gratifying for us to read a review from a guest that has spent the best holiday ever at the Grande Real Santa Eulália. Thank you very much for your kind and considering comments, also on behalf of our team.
We look forward to welcoming you back next year and hope that you and your daughter will enjoy your next stay with us as much as you did this time.


Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Stayed at this for a few nights during the month of August.
Room was a nice size and very comfortable.
The hotel is situated on the beach which was great considering most hotels in Albufeira require long walks to get to the beach.
Breakfast was included and they offered a great selection.
The hotel has a couple of bars onsite and is fairly tranquil and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Great outdoor locations for a nice night out

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review.
It is very gratifying for us to read reviews from guests, and especially from those that enjoyed everything about their stay as you did. Thank you very much for your kind comments and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back one day to the Grande Real Santa Eulália.

Kind regards


Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

We enjoyed a 3 day break at the real santa. The Location was great, right on the beach. and the room was comfortable, although the carpets could be cleaner, and the sea view we paid for was blocked by a plant.

Breakfast was great, and we ate from the a la carte menu in the evening, and we enjoyed all our meals. i was disappointed with the kids menu, it was typical chicken nuggets and chips etc.

The kids enjoyed the kids club despite being the only kids in there.

We would like to go back to visit the real santa when it is a litle busier

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review.
We are glad that you and your kids have had an enjoyable stay at the Grande Real Santa Eulália. We hardly receive feedback from children and therefore we were especially pleased to learn that yours had a good time at the Realito Kid’s Club. It is a pity though, that they were the only children in the Realito. Outside the normal school holidays, the number of children in our Resort is quite low, but since you are planning to revisit us during a busier period, we are quite sure that the number of children will also be higher and your children will be able to play with other kids and make new friends at the Kid’s Club.
During the high season, we also have an increased choice of meals for children, since we do not only have the regular Kid’s Menu, but also have a special Buffet for children available in the main restaurant. But, even during the low season, we are able to offer alternatives to the Kid’s Menu, which we must agree is a typical Kid’s menu with standard dishes, which unfortunately are the most requested ones. We tried to offer other, healthier options in our very first Kid’s Menu, but the demand for these dishes was so low, that we had to adapt our Kid’s Menu and include the standard dishes, as Chicken Nuggets, Fish Fingers, etc. . However, we can always prepare other dishes, as long as they are ordered in advance. Just contact our Executive Chef or Headwaiter, who will be pleased to assist you.
We are sorry if the carpet in your room did not seem to be clean. Pease be assured that all our carpets are vacuumed and washed regularly. Unfortunately, there are stains that cannot be removed, even though we tried several products and techniques, but we are very pleased to inform you that the carpets are gradually being replaced. We also regret that you were not completely satisfied with your sea view, which honestly surprised us. The Hotel building lies only a few metres above the Santa Eulália Beach and there are no major obstacles between the building and the beach, therefore all rooms designated as sea view should offer a relatively unobstructed view. However, if you prefer a room located in another area or floor, please do mention it during your next booking and we will try to have your request and preferences in consideration.
We look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully soon. Please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

This hotel hit the spot. It's a modern, expansive and smart resort located overlooking a beautiful stretch of pristine beach and bordered by forestry about 3 miles from Albufeira. The resort as a whole is immaculately tended to and clean and there is definite sense of quality throughout. The reception and lounge area features an impressive vaulted ceiling, certainly befitting a five star hotel. Reception leads off to large sun terraces and decks with comfortable seating and several immaculate swimming pools .

The rooms are clean, substantial and good. We paid extra for a sea view room and to my mind this was essential. We visited out of season in early March. Whist the weather was superb (sunny and mid 20s .C every day), it could get a little windy towards the end of the afternoon. Having the sea view balcony was invaluable because we benefited from the last of the sun and the sea view whist remaining sheltered from the sea breeze.

Our package included breakfast and access to the spa area which is normally chargeable. The breakfast was great and included cooked options as well as cold meats, cheeses and fruits all of good quality. As a previous reporter mentions there also sparkling wine available as part of the buffet. The salt water spa pool is lovely as a really nice place to pass the time.

Hotel service was friendly and efficient throughout, as you would expect from a proper five star hotel.

We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant on the first evening and I wasn't particularly impressed by my meal. It could have been an off night and I'm willing to give them the benefit of the doubt as my girlfriend really enjoyed her meal.

Most days we had lunch at the hotel's beach bar/café. A very nice selection of fayre is available here including some excellent deserts. I recommend the Chocolate Crepe which includes, chocolate ice cream, vanilla ice cream, whipped cream and melted chocolate sauce. The prices here are keen and the service and the beer both excellent.

In summary, this hotel is a class act. It's worthy of five stars and thoroughly surpassed my expectations. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Sea view room is highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments.
We really appreciated your detailed and comprehensive review of our Resort, its services and facilities, and are very glad that you have had a perfect stay with us.
It is especially gratifying to learn that we were able to exceed almost all your expectations. Unfortunately, we were not able to surpass them when it came to your evening meal. Our aim is to provide memorable experiences in all our outlets and we sincerely regret that on one occasion we only achieved this goal partially, with your girlfriend’s dinner but unfortunately not with yours. Our Executive Chef has been informed and we assure you that we will try our best to provide a high quality service and meals at all times.
Thank you once again for your input and for recommending the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back, maybe not only for a weekend, but for a relaxing holiday with us.

Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa

Address: Praia de Santa Eulalia, PO Box 2445, Albufeira 8200-916, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#10 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#12 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#19 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 344
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Hotel Albufeira
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort And Hotel Spa
Santa Eulalia Portugal
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.