We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vidamar Resort Algarve

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Vidamar Resort Algarve to your Saves list
Vidamar Resort Algarve
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Boca da Alagoa, Lote 1-Fase 2 | Guia, Albufeira 8200-424, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Vidamar is a relatively new hotel and has all of the benefits of this in being spotlessly clean with staff eager to please. The location is perfect- five minute walk to the beach which was not over crowded unlike other nearby beaches. The children's club is well run- good signing in and out policy and the kids are well entertained by the lovely energetic staff. The three pools provide the something for everyone - one warm, one very shallow for little children and one cold and deep and long for water polo and other games. Evening entertainment is very much focused on the children which suited us but anyone seeking nightlife can take a ten-fifteen minute taxi ride to Albuferia. The food was varied, well cooked and well presented with a buffet system or a choice of three other restaurants on site. Our only complaint was that the bedrooms and bathrooms are virtually open plan - a dividing wall between bedroom and bathroom with shower cubicle and toilet cubicle. I can see why some reviewers are disputing the five star status but if you want a holiday in clean accommodation, comfortable bed, excellent shower power, good food and great staff for good value then this is the one to book. Perfect for families with young children and teenagers. The modern interiors and facade maybe a little sterile but really the sea view and the facilities make up for it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    117
    55
    7
    6
See reviews for
178
95
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

We are here at the moment and it's been great, the staff are friendly, hotel is spotless and pool is lovely. Kids club all day and stuff on every evening so ideal for children. It is a bit sterile and not much character to hotel as it's new but it's very comfortable and we've had a great holiday. Food is good for buffet and staff are helpful. I'd recommend for families

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We had read the reviews before going here so we were prepared. No. it's not really a five star. Yes, the open plan bathrooms take getting used to. However we do disagree with those finding fault with the food and service. The buffet was plentiful and delicious, the staff were overly accomodating and friendly and we were spoiled for choice each eveing. We ate at the sushi restaurant one evening (best sushi we've had in a long time) and had lunch at Mamma Mia (huge portions and not expensive). We also disagree with those who complained about the long walk to the beach. There are seemingly endless boardwalks leading through the dunes to the beach and the walk (with our toddler child) took all of 5 minutes. The boardwalks were beautiful, especially when the sun was setting. There are two local grocery stores: Oceana (closer and cheap) and the posh Apolonia (like Waitrose and just as dear). We loved our stay here and even thought about extending it. We highly recommend this lovely resort and hope to be back again soon.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the pool. I thought it would be noisy - it's not!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Returned a week ago today and missing this place already. We went for a week and had a wonderful time. The room was spacious, bed extremely comfortable, amazing shower, kept very clean and toiletries replenished what seemed like everyday. The pool is amazing and there are plenty of very comfortable sunbeds (I hate those plastic mats much prefer a better quality sunbed). We enjoyed the buffet restaurant and can vouch for the good selection of wines at exceptionally reasonable prices for a 5* hotel as we tried a bottle with dinner every night, make sure you ask, (if not offered), for the wine list :) The snack bar has a selection of salads and sandwiches and there are also 3 other restaurants, Mamma Mia (Italian) is the alternative one at no extra cost for those on half board, but book in advance, at the other two, Portuguese and Sushi those on half board are given a 15Euro pp allowance towards the bill. The hotel is situated next to a stunning beach and we walked along it twice to the town of Armacao De Peru, where we had a wonderful lunch at a restaurant on the road that runs parallel to the beach (I cant remember its name) but its grilled sardines were sublime. We must say a special thank you to all the staff who made our holiday so special, to Miquel (fingers crossed for Belgium) and Joao, the wife says we are coming back in September!
Loved it

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotherham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We have just come back from the Vidamar hotel after the most wonderful week, and would like to thank the management and staff for being so friendly and helpful throughout our stay. For us it was the most perfect holiday from start to finish.
We were welcomed by the very efficient staff and although we had arrived early due to the flight times, we were given a room as soon as one was available, which matched our requirements exactly (high floor with a sea / pool view)
A lot of people have rated and commented that the hotel is not 5* - in our view it more than met our expectations and we are certainly happy to rate the hotel as 5* in our view – just one minor hiccup at dinner where the staff were too efficient and cleared our cutlery and drinks away while we were away selecting our dessert, but this was sorted extremely quickly by the management and staff, and in no way spoilt our evening.
There were alternatives to the buffet – an Italian restaurant which we tried and thoroughly enjoyed, a sushi restaurant which was not really to our taste, although looked very nice, and a seafood restaurant, which we didn’t get chance to try.
The room was perfect in our eyes – very modern and minimalist, but high class. The shower was just amazing – if we could have got it home with us we would have  - we were in room 427, at the end of a block so no neighbour to one side which was nice. It also overlooked the pool and the sea.
The pool was just huge – the biggest one we have ever seen. And sunbeds that just went on forever. The pool bars, as well as the indoor hotel bars seemed very reasonably priced – a nice surprise – alcohol was a bit pricey – but as we are more coffee drinkers this didn’t affect us much. And By the way, Wi-Fi is free throughout the hotel, which we found very useful and a very nice touch.
And if you didn’t want to stay around the pool then the beach was only 3 minutes away, and a beautiful beach it is too. The beach bar was also very reasonably priced for an ice cream or soft drink
As far as location is concerned, it’s very quiet around the hotel, surrounded on one side by a golf course, a nature reserve on another, and then the beach, if you are looking for nightlife then it’s perhaps not for you. There is a city sightseeing bus (we have used them in Toronto and Washington previously, and never expected to find one around our resort) which we found great to use and value for money (we don’t drive abroad) using it as a pleasant taxi service into the old town. It stops right outside the hotel (turn left out of reception and then walk 30 yards or so towards the roundabout – stop 11) – a 2 day ticket costs 13 euros each and allowed us to visit a number of places.
There is a supermarket close by for newspapers, snacks etc – about a 10 minute walk for fit people (it’s uphill), turn right out of the hotel, walk past 2 roundabouts and then turn left at the mobile phone mast
One general – and very minor - comment about the locality – it would be nice to have a few benches here and there perhaps, we didn’t recall seeing any

Room Tip: room 427 - sea view top floor, end of block so no-one on one side of the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is one of the most family friendly hotels in Algarve and highly recommended. Been there twice already and recommend it for the following points:

- 1 huge swimming pool, 1 nice kids pool and 1 very nice heated outside pool
- Direct access (walking 3 minutes) from hotel to the beach
- Great kid animation programs both at night and in the kids club for those who use them
- Nice food on the buffet with the possibility of changing restaurants (Japanese, Italian, buffet, fish….)
- Everything is new and works smoothly
- Cost vs. Facilities and amenities is very good for Algarve at all times

Could improve:
- Gym is weak (small, no view...) and on the basement but you can run or jog outside
- Service is friendly (no complains) but for a five star hotel could be that little bit better

All in all it is impossible not to have a good time at this place

Room Tip: Rooms to the inside (pool área) are of course nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

We are currently here. This is a new hotel and some of the staff are inexperienced, however all of them we have had any dealings with so far have been extremely pleasant and helpful. You do not have to pay €7 to open the safe but you have to pay €7 to open the mini bar. Safe and wifi are free. The rooms are very spacious, clean and well equipped although if you are like me, 5ft 2ins, you will struggle to hang your clothes up in the wardrobe! The pool area is fab and the snack bar has lovely young staff and very reasonable prices. The double bed (I emailed and requested one before we arrived) is huge and extremely comfortable, but the pillows are to soft for me. The shower is the best I've ever experienced in any hotel - I want one at home ! The beach is gorgeous and the beach bar/restaurant (not connected to the hotel) is brill - best vodka and tonic anywhere. 5*, in some ways yes in others no, but with time and a steep learning curve for some staff they will get there

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CardosoJ, General Manager at Vidamar Resort Algarve, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Madam,
Thank you for your time and attention to post your view on our Hotel so far and to respond to the other Guest who has expressed his negative experience during his recent stay with us.
As you are in-house, I obviously would like to have the chance to discuss with you any particular issues or suggestions you may have, so that we can perhaps improve the level of our services.
Again thank you and I look forward to hearing from you, please feel free to ask for me at reception, I would be very happy to meet you.
Best wishes.

Joao Cardoso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Salgados Dunas Suites
Salgados Dunas Suites
#13 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 stars 255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Salgados Palace
Salgados Palace
#24 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 stars 339 reviews
8.7 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 162 in Albufeira
5.0 of 5 stars 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sao Rafael Atlantico
Sao Rafael Atlantico
#1 of 2 in Sesmarias
4.0 of 5 stars 695 reviews
8.1 mi away
Sheraton Algarve Hotel
Sheraton Algarve Hotel
#16 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 stars 845 reviews
7.7 mi away
Porto Bay Falesia
Porto Bay Falesia
#4 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 stars 1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vidamar Resort Algarve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vidamar Resort Algarve

Address: Rua Boca da Alagoa, Lote 1-Fase 2 | Guia, Albufeira 8200-424, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#21 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vidamar Resort Algarve 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5-Star beachfront Hotel enjoys a fabulous location: on Salgados beach sand dunes, alongside a golf course and nearby a nature reserve. The Vidamar Algarve Hotel Guests can experience the MAR laid-back experience with the lively VIDA family facilities. All hotel Guests stay on Half Board basis and can take advantage of the Dine Around concept, whereby you can sample a variety of cuisines at a selection of restaurants. This Hotel offers 250 double rooms and suites, with different views. Doubles rooms can accommodate up to 2 adults and 2 children 0-11yrs. The Aquatica Kids World is designed around children and their daily needs. From 3 to 11-year-olds, the emphasis is on fun in a safe, secure environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Pierre & Vacances, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Vidamar Resort Algarve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vidamar Resort Algarve Albufeira, Portugal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vidamar Resort Algarve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.