We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, just a bit boring surroundings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel to your Saves list
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pinhal do Concelho, Praia da Falesia Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
WELLNESS RETREATS
Ranked #1 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, just a bit boring surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This is a great hotel and looks amazing.
It is only 1 year old and it looks absolutely pristine. THe only thing is the bar prices are also 5 star, 1 diet coke in the bar 8 EURO.

There sould be more sunbeds available around the pools as you really have to get up early to make sure you get one, maybe it was just a coincidence, but if the hotel is fully booked there are not enough sunbeds.

There is a 3 minute walk to the beach along a wooden path way. THe beach is amazing, but the sea was freezing even in mid July.

In the meeting rooms the aircon was not cold enough. It was cooler in the reception area than in the meeting rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the carpark and you will have sun on the balcony in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    53
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
87
175
9
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I spent a week in April 2014 at Epic Sana Algarve with my family and I wished it was longer. The resort is new, modern and very clean. The staff are attentive and polite. They are all ready and happy to help with any queries. My only complaint is the charge for tea/coffee in the room as even a budget hotel provides free tea and coffee. I highly recommend this resort and look forward to going back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Great for relaxation, surrounded by nature and the beach, great for couples and kids.
The best breakfast ever tasted.
Large rooms, amazing comfortable bed
great balcony with nice view
Room service worked fine.
The massage was good
Not appreciated the decoration in common areas

Room Tip: rooms with view to swim pool noiser
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Just returned from a 7 day holiday. The hotel is one of the few abroad you book 5 star and it is 5 star. The service, the hotel itself, including decor, facilities, cleanliness, pool area and accommodation are all of exceptional standard. We stayed in a garden suite, which was modern and fresh feeling. It had a seperate bedroom area, TV and bathroom within it. The lounge also had a sofa/bed if needed. A kitchen area and toilet/shower. The balcony had a large dinning table to seat 6-8 and loungers. We stayed here with our 18 month old and cannot praise it enough. No rush to get beds and the food served at breakfast was great. We ate in the main restaurant twice and both times great. The area itself is quiet which suited us. You can walk to Villamoura (we did) with the pram in 50 mins. A taxi to Albufeira old town wasn't far (15 mins). The hotel arranged taxi with a baby seat each time. I also tried the spa, again a high standard and treatment was fab.

(Only small points to be made - if travelling with children that need to be fed before 7, the main restaurant states 6.30pm in book but doesn't open to 7. Also the A le carte restaurant doesn't serve children)

Room Tip: Garden Suite, very quiet and some with views to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We recently spent a week at this hotel at the end of June as we read the reviews and decided that this was the hotel for us. The hotel itself is stunning. Its set in gorgeous grounds and its very peaceful and relaxing.

It is in between Albuferia and Vilamoura. It cost us 15 Euros to get to both in a taxi. The hotel taxi's are abit more expensive than the normal taxis. There isnt much around the hotel, but we went into albuferia or vilamoura each night. There is a restaurant at the hotel which is really nice. They did some lovely food. You may want to book to avoid disappointment. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly. The entire hotel is spotless, very clean and had a gorgeous smell to it.
We had a double room, unfortunately they were two singles pushed together, but it wasn't the end of the world. My other half slept in the crack most of the time;) The cleaners seem to come in twice a day so our room was always clean.
The pools were spotless and the sun loungers were lovely and comfy, no plastic sun loungers here. I loved the fact that there was an adults only pool. The staff around the pool were abit slow sometime, but again it didn't really matter. The beach is amazing, crystal clear water and lovely sand.
The pool restaurant was very nice, they has a good selection of snacks for lunch. Breakfast was amazing, there was so much choice, fruit, cereals, full fry up. The staff in the restaurants couldn't do enough for you.
All in all this hotel is fabulous and i would recommend it to everyone. I really hope to return one day soon

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Just returned having spent 9 wonderful days at this beautiful hotel. Not only is it luxurious but the service is excellent. Stayed in a 1 bed apartment (they do overlook the entrance so a little traffic noise is inevitable). We did not hear any noise from neighbouring apartments however was so quiet. The grounds of this hotel are impeccable with acres of pine trees. We chose not to use the pool by the apartments as it was quite near the kids club and busier with children, we alternated between the main pool and the adult pool. Overall the hotel is well equipped for children. Breakfasts were amazing and dinner buffet good too, they had different themes each night - the Asian night a favourite of ours. There is a very well stocked supermarket a few minutes walk away. The boardwalk to the beach is lovely and Falesia beach with the red cliffs is stunning. We walked to Vilamoura along the beach which took about an hour. This hotel thoroughly deserves it's 5 stars and excellent reviews.

Room Tip: If your budget allows book a suite as in a very peaceful spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We have just stayed at this hotel for 5 days with a group of friends. This hotel is truly a 5 star experience. The environment is modern clean and fresh, the pool area is relaxing and delightful.
The food is excellent with plenty of choice.
The best part of this hotel is the friendly staff who cannot do enough to make your stay as pleasant a they can, there is not anything they wouldn't do to make your day as enjoyable as possible. We found the Epic Sana a new hotel to be a fantastic holiday experience! We will definitely recommend and hopefully return.
Rix's, Quinn's, James's and Tidd's!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel

Address: Pinhal do Concelho, Praia da Falesia Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#1 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located overlooking Falésia Beach (Albufeira), the EPIC SANA Algarve has 162 Bedrooms, 24 Resort Suites and 43 spacious Apartments with a modern design, complemented by up-to-date amenities and the latest generation technology. A large SPA, 5 outdoor swimming pools and an indoor swimming pool, Kid’s club, Baby Club, multi-sport court, three restaurants, two bars and a snack-bar next to the swimming pools, are some of the facilities on offer at the EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel. With 1.848m2 of meeting rooms and more than1,000m² of outdoor areas, the Congress Centre of the EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel will be a reference point for congresses and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Escapio, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel Albufeira, Portugal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.