We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing restaurant, you will not be disappointed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante

Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante
Rua da Orada, Albufeira 8200-371, Portugal
+351 937 021 204
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 591 Restaurants in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $17
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Perhaps one of the most beautiful restaurants in Albufeira, Castelo do Mar boasts unique sea and Marina views, outside terraces and a relaxed ambience in an elegant setting. Occasional live music on selected nights provides a harmonious backdrop to overall dining experience. Dishes include meats, fish, seafood and vegetarian options. A fully stocked bar provides either an additional element to your meal or a well deserved sunset cocktail, a glass of Champagne or whatever your choice of liquid refreshment. An ideal venue for all occasions. If you have taken the time to write a review and we have not responded to it please accept our apologies. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to do so and offer our sincere thanks.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing restaurant, you will not be disappointed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

You often read reviews of restaurants and wonder whether they can really live up to the comments posted by previous visitors. I can honestly say i've never enjoyed a meal as much as I did at the Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante last week.

We arrived as a group of 7 and were promptly showed to our table. Service was outstanding from the moment we set foot in the restaurant to the moment we left. Infact, we were so impressed by the restaurant as a whole that half way through our main course we had already re-booked for the following evening.

The food didn't disappoint. My smoked salmon and avaocado starter was delicious and the Sea Bass main was delightful. When the Chocolate Brownie for dessert arrived I struggled to see how it could get any better. It soon did.

We washed our meals down a selection of Daiquiris, Wine and Beer. The Strawberry Daiquiri was without doubt the best I had tasted in the resort over the course of 8 days.

This restaurant is without doubt one of the best I have ever eaten at and in terms of value for money, without doubt the best. Highly recommended!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul A, Owner at Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review for our restaurant. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. Your review and the information contained in it will assist others to make a decision when considering dining with us and we greatly appreciate the additional custom that this may help to generate for us. On behalf of the team at Castelo do Mar, we thank you and hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    47
    20
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Needless long wait”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This restaurant is beautifully set with some nice views of the sea on one side and marina on other. When we arrived there were only a few people eating, lots of empty tables but many people like ourselves were told that we would have a 45 min wait as we hadn't reserved. Most of the tables remained empty and 45 mins later they sat us at one of these tables. The mains were very good, but I had a disappointing starter and dessert. The avocado on the starter was not yet ripe, and the rhubarb in the kiwi crumble was not cooked through and inedible. Overall though the staff were friendly, place was nice; we still enjoyed our evening but I think that it has been over-rated on trip advisor. We chose this place as it had come number 2 in the ratings, but it doesn't deserve that rating. For this we were a little disappointed. Advice for the restaurant would be that they should review their reservations policy; lots of potential customers should not be sitting looking at empty tables for almost an hour.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul A, Owner at Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thank you for writing a review for our restaurant. We are sorry that you were disappointed with your experience. Your comments regarding the particular issues with your meal have been passed back to the Chef and kitchen staff for review. With regard to your comments regarding having to wait to be seated, our reservations policy ensures that guests are able to reserve a table by contacting us in advance. On occasions guests fail to show and we then give the table to another customer. I can only assume that this was the case on the night of your visit. We would recommend that customers make a reservation to avoid having to wait to be seated.
We are very pleased that you still managed to enjoy your evening with us and thank you once again for your custom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

A must visit, hidden on the hill of the marina you will find amazing service, second to none food and an amazing views.
Staying locally in the marina we found this restaurant on the hill as you head towards the old town after reading the short & sweet menu we booked right away, needless to say we were not disappointed and made sure we booked for the following night.

I would recommend the chowder to start and steak for the main, if your looking for a cocktail you'll need to try the daiquiri.

You would struggle to find a better place to enjoy your evening than here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul A, Owner at Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our restaurant. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. Your review and the information contained in it will assist others to make a decision when considering dining with us and we greatly appreciate the additional custom that this may help to generate for us. On behalf of the team at Castelo do Mar, we thank you and hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food and Great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My partner and I enjoyed a fantastic meal at this great restaurant. We met a couple from Manchester who recommended it and they were not wrong. After a warm welcome, we chose the Goats cheese and beetroot salad and the huge prawns to start, followed by the sea bass and black pig. We were not "doing " pudding until we witnessed them arriving at other tables - cheesecake and chocolate brownie were delicious. Great view, staff and amazing food gives the restaurant a very well deserved 5 *****!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul A, Owner at Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our restaurant. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. Your review and the information contained in it will assist others to make a decision when considering dining with us and we greatly appreciate the additional custom that this may help to generate for us. On behalf of the team at Castelo do Mar, we thank you and hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, delicious and classy food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Very impressed with this restaurant - have been before and even better than first time. Beautiful setting - we had a drink in the outdoor seating area while checking out the menu and enjoying the fabulous view. Food was delicious and beautifully presented, as high a quality as any top restaurant back home. Service was a little slow at times (took ages to get bill) but to be fair they were very busy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul A, Owner at Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our restaurant. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us and that you returned. On this occasion it seems that serevice was not as good as it should have been and for this we apologize. We do hope that your experience was not affected too much by this. Your review and the information contained in it will assist others to make a decision when considering dining with us and we greatly appreciate the additional custom that this may help to generate for us. On behalf of the team at Castelo do Mar, we thank you and hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.