We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante

Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante
Rua da Orada, Albufeira 8200-371, Portugal
+351 937 021 204
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 585 Restaurants in Albufeira
Price range: $14 - $21
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Perhaps one of the most beautiful restaurants in Albufeira, Castelo do Mar boasts unique sea and Marina views, outside terraces and a relaxed ambience in an elegant setting. Occasional live music on selected nights provides a harmonious backdrop to overall dining experience. Dishes include meats, fish, seafood and vegetarian options. A fully stocked bar provides either an additional element to your meal or a well deserved sunset cocktail, a glass of Champagne or whatever your choice of liquid refreshment. An ideal venue for all occasions. If you have taken the time to write a review and we have not responded to it please accept our apologies. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to do so and offer our sincere thanks.
1 review
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

A must visit, hidden on the hill of the marina you will find amazing service, second to none food and an amazing views.
Staying locally in the marina we found this restaurant on the hill as you head towards the old town after reading the short & sweet menu we booked right away, needless to say we were not disappointed and made sure we booked for the following night.

I would recommend the chowder to start and steak for the main, if your looking for a cocktail you'll need to try the daiquiri.

You would struggle to find a better place to enjoy your evening than here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul A, Owner at Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our restaurant. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. Your review and the information contained in it will assist others to make a decision when considering dining with us and we greatly appreciate the additional custom that this may help to generate for us. On behalf of the team at Castelo do Mar, we thank you and hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    41
    15
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food and Great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My partner and I enjoyed a fantastic meal at this great restaurant. We met a couple from Manchester who recommended it and they were not wrong. After a warm welcome, we chose the Goats cheese and beetroot salad and the huge prawns to start, followed by the sea bass and black pig. We were not "doing " pudding until we witnessed them arriving at other tables - cheesecake and chocolate brownie were delicious. Great view, staff and amazing food gives the restaurant a very well deserved 5 *****!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul A, Owner at Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our restaurant. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. Your review and the information contained in it will assist others to make a decision when considering dining with us and we greatly appreciate the additional custom that this may help to generate for us. On behalf of the team at Castelo do Mar, we thank you and hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, delicious and classy food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Very impressed with this restaurant - have been before and even better than first time. Beautiful setting - we had a drink in the outdoor seating area while checking out the menu and enjoying the fabulous view. Food was delicious and beautifully presented, as high a quality as any top restaurant back home. Service was a little slow at times (took ages to get bill) but to be fair they were very busy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul A, Owner at Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our restaurant. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us and that you returned. On this occasion it seems that serevice was not as good as it should have been and for this we apologize. We do hope that your experience was not affected too much by this. Your review and the information contained in it will assist others to make a decision when considering dining with us and we greatly appreciate the additional custom that this may help to generate for us. On behalf of the team at Castelo do Mar, we thank you and hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puteaux, Ile-de-France, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Pretty disappointed to have to wait 45 mins for a table and then find restaurant was half empty, so not a good start.

Starters were ok, but mains were excellent. Desserts were so so.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul A, Owner at Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Thank you for writing a review. We are sorry that you had to wait for a table. Whilst we appreciate that it may appear that tables are available we operate a reservations policy that gives customers an opportunity to secure a table by calling to make a booking. Where necessary this means holding a table for a customer for a lengthy time to ensure that they are accommodated. Often guests for what ever reason are unable to arrive for their reservation and after a reasonable time we then give the table away. I can only assume that this may have been the reason for you being seated at a previously unoccupied table. To avoid delays in being seated we recommend that you make a reservation.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your meal at Castelo do Mar and hope that your experience was not spoiled too much by having to wait to be seated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoylake, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Back again and this place never disappoints.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Back to alburufra, and mainly just for this restaurant. Love the atmosphere, and the views from the terrace are superb. Again the food never disappoints and combined with excellent service 10/10 does not do it justice.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul A, Owner at Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a fantastic review for our restaurant. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. Your review and the information contained in it will assist others to make a decision when considering dining with us and we greatly appreciate the additional custom that this may help to generate for us. On behalf of the team at Castelo do Mar, we thank you and hope that you will once again visit us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.