We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante

Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante
Rua da Orada, Albufeira 8200-371, Portugal
+351 937 021 204
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 591 Restaurants in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $18
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Perhaps one of the most beautiful restaurants in Albufeira, Castelo do Mar boasts unique sea and Marina views, outside terraces and a relaxed ambience in an elegant setting. Occasional live music on selected nights provides a harmonious backdrop to overall dining experience. Dishes include meats, fish, seafood and vegetarian options. A fully stocked bar provides either an additional element to your meal or a well deserved sunset cocktail, a glass of Champagne or whatever your choice of liquid refreshment. An ideal venue for all occasions. If you have taken the time to write a review and we have not responded to it please accept our apologies. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to do so and offer our sincere thanks.
Puteaux, Ile-de-France, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Pretty disappointed to have to wait 45 mins for a table and then find restaurant was half empty, so not a good start.

Starters were ok, but mains were excellent. Desserts were so so.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul A, Owner at Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thank you for writing a review. We are sorry that you had to wait for a table. Whilst we appreciate that it may appear that tables are available we operate a reservations policy that gives customers an opportunity to secure a table by calling to make a booking. Where necessary this means holding a table for a customer for a lengthy time to ensure that they are accommodated. Often guests for what ever reason are unable to arrive for their reservation and after a reasonable time we then give the table away. I can only assume that this may have been the reason for you being seated at a previously unoccupied table. To avoid delays in being seated we recommend that you make a reservation.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your meal at Castelo do Mar and hope that your experience was not spoiled too much by having to wait to be seated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    44
    20
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ainsdale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Back again and this place never disappoints.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Back to alburufra, and mainly just for this restaurant. Love the atmosphere, and the views from the terrace are superb. Again the food never disappoints and combined with excellent service 10/10 does not do it justice.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul A, Owner at Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a fantastic review for our restaurant. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. Your review and the information contained in it will assist others to make a decision when considering dining with us and we greatly appreciate the additional custom that this may help to generate for us. On behalf of the team at Castelo do Mar, we thank you and hope that you will once again visit us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Fantastic service, lovely staff, great music, superb value and an unbelievable view. But most of all the food was so tasty and delicious - so much so that you could lick your plate clean! A restaurant which should definitely be your number one place to eat in Albufeira! Unreal

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul A, Owner at Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our restaurant. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. Your review and the information contained in it will assist others to make a decision when considering dining with us and we greatly appreciate the additional custom that this may help to generate for us. On behalf of the team at Castelo do Mar, we thank you and hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We had a great night at Castelo do Mar tonight with two friends. Food was amazing particularly the sea bass and the waitress was very friendly with prompt service. The on site entertainment was fabulous and not intrusive. Highly recommend a visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul A, Owner at Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our restaurant. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. Your review and the information contained in it will assist others to make a decision when considering dining with us and we greatly appreciate the additional custom that this may help to generate for us. On behalf of the team at Castelo do Mar, we thank you and hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Do not miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Top notch food! Great staff. Beautiful setting and nice, cold, CRISP beer! :) Don't leave Albufeira without dining here!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul A, Owner at Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our restaurant. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. Your review and the information contained in it will assist others to make a decision when considering dining with us and we greatly appreciate the additional custom that this may help to generate for us. On behalf of the team at Castelo do Mar, we thank you and hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.