We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is a must” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante

Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante
Rua da Orada, Albufeira 8200-371, Portugal
+351 937 021 204
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 586 Restaurants in Albufeira
Price range: $14 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Perhaps one of the most beautiful restaurants in Albufeira, Castelo do Mar boasts unique sea and Marina views, outside terraces and a relaxed ambience in an elegant setting. Occasional live music on selected nights provides a harmonious backdrop to overall dining experience. Dishes include meats, fish, seafood and vegetarian options. A fully stocked bar provides either an additional element to your meal or a well deserved sunset cocktail, a glass of Champagne or whatever your choice of liquid refreshment. An ideal venue for all occasions. If you have taken the time to write a review and we have not responded to it please accept our apologies. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to do so and offer our sincere thanks.
Hoylake, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“This place is a must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Situated in a lovely setting overlooking the marina, the staff are very friendly, attentive and curtis. What makes this the restraunt to visit is its food. A menu that is kept simple, food that is fresh, presented and cooked to perfection. On our visit we skipped straight to the main course and opted for the iberian black pig and chicken risotto. Risotto is a simple dish but easy to overcook, but here it was cooked to perfection, with the chicken been juicy and not overcooked, and everything seasoned perfectly. The pig was also tender and very moreish, and came with grilled courgettes, potatoes and was accompanied by a nicely flavoured tomatoe based sauce. To finish we had raspberry pavlova, and lemon cheesecake, both been excellent.

If you like you chips and burger then this won't be for you, but for people that enjoy good food then you won't find a better restraunt in the area. Also the price is very reasonable and is comparable to the tacky restraunts in the center of town.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    42
    15
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pontefract
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best food, best views.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Definitely the best all round restaurant in Albufeira, lovely menu and pleasant just to see a restaurant that doesn't show corny pictures of the food or try to drag you in off the street! Good variety of meat and seafood, would definitely recommend the tuna carpaccio. Everything we ate was excellent and although they don't advertise a childrens menu they were more than happy to accommodate our fussy girls! Views are amazing due to its high position and the owners and staff are friendly and especially knowledgeable about the food they serve.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albufeira, Portugal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I was greeted by a well dressed, polite, pleasant gentleman named John, who escorted me to were my friends were seated. The owners namely Johann and Paul could not have been more charming and attentive whilst they waited upon us. The food's presentation was excellent and glad to say the taste was even better! Great ambiance. Thoroughly recommend an aperitif on the terrace to watch the sunset!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Found this beautiful restaurant on a walk to the marina, visited on several occasions during our time in albuferia, as the food and cocktails were so good! Johanne and Paul were excellent hosts and very attentive. Had a fab time here, wont forget it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Cork, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great find...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We found this restaurant by accident while on our way to the marina, decided to stop for some of the nicest sangria I've ever tasted and then returned the following evening for a beautiful meal. It was by far the nicest restaurant we ate in all week, not just because of the amazing food but the whole atmosphere of overlooking the ocean and marina while you eat and the staff are so friendly you couldn't feel more welcome!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.