We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and scenic view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Open Sea

Restaurante Open Sea
Rua Sacadura Cabral 25 | 8200 176, Albufeira 8200-176, Portugal
289571119
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #248 of 600 Restaurants in Albufeira
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Maitland, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great location and scenic view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The restaurant is located on top of the hill overlooking the Old Town and beach and is close to the escalator down to the town. It's a great place to just relax with beer or wine and enjoy the view and it has a good selection of light snacks or lunches. It's the perfect place to stop for refreshment when walking from Old Town back to your hotel or time share.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    21
    8
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent meal amazing view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We went to Open Sea for diner after passing it every night in the taxi on the way into the old town - the food was amazing and the view is one of the best you will get of the beach and the old town - this place is definately worth a visit

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Nice view, average food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Decided to have Lunch at Open Sea whilst spending the day at Old Town. To be honest, I was looking forward to eating there as it looks nice from the exterior and the view is beautiful. The view lived up to expectation, so did the décor, however I found the food to be very average. I am not a big fish eater, the only fish I eat is cod as its quite a bland fish that doesn't taste like the sea. I have also eaten cod in several restaurants before cooked in a variety of ways. I ordered the oven-baked cod, it looked nice on the plate but I did not enjoy it at all. It tasted very fishy, it was quite tough and it was just a huge disappointment. I chose to eat fish because its a fish based restaurant but I wished I would have eaten something else.

The service was also slow and for the price of the food/drinks, I think the food should have been better. I wouldn't return to this restaurant if I visited Albufeira again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely fresh food, excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We really enjoyed the food in this restaurant. Given the location overlooking the bay we thought it may have been more expensive. (At the top of the escalators from the beach out of the Old Town). The Iberico Pork was absolutely fab, just a little salty and husband had lovely fish. We went back for a 2nd night before the end of the week for more - which says it all really. Good food, well priced, tasty and good service

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“3 Lovely Meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay in Albufeira and enjoyed this restaurant on 3 occasions.

Lovely fresh seafood stew and salmon. Also tried the balsamic beef and lamb all very fresh an delicious.

Average price for house wine 7 euros with bread basket 1.50. Main meals very reasonable at 11 - 14 euros.

Would highly recommend especially as the sun is setting.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Open Sea also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to Restaurante Open Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Open Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.