We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sao Vicente

Hotel Sao Vicente
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Sao Vicente to your Saves list
Hotel Sao Vicente
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo Jaciento D'ayet 4, Albufeira 8200, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
AD, UAE
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing view, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This Hotel is located on top of the hill over viewing the beach and town. Not ideal if you have handicap people with you and you wIsh to walk around. But if your legs are in good shape you are located just on top of the shops, restaurants and bars. The walk to the beach is a great start of the day aft the nice breakfast they have waiting for you. Nice, super clean, feels homey and somehow exclusive. Not crowded with great friendly staff, this is a sure bet, but do NOT expect beauty salons, spas, gardens, long halls and complicated setups, it is a very very nice small Hotel that provides you with a great location and an ocean view that makes you get up every morning !

Room Tip: Ocean view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    18
    11
    0
    3
See reviews for
2
44
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We have just returned from a short stay at this hotel, what a little gem !! The staff were helpful and polite, nothing was too much trouble. We had a partial sea view from our room which was nice, although with hindsight we should have booked a room on a higher floor with a better view but the room was quiet and very clean, the only downside was there was no bin. Great air conditioning which stayed on even when you were not in the room, very welcomed in the August heat! The location of the hotel was brilliant, a short walk to the beach and a short walk into town. Lovely views from the main terrace whilst having breakfast, which in itself was adequate and basic, just what you needed to start your day. The only downside was that there didnt seem to be enough sun beds and the ones that were there were "reserved" by people putting their towels on them in the dead of night and leaving them there all day, even if there were not using the beds, which I found a bit irritating! The other point to be made was the car park which accessed to the side of the hotel. The entrance to the car park, being a big gate was a very tight squeeze, ok if you have a small car but a bit tricky if your car is big and also the car park itself is quite small but we would still recommend you book a space for your car as roadside parking would be a bit of a nightmare.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view and preferably on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just returned from a visit to this hotel our second in succession so you can gather we do like it.I can agree with a lot of what the previous reviewer said but not all. The hotel is in a great location walk around the corner and your on the way to the old town, the staff are very courteous and the hotel is kept very clean. The rooms are nice and to a good standard I agree about the sun in the afternoon but's it's a "no brainer" to request a sea view room the views are amazing and far outweigh having the sun in the afternoon. The breakfasts are good but I do think they could be varied slightly on a daily basis. There are a lot of good things but there is also room for improvement in my opinion for this hotel to market itself as a boutique hotel room safes should be standard they are not you have to pay in addition if you require internet access that should also be free it isn't you have to pay. I also agree with an early reviewer there is a tendancy to feel the hotel is over managed and it is run with military efficiency I think a chill pill is required in some instances. I've marked it as average comparing it to other boutique hotels I've stayed in but it would be good if just marketed as a hotel I think it is overpriced.

Room Tip: choose a sea view room excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Just returned from a five day stay in this lovely hotel. We have been to this resort several times and usually stay in a four/five star but this hotel is the best ever! The staff are very helpful and pleasant and the Hotel is clean well situated and just a breeze! I would have no hesitation in returning or to recommend to friends and family. It is great value for money and within a few minutes walk to the old town. If however you like large hotels with a lot going on or a large pool then this is not for you but I loved it and am very fussy. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Sea view is good but does not have the sun in the afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Really can't fault this little hotel. We were lucky to have a sea view room which had obviously been recently refurbished. The quality of the fittings and furnishings was superb with a beautiful bathroom and a really powerful shower.

The pool area was kept spotlessly clean and the sunbeds were the widest and most comfortable we have ever had.

There was a good choice on the continental breakfast buffet with lots of prepared fruit, a choice of breads, juices, cereals, yoghurts and the usual cold meats and cheeses.

The location is excellent with a handful of good bars and restaurants right outside the hotel if you don't fancy the 5-10 minute stroll to the Old Town square.

Would definitely stay here again if we return to Albufeira

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

17th Feb 2013 - Just arrived back for a fantastic 2 night break at the Vila Sao Vicente and what a gem find. I can not recommend this hotel enough, staff are so helpful and friendly. The hotel arranged our transfer to and from the airport which takes around 40 mins. We received a very warm welcome on arrival and given two beautiful ground floor rooms over looking the sea. This hotel is very clean, continental breakfast fantastic. Well situated for the Old Town short walk to beach. Many good restaurants and bar to choose from with in 2 mins walk. Small fridge in our rooms which was great for keeping water and drinks in. Hair dryer in bathroom OK but I would suggest bring your own if possible. I am looking forward to going back ASAP.

Room Tip: If possible I would always ask for a room facing beach. Road side quiet but not the nicest of views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Istay twice this year but I found expensive room is small also toilet is small hot water is not coming much in the morning only drip also breakfast is ok the only think is near old town nd also pubs this hotel is not for kids.

Room Tip: It depend the value of the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sao Vicente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sao Vicente

Address: Largo Jaciento D'ayet 4, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sao Vicente 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Sao Vicente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sao Vicente Hotel
Hotel Sao Vicente Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sao Vicente, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.