We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay and excellent value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Rufino

Save Saved
You added Villas Rufino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villas Rufino
Rua dos Mareantes | Gale, Albufeira 8200-428, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 162 hotels in Albufeira
Glasgow, Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place to stay and excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in June 2013 and just loved it. The villas are spotless and have beautiful views. Furnishings are basic but all that you need for a holiday home. There is a large, well maintained pool and the beach is just a short walk down the road.

Each villa has a terrace and BBQ which was great fun and is cleaned for you first thing in the morning by the staff. There is an excellent supermarket nearby for all your shopping and they sold coals for the BBQ - we ended up using it nearly every evening as it was so easy and there is something very satisfying about cooking your own food outside, sipping a glass of rose and watching the sun set.

I would highly recommend these villas and hope to stay again in the future.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Just completed another great week at the Villas Rufino. Well done to all of the team. A beautiful setting we will be back again in 2014.
Villa was spotlessly clean and serviced several times on the week by the friendly domestic staff who even clean the BBQ each morning. Gale beach is stunning and only 5minutes by car. Apollonia supermarket is a similar distance and well stocked with both local and uk products.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights at Villa Rufino as a couple. Location and the view just are awesome. Very calm and near the ocean (although not directly on the beach). The Vilas are fully furnish (pretty much everything you have at home) and are very welcome for a couple of days off of the routine.

We would really recommend for couple or group that would like to enjoy peace and quiet vacation outside the cheap tourist restaurants and hotels of downtown Albufeira. On a constructive note though, the comfort of the bed and the whole bedroom could be upgraded. The furniture in the bedroom probably date from prehistoric era and the bed is hard as wood.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Our family of four with kids being 9 and 13 just got back after staying one week here. Had a really nice time in the quiet villa set in pretty grounds with a nice pool. It was not very busy and we learned that the most of the people there returned year after year as they loved it. I liked it a lot and almost everything you might need was there. It was a great place to relax and make friends. Lots of nice restaurants in the area but you really need a car unless you love walking. However if you like shopping or clubbing this is not the area for you but Albufeira town is only a 10-15 mins drive away. The nearest beach is quite gravelly but it was quiet and had loungers with parasols to rent (reasonable) and a very nice little restaurant (a bit expensive). My only moans would be as follows: of the two bedrooms the one that was clearly meant to be the master with balcony, sea view, dressing table, a safe etc was set up with the two single beds for the children and the double bed was squeezed into the smaller bedroom with none of the things listed - odd. Also, I have stayed in many villas in the price range of this one and all of them have had little extras such as a hairdryer, washing up liquid/sponges, hand soap in the loos, even condiments in the kitchen and dishwasher tabs. This villa had nothing at all so the first thing we had to do was go shopping. We did manage to borrow a dvd player for the kids but we had to ask for it and there was no information pack/folder telling us we could do this. Also the staff were not able to help at all when we asked about booking trips etc - not so much as a leaflet. We were just told to go into Albufeira and find out there. Last moan, wifi connectivity very poor, don't rely on your internet here and even phone signal was intermittant at best. All in all though we had a really nice time here and would go again, we'd just go a little better prepared now we know what we'd need. The peaceful, pretty location and family-friendly atmosphere is worth the minor niggles.

Room Tip: All villas have a balcony and terrace (with bbq, loungers and table) which look out over a green lan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Arrived home today after spending a week at villas rufino. Absolutely great place.
Only 40 min transfer from airport. We hired a car last year, but this year decided on private transfers as we were not venturing far from the complex. (Also much cheaper to use taxi for the odd day out)
Villas are very spaciousness, clean and feel very private. Great big terrace with magnificent views and our own BBQ.
Couple of good supermarkets within walking distance and great beach 10 min walk, although very busy during high season.
Villas rufino is a great place if your after a quiet holiday. It's kid friendly, our 3 kids made plenty of friends and spent the whole time in the pool. It's also very safe.
We have a 18 month baby and they provided a cot, high chair and stair gates. We will be returning again next year.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Just Returned from our second trip to Villas Rufino and was everything we expected - clean and quiet. It has been 4 years since our last trip and the townhouses are just the same although they could do with a bit of sprucing up paint wise around the walls and outside and a couple of loose tiles in the pool. The complex was about half full but we had the pool to ourselves most days - if you want lively and places to walk to then this is not the place for you - if you drive to restaurants and want breakfast on the veranda overlooking the sea and a chilled out holiday then this is the place .The on site caretakers are fantastic and always help especially when my parents managed to lock themselves out - the cleaners do a great job and are unobtrusive. Would def return again although as parents of an only child we need something with a few more children to keep him amused.

Room Tip: rooms 6-16 are the best view wise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed 6 nights in this wonderful place. It was very clean apartment. It had 2 large bedrooms, wifi (outside). The terrace was big and it had a beautiful view over the ocean. The staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: Some terraces of corner apartments are shared with the neighbors. They might walk over your terrace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas Rufino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Rufino

Address: Rua dos Mareantes | Gale, Albufeira 8200-428, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villas Rufino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Rufino Hotel Albufeira
Villas Rufino Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Rufino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.