We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Read this if you choose because of the kids club!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Monica Isabel Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Monica Isabel Beach Club to your Saves list
Monica Isabel Beach Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Forte Sao Joao | Areias de Sao Joao, Albufeira 8200-325, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #122 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Wexford, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Read this if you choose because of the kids club!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

Hi, travelled with husband and 5 year old son. Location great with pool just beside sea. Apartment was average but was a stinky smell from loo most of the time. No sweeping brush and didnt feel swept all the time we were there, no toaster and none leff for hire, off peak season!! Any way, we chose here as it was so close to the beach and for the kids club. We had no problem till our last day as we left the beach to collect our son when I saw him though the fence at the pool!! We went through the open gate to see our 5 year old in his pants with a pair of pink arm bands and a water gun in the pool with about 3-4 other kids. I did not give my permission for him to go to the pool!! We sat at the side shocked, the two minders were over the other side of the pool face painting! If they were doing that who was watching the children?? No adult supervising in the pool or watching the kids. We took him out and dried and dressed him. My husband went over to complain, they hadnt even noticed we had took him out of pool. They didnt get it, what we were annoyed about. He was not supposed to be in the pool. What if he removed the PINK armbands as he hates pink and drowned? What if he ran out on to the road? What if he was taken? We were so shocked and angry at the fact the minders were oblivious to these possiblities. Maybe we are over protective but he is only 5 and needs supervision to keep him safe. Beware if you are going here.
A. Fagan
Wexford
Ireland

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    424
    429
    302
    292
See reviews for
438
671
33
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wolverhampton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

i stayed at this hotel in may 2011 and would never go their again its surpose to be a 4 star not a chance its so dated its like something from the early 80s the food was terrible to we were allinclusive but we couldnt eat the food it was cold tho their was a microwave but the selection was bad its ok if you like chips burgers pizza spag bol and fish we were glad for the salad and cold meats the entertainment was very poor people that worked at the hotel dancing on a stage with the kids maybe once every couple of days you would have a proper act on for half an hour you are also limited to the number of alcaholic drinks you have even tho your allinclusive plus this hotel is deffo for the german and french people which most of them were very rude and misable which did affect our holiday the snacks were down by the pool 11 till 6 were always ready satled crisps pizza spanish omellete i dont think this hotel would be good for people with walk disabilites as theirs alot of hills around the hotel and to the beach

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

We went May 14th - 21st booked through Thomas cook, thought we had booked for the 4star hotel - ended up in a 3star studio.
The description given by the tour brochure stated :-
1) "Balcony. Ocean view and/or Sea view and/or Garden view" - well there was a balcony but the view was not as described - other apartment / studios across the road!!
2) "In-room safe." - well yep the room had a safe, but it had no lock and was damaged. We were told that safety deposit boxes were available in reception at additional cost.
3) "21-inch television" - 4 Portuguese channels + 8 from SAT TV, only English on Sky news.
4) "Kitchenette. Microwave. Full-sized refrigerator/freezer. Coffee/tea maker. Kitchen linens (dishtowels, sponges, etc)." well no Microwave, coffee/tea maker or kitchen linens.
We also had 2 issues / incidents while we were there - 1st during heavy rain one night the room got flooded because of blocked drain out side, good point the hotel staff cleared it quickly once reported.
2nd we had several cockroaches in the room - this is a problem any where that is warm and humid, sadly we were told by several other guests that they had the same. Again the staff cleared them away quickly and treated to remove them.
Now having read some of the other reviews I can say there are good points and bad points about the Monica Isabel resort, bad points all the above plus the hotel is a bit dated, it's getting old compared to others in the Algarve, we found the beds to be very hard.
Good points the buffet dining is acceptable and caterers for a wide range of nationalities, there is usually something to suit every one, the staff are very pleasant and generally helpful, the area is just so nice and relaxing, it was reasonable value for money and yes the all inclusive bar was only open from 11am to 11pm and it only served non branded drinks but then you did get half price on the branded drinks at the late bar.
Unfortunately the bad points out weigh the good in my opinion.

Room Tip: looking for the newest 5 star go else where
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

well where do i begin...tthis hotel is more appropriate for germans dutch and french,the entertainment was pretty dismay,only two people doing the entertainment, which was that "unbearable" you could not stop laughing,the hotel room it self was clean, a cleaner came every day,it as a two ring electric top which did not work,no hairdryer but u can go to reception and pay a 20 euro deposit and you will get the money back,the hotel food was,nt that bad for a three star,but the dinner was better than the breakfast and tea,by four days i had to leave the hotel and go to new town and old town which was lovely, and thank the lord the weather was glorious...portugal is a lovely place i would recommend shame about monica isobela

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

stayed at monica isabel hotel for 4 nights may 15th 2011. Just about a 3* hotel. Arrived at 11am, they would not let us check in until 2.30. 2 buildings to the hotel old and new, we got the old. Room ok cleaned everyday. Restarant was awful same breakfast everyday. Tin hotdog sausages, beans, bolied eggs and continental meats and cheese. lunch was just regenerated food from previous night. Snack bar everyday tray of ham or cheese, bread and bowl of crisps. Food at dinner was bland and repetitive. we ate out from day 2,excellent restarants near by. Entertainment was non exsistant. I relaise it is early in the season but they had 'ricky martin' playing the same songs every night. Facilities do not match the descriptions on the website. The pool is very small and if the hotel was at full capacity there could be some serious issues. Games room consisted of a air hockey, a grab a cuddle toy machine and a pinball machine which was broke. All of these activites had to be payed regardless of being all inclusive. No beach activites, boat rides, beach volley ball or games aroun the pool. If you have any mobility issues or need wheel chair access this is not the hotel for you. On a positive side the beach was lovely and the staff were friendly. Would i go back again, not to that hotel, but yes to Aluberfia.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Hotel staff wonderful, entertainment negative (the hotel entertainers couldn't have done better but obviously weren't backed adequately). Lacking child entertainment. Location great, rooms large (if somewhat dated but adequate). Food plentiful and varied but often cold. We thought we had booked a hotel room but found we had plenty of walking between accommodation and dining room/facilities. Cannot pre-book choice of room. Hilly and steps so not good for anyone with mobility issues. Bar closes at 11pm (not up for discussion). Thought we had a reasonably priced holiday until we spoke to others staying there who had the same holiday for a great deal less money.

Room Tip: To gain hotel placement, must book 4 star.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Just back and after reading the reviews didnt want to go but glad I did.
This is an honest review please ignore the bad ones. It is a three star hotel so don't expect five star.
We paid about 25 pounds per night all inclusive which was a bargain.
The room was a studio in block C a bit away from main hotel but was very quiet and peaceful and still had sea views. It was large and very clean with a sunny balcony which kept my wife happy. Beds comfy room cleaned every day.
The food was good although there was not that much choice compared to other all inc iv been too. Breakfast was fine with cereal yoghurt fruit bread and hot choices.Every day at lunch and dinner there was a good choice of salad pizza pasta along with meat chicken and fish. If you take your time to look properly and stick to one thing then you cant go wrong. Desserts were fine as well you just need to time it right when they bring more out and they do whatever time you go whether its first thing or last.
The view from the restaurant is breath taking you could sit and enjoy it all day.
The drink was good not watered down You also can have as much bottled water as you want. Bar staff will only give you two drinks due to an incident recently when a barman was giving away too much resulting in very drunk people. The result he was sacked.
All staff are very pleasant and helpful couldnt do more for you.
Check in very fast
The pool area is lovely and there is a snack bar there serving hot snacks, alcohol, salad, sandwiches and ice cream.
There is direct access onto the beach which is again lovely and there is a beach bar but you have to pay.
The entertainment is fine usual holiday stuff but each night there was someone playing the piano all night in the lounge.
The hotel is equidistant from the strip and old town both lovely particularly the old town the atmosphere there is great.
All in all we had a great holiday met some great people of mixed nationalities.
Would I go back course i would in a minute. The place maybe is a bit tired round the edges but while there they were constantly painting and trying to tidy the place up.
Give it a go you will be pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monica Isabel Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monica Isabel Beach Club

Address: Forte Sao Joao | Areias de Sao Joao, Albufeira 8200-325, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Monica Isabel Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel includes Monica Isabel Beach Club 4 Stars (Aparthotel) and Monica Isabel Beach Club 3 Stars ( Tourist Apartments). It has a privileged location in Albufeira, on Albufeira beach and only 500 meters from “Avenida Sá Carneiro “a popular avenue (better known as The Strip to foreign visitors) which is filled with cafes, bars, restaurants and a wide variety of shops. The Albufeira Resort is central to traditional shopping areas, restaurants and bars from throughout the region and only 1.5 km from the Historic and Cultural Centre of Albufeira, the Mónica Isabel Beach Club offers a variety of services that allow your holiday or short week-end break to be unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Monica Isabel Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monica Isabel Hotel Albufeira
Monica Isabel Aparthotel Albufeira
Monica Isabel Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira
Monica Isabel Beach Club Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monica Isabel Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.