We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here! NOT 4* more like 1*” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Varandas de Albufeira

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Varandas de Albufeira to your Saves list
Varandas de Albufeira
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Indico, Lote 14, Cerro de Alagoa, Albufeira 8200-139, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't stay here! NOT 4* more like 1*”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Where to start? Self catering? If you count 1 electrical socket for toaster, kettle and microwave - ok, but the hotplate (yes that's right) didn't fit on the minimal counter so we had to put it on the dining table. Very cheap and nasty cutlery etc. Schooner rigged.
Housekeeping? Sometimes and minimal. TV? very small with about 4 English channels, mostly fuzzy. Beds? Had a bad back for 2 weeks as they are very old and soft - they changed the bed linen once in 2 weeks. Reception - often unmanned, lots of waiting around.
Pool - very deep with a broken ladder at the deep end, I couldn't get out except at the shallow end. Sunbeds had no mattresses and were VERY dirty, no shade around the pool and few umbrellas.
Would we stay here again? NO WAY! We booked through Deal of the Day and their arrangements were all fine - but this hotel is dreadful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    112
    109
    66
    53
See reviews for
50
187
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed for 1 week S/C basis & had these observations. LOCATION - Excellent, its main attraction for me - 10mins walk to old town, just off the main road but not that much noise (which is far nicer than the strip which is 15-20min walk). VALUE - paid £350 which I thought was fair, if you pay much more, you are overpaying IMO. ROOM - 2 twin beds, TV 10 channels, 5 English, Kitchenette & bath / shower, balcony (not sun trap) safe box (15 euro a week with 20 deposit returned which I feel is always better to have it), air con - good but to noisy at night to use. S/C facilities were OK but a bit sparse - 2 ring portable hob, kettle, toaster, micro but very few utensils (had to ask for chopping board & frying pan which I got). CLEANLINESS - OK maid came every 2 days & changed rubbish & made bed but don't think any mopping of floors was done? LOCAL AMENITIES - a few shops 2 mins away with usual tourist stuff but a great supermarket (called Continentalle) 2 mins to the left of hotel - lots of healthy choice & reasonable too - theres also a LIDL & ALDI 10min walk up main road to the left so cooked my own food most of the time & eat out twice. STAFF - Friendly & although not always on reception, were not far away. FOOD Didn't eat in hotel so cant comment.. BAR / POOL - Bar was small but adequate - pint of Estrella only 2 euro - great.. Now the BIG let down - The pool was OK size but the sunbeds - oh dear - NOT ENOUGH & those that were there were sagging or broken & very uncomfortable - if you didn't get one you could lie on the grass, which had numerous bare patches - I know I could buy a lilo but Sorry, in a 4 star hotel, why should I??.. gave up after 4 days & just went to beach instead.. OVERALL IMPRESSION - I always try to be fair & constructive - I know the star system is not a true reflection of standards now as its a tick box exercise (IE - if you have pool / air con / 24 reception etc ) you get a star for each BUT the tatty state of the sunloungers was unacceptable..They really should replace all for next season with more & better quality too.. Would I stay here again? - The area yes - the hotel - probably not!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denby Dale, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

arrived here 1st sept 2013, not a great star, nobody at the 24 hour reception, finally checked in, room was not clean, someone elses dirt in the bathroom, the lock for balcony was on the table, so it did not close and we could not lock it, the shower was broken and taped to the wall, it did work but not properly, cracked tiles and no chairs on the balcony, hole in the wall with wires sticking out, reported this to reception and he looked he was not interested, so next day still not fixed, went back to reception who said the handy man was sick, asked to move but she said there were no rooms left, phoned hol company , mostly because staff were so rude and just did not care, then finally fixed everything, food was ok and looked nice but not much choice, snacks are available from 3.30 to 5pm and they are ok, we were AI but not worth it as drinks and food in the area are cheap and the food and drinks were not worth AI, the hotels boast air con in all areas but this is not so, they have it but it is not working, there is a nice seating area outside the bar but small , you have to boil in the bar and restaurant as no air con, the bar staff made up for the other staff as they were great and helpful, the pool is nice but sunbeds not great , air con worked in the room , would rate as 2 star, so if you can get it cheep you may be ok, near to old town and taxis are cheap, weather was great and overall this was the main thing,

Room Tip: ask bar staff for information,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Before we went the reviews were not good, moaning minies made us anxious. When we arrived the hotel was smallish but the room was large and clean. The sun beds are a bit knackered but loads of lilos left about we went for two weeks so went to large supermarket at end of the road and bought a new one for 4 euros. The food was tasty and different fish and meat dishes we only eat out a few times didn't see point when food tasty, every one we met and ate with said the food was lovely what are people complaint about. The staff were lovely, yes sometimes you had to wait a few mins at bar but you could have as many drinks as you wanted (baileys peach snaps). The reception were very helpfull when we asked queries. Hotel right in middle of old and new. In supermarket free cash machine and exchange place. Beer 2.50 3 euros. We hired a moped for seven days 110 euros and went all over also done boat trip, do the one with BBQ. Macdonalds and Kentucky opposite, Pizza Hut in supermarket in food hall. Chemist next to McDonald's.
you lock the door with your key!!!! I liked the fact there was only one bar and pool got to know lots of lovely people who made the holiday even better, thoroughly enjoyed it, not four star maybe three. Good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights at the end of August. We stayed in the Paraiso last year and liked the location. However it was expensive this year and knew this one was next door.

Rooms, were clean and really big for a studio (bigger than paraiso) Balconies were large as well, although I don't think any of them have sun.

We were thinking about doing the all inclusive option for the 3 days for 20 euro, but we went down and looked at the food 1st. 2 meats or fish rice, veg and chips each day. Didn't look overly appealing. We had breakfast the morning we left as it was convenient. Was ok but expensive. The supermarket is amazing for beer, wine breakfast stuff. So we did that and eat out every night. The old town has some amazing places to eat.

Try the clay oven Indian towards the strip, we went last year and again this year. Great Indian good and there were people waiting on tables.

Only moan I have is that the sunbeds need replaced. They are so worn and uncomfortable... buy a lilo to go on top!

It was also at least 35 degrees each day!

Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed at Varandas De Albufeira for a week in September 2013, and overall we were not impressed by this hotel. We stayed in a self-catering studio but had the breakfast on our first morning, which we felt was overpriced at 12 euro 50 for both of us, and really not that great, and from what we heard form other guests at the poolside who had opted for all-inclusive, they regretted their decision and moaned about the quality and choice of food on offer. Our studio room looked ok & all the kitchen facilities worked, but you are not provided with many cooking utensils etc - no frying pan or sharp knife for cutting, which was really annoying. Also the air con didn't work on the first day and we had to ask them to fix it, as well as telling them about a bad smell of drains in our room. The beds were not comfortable at all and one mattress kept sliding off the bed, and the water pressure in the shower was pretty low. The thing which most concerned us was the lack of proper cleaning of our room - the 'cleaner' came everyday but all they did was make our beds, and our towels wern't changed for the first 5 days and we had to ask reception to make sure we got a clean set! The floor was not swept/cleaned nor a sweeping brush or hoover provided and this is a bit of an issue in self-catering accommodation when cooking everyday! We also had suspicions that our bedding had been slept in before since we found a couple of hairs in the bed that wern't ours!!! But it never got changed. The locks on the room doors are also a nightmare - really difficult to lock & should have been replaced with a card swipe system years ago! The swimming pool is a lot smaller than some of the hotel pictures make out, and the last couple of days my girlfriend got a rash on her legs and we think it might have been caused by the water in the freshwater pool not having been cleaned (we could see debris floating on it the last 2 days of our stay). Another thing(!), the reception staff were rarely at the reception desk. The hotel says 24 hour reception but every night we came back to the hotel past 10.30/11pm there was no one there, and also sometimes in the middle of the day. There were no staff around to help in the restaurant at breakfast time either.

Basically, this hotel is definitely a TWO STAR hotel, NOT a four star. Ok if your looking for somewhere cheap to stay in a good location a short walk from the main beach and the old town and also the new town in the other direction, if you want to sort all your own food (there's a really great supermarket 2mins away which is huge and full of fantastic fresh fish, meat and fruit & veg), and you are ultra chilled about clenliness!!! But we certainly won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Lets be clear from the start ! This is at best a 3star hotel.It may have the requirement of a 4 star. However it is not ....

It's nearer the old town then the strip. Near a large supermarket and a few places to eat.
They clean the only 3times a week and change the towels as well. Pool loungers have seen better days as the some of the room locks.

Also Evening reception staff wld like everyone to ask question to the Day staff as they can't be bothered !



Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Varandas de Albufeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varandas de Albufeira

Address: Rua do Indico, Lote 14, Cerro de Alagoa, Albufeira 8200-139, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Varandas de Albufeira 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Varandas de Albufeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Varandas De Albufeira Hotel Albufeira
Varandas De Hotel Albufeira
Albufeira Varandas De Hotel
Varandas De Albufeira Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Varandas de Albufeira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.