We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Four Star” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Varandas de Albufeira

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Varandas de Albufeira to your Saves list
Varandas de Albufeira
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Indico, Lote 14, Cerro de Alagoa, Albufeira 8200-139, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Not a Four Star”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have just returned from a weekend at this hotel which was booked as a suprise by my husband and a surpirse it definately was!!! This is meant to be a four star hotel would should be rated as a 2 star maybe 3 at a push. We went all inclusive (which i have done many times and in lower star rated hotels than this) the food was awful and re-used from one meal to the next. It would be carrots for lunch again for tea and then carrot soup the day after same with the peas and most of the veg, The rice on our third day wasn't even cooked and the fruit full of mould. The dining area roof was leaking and the marble floor constantly under inches of water - nobody even attempted to clear it up. To top that off you then had to scrap your plate into a clear tub in the middle of the restaurant so while you were sat eating your meal you could see everybody else leftovers. The bathroom was mouldy, air vents missing so exposed brick work, a gym with no equipment and a sauna with exposed wiring. All in all not a four star

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    111
    109
    66
    53
See reviews for
50
186
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just don't go to this hotel i have just returned food absolutely terrible my room was very dated and basic ,bathroom was very dirty and mouldy and broken shower and taps running all day and night every time it rained the basement flooded where all the meals are served , no staff they would put food out then run for the hills,

Room Tip: just stay away from this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedale, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

my husband and i have just returned fron a weeks stay at varandas (15th-22nd october), after reading some of the other reviews on trip adviser we were a little nervous beforehand to say the least!, however we were plesantly suprised to find we had a nice spacious and clean room, the only drawback was that it was over the entrance so didnt get any sun. we were self catering so not sure what the food is like in the hotel, the kitchenette had all appliances you need.The beds were comfortable and despite our room being over the entrance to the hotel we slept well. All the staff we encountered were extremly friendly and helpful. there is a pool at the back of the hotel, not the biggest area for sunbathing there, but the beach is only a 10 minute walk away down the hill, there is a large supermarket at the end of the street, not overpriced. we spent alot of our time when not on the beach (the weather wasnt great!) in the old town at the bottom of the hill, where there are lots of nice bars, resturants and shops.One of the nicest bars we went to was called The Geordie Viking, owned by Carols and his wife Patricia, its only a small bar but very friendly. All in all we would definatly stay at varandas again if we went back to Albufeira

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Had 6 night stay in oct faultless staff were great receptionist very helpful always smiling :-) room was clean and tidy bar area comfortable would recommend varandas to anyone roll on march we,ll be back !!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

for 1 there is no staff food is disgusting and cold stayed there for 1 week never had the bed linen changed once the hotel needs a good clean 4 stars there having a laugh the only stars i seen were in the sky wouldn't advise any 1 to go there so disappointed with the whole holiday

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunfermline
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

just returned from a week at the varandas and wont ever be back . a distinct lack of cleanliness very sparce staffing look warm food and the pictures on the web look like the hotel across the street. not enough sun beds for the number of guests outside bins near the pool overflowing and beds that are only fit for kids having a one night sleepover.
Suitable only for stag or hen parties.
Pity really as Albufeira is a lovely place.

not recommended at all.

Room Tip: dont go to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

ive just returned from this hotel on 14th oct, only went 4 3days (thank god) i went with my 15 year son and 3 year old grandson on a last min deal and ive been 2 a lot of all inclusive and normally dont take any notice of these reviews cause u cant please every1 but this hotel is a disgrace and deff not a 4 star hotel the food was terrible only about 3 diff dishes 2 choose from so u think well they is always salads and pastas 2 have but no they wasnt. all drinks r out of 2litre bottles so flat and warm and u have 2 take your own dishes from table when finished and scrape waste in a container and cultery in another container and plates 2gether so they never had 2 have any staff working it was do it yourself. when we got 2 room at 1pm on our 1st day the toilet was broke and i complained 5 times in that day 2 be told i had 2 wait till next day so had 2 use public toilets ! also 1 of patio doors was broken and would not lock. the pool was really dirty and the steps going down 2 pool were broken and missing so you could very easy rip your foot open. i have now read all these reviews and belive me u cant please everybody but im not stuck up or a prude but this hotel is bad in everyway and will spoil your holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Varandas de Albufeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varandas de Albufeira

Address: Rua do Indico, Lote 14, Cerro de Alagoa, Albufeira 8200-139, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Varandas de Albufeira 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Varandas de Albufeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Varandas De Albufeira Hotel Albufeira
Varandas De Hotel Albufeira
Albufeira Varandas De Hotel
Varandas De Albufeira Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Varandas de Albufeira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.