We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in Algarve” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clube Praia da Oura

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Clube Praia da Oura to your Saves list
Clube Praia da Oura
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia da Oura Apartado 827, Albufeira 8201, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Grangemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“First time in Algarve”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Flew to Faro with Jet2,couldn't fault them either flight out or return. Got to complex early evening, there were no fluent english speaking staff at reception, and this caused minor problems, also during our stay they did not seem to be really worried whether they helped you or not. Waiting staff were generally ok, cleaning staff were the best. Our cleaner was Ukrainian and spoke better english than those on reception!! The major problem at this complex is no air conditioning in the rooms at all. The excellent weather made up for any disappointments with the complex, which is trying to be 5 star but only reaching 3 stars. Would go back to the Algarve, just would not stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to share your opinion about your recent stay at our hotel.
We truly value the opinion of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission.

With a view to improving accommodation quality we are upgrading a number of rooms.

We hope that you will visit us soon and give us the opportunity to once again serve you in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    531
    239
    111
    89
See reviews for
356
660
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Just returned from a second stay at this hotel. This time stayed in small studio apartment with great sea views. At point of online booking we're offered 'room upgrade subject to availability' but on arrival we were told an upgrade was not possible despite the hotel only appearing half full. Had a nice stay overall, despite extensive building work and day-long drilling going on throughout the hotel complex. Would have expected building disruption to have been flagged at time of booking, or at least acknowledged during our stay (which it wasn't). Also disappointed at the hotel management's lack of interest in helping us to keep our apartment clean. We did not expect much, just the waste to be collected regularly but, despite a call to reception to request that our overflowing bin be emptied after a cleaner had not been around for 3 days, we saw no more of the cleaner for the remaining two days of our stay and had to dispose of our rubbish ourselves. In summary, nice holiday in great location, but let down by poor customer service.

Room Tip: Don't believe online booking info it if it promises 'room upgrade subject to availability...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay .

It is our aim to offer our guests an entirely satisfactory service at CPO. We have addressed the cleanliness issue, and spoken with the housekeeping department.

We truly apologize for the inconvenience you had due to works on site. All efforts are being made to minimize disruption to client’s holiday.

We appreciate your valuable support and trust you will be delighted with the new standard of apartments we will be offering you shortly. We wish to welcome you back in the new future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

HI i booked a holiday for myself & a disabled lady that i care for. When booking the holiday the hotel was informed the lady was disabled & as me being her carer i would need to be allocated a room next to her. When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by a very rude member of staff who then informed us that the hotel has gone bust & we needed to pay again & to claim it back on our insurance. I was horrified & all the member of staff could say was he could do nothing & i must pay. I then quickly rang my travel agent who said they had payed again 3 days prior to me arriving & that the hotel was trying to pull a fast one on people. Eventually we were told we could have our rooms, i was given the keys then sent on our way, no directions to where our rooms was, no help with our bags. After finding the apartment through the maze of thousands of rooms we find steps going up to our floor!!! unbelievable they could see i was with a lady with limited mobility. But that was nothing compared to the noise we woke up to the next day drilling, banging from 8am till 7pm everyday. The hole room was shaking it was horrific, they where using big drills pulling down the walls of all the apartments around us. The lady i took away has a acquired brain injury & any loud noise is unbearable to her, even i had headaches from the noise.I asked for us to be moved but i was told there was nothing except for one room available which still had building work being done above but nothing to the extent of the rest of the hotel. I moved my lady down to that room but this would mean i was 5 floors away from her. I was left up in the building site with everyday the noise getting worse with them starting on more rooms, with me running up & down to make sure she was ok. It was a disaster holiday but it could of been so lovely the position of the hotel was perfect, a gorgeous beach on our door step.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking out your valuable time to write a comment regarding your stay with us.

We truly apologize for the inconvenience you experienced, due to the noise from the building on site and the distance between your apartment and the one allocated to the disabled lady.
All efforts are being made to minimize disruption to clients’ holiday enjoyment.

We appreciate your valuable support and trust your will be delighted with the new standard of apartments we will be offering you shortly. We wish to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, England
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Currently sat at the Beach cafe writing this review which is a 2 minute stroll from our apartment. We are staying in room 447 which is at the side of the hotel. You get the sun until 2pm each day so we then move down to the beach cafe which is lovely. The view of the beach from,our apartment is amazing.
The rooms are spotless and the building work has not disrupted our holiday at all. It does seems slightly noisier around he main pool area so,if you are coming out shortly, pay extra for the sea view.
Make an effort to go to the Sizzling Stone restaurant, great food & great service.
Can't wait to come back when all the renovations are completed. Well do CPO!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your wonderful review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is our aim to offer our guests satisfactory service at Clube Praia da Oura and apologize for any inconvenience due to the works on site.

All efforts are being made to minimize disruption to clients’ holiday enjoyment.

We appreciate your valuable support and trust you will be delighted with the new standard of apartments we will be offering you shortly. We wish to welcome you welcome you back soon in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We have just returned back from CPO after booking a very cheap 'Easyjet' holiday from our local airport as a short break away to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary. Firstly it really was an 'easy' holiday, we had no delays to or from our destinations, and even arrived back in Bristol half an hour earlier than scheduled. Secondly, on reading the reviews about how bad the building works were, we were a little anxious to say the least about our stay. On booking we requested that our studio room have a fantastic seaview, and it really did - we were in studio 674, with a view down to the beach with the very nice, independant ''Beach Cafe' on. Yes the studio was a little dated, but it was kept lovely and clean, and all the building works are happening before high season to transform this gem of a place into something really special - something that is clearly a fact of life. As it transpired, apart from the odd bit of banging on our side of the hotel (it looks like the rooms below us were gutted prior to our stay and they were focusing on other areas at that stage), it was not that bad at all. My husband and I agreed had we been in the rooms around the section nearer to the main pool, our time there may well have been a whole different experience, but thankfully it was absolutely fine - however it did stop me from using the pool area, which was a shame, but no real hardship. However before I say that the side of the hotel we're on is all ok, they will be clearly moving back into extensive building works on the side we were on at some point for fitting the gutted rooms out and going to work on the rooms that were occupied by the likes of us. The studio itself, was large enough for us two, with a fold out bed that we made up into a double and the maid kept it like that for us whilst we were there. the kitchen is very well fitted out, with everything you need. We did not actually eat in the hotel itself, so cannot comment on the food there however I did see people eating out on the piano bar terrace and it did look really good and looking at the enjoyment on their faces, it clearly was. The resort itself is not too busy this time of year, and there are some great places to eat and spend an evening. I can recommend the 'Wild & Co' steakhouse & bar which is about 5 minutes walk up the hill and to the left at the bottom of the strip. We went there for our anniversary meal, and although pricey, we had a lovely meal there, followed by a great evening in the 'American' themed bar downstairs with an excellent live rock band. The beaches at the front of the resort are beautiful and we went down and sat on the rocks drinking champagne with the waves crashing around us, it was divine, very romantic and the weather was just lovely. We were really satisfied with our stay at CPO, and for a short haul, short break to a nice hotel in a lively resort it ticks all the boxes. However if you are the types who just want to sit around a pool or sunbathe on your balcony rather than explore, then maybe it is best to leave your visit for a few months, at least until the works are over. I am sure once it is all done and looking at the pictures of the new style rooms, it will be absolutely fabulous as the reception and bar areas, are done to a very clean, cool, contemporary style.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Clube Praia da Oura for your short anniversary break . We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests satisfaction is our main priority.

We truly apologize for the inconvenience you had due to the noise from work on site. All efforts are being made to minimize disruption to clients’ holiday enjoyment.

We appreciate your valuable support and trust you will be delighted with the new standard of apartments we will be offering you shortly.

It was a pleasure to have you our guest and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
________________________________________
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed for a week in April 2012. We were greeted by the staff and advised of where our room was, the room was clean and due to the building work we received a free bottle of red wine which was nice. Personally I couldn't fault the room or service etc, but the problem for me was all of the noise. It might have been because I was 24 weeks pregnant at the time but a mix of the drilling, rain dripping in the quad outside, drunk people coming in and a loudly humming fridge meant I didn't get much sleep. The way the place is laid out means it's quite echoey and we were also situated near to a bar out on the street.

If you're looking for somewhere to stay when you're sober and to relax, I wouldn't advise it. If you're looking for somewhere to drunkenly stagger in and sleep, then it's a good place to stay.

The location is fantastic, just by a beautiful beach and the local bars and restaurants are cheap. I recommend the all you can eat Chinese nearby and the small bar with free wifi across the road! :)

Room Tip: Avoid rooms close to the local bars!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to comment on your recent stay and your honest feedback.

It is our aim to offer our guests an entirely satisfactory service at CPO. We truly apologize for the inconvenience you had due to the noise from works on site.

With a view to improving accommodation quality and portfolio offerings we are upgrading a number of rooms.

All efforts are being made to minimize disruption to clients’ holiday enjoyment.

We appreciate your valuable support and trust your will be delighted with the new standard of apartments we will be offering you shortly. We wish to welcome you back soon in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

stayed in room 007 which never got any sun all day, and had to have the heaters on all day, however the room itself was excellent, the facilities brilliant, everything you needed, and a lot more you did,nt, there is still building work going on, but it was too disruptive. the place itself is in a fantastic location, with just a short stroll to the beach and just 5 mins from the strip. I would say ignore the bad reviews and go with with an open mind. I would go back like a shot, I enjoyed it that much.

Room Tip: overlooking the bowling green would probably be the best position
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Clube Praia da Oura for your recent stay in Algarve. We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests satisfaction is our main priority.

We are indeed improving accommodation quality and upgrading a number of rooms and all efforts are being made to minimize disruption to clients’ holiday enjoyment. We are glad this work was not an inconvenience to you.

We appreciate your valuable support and trust you will be delighted with the new standard of apartments we will be offering you shortly.

It was a pleasure to have you our guest and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
________________________________________
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clube Praia da Oura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clube Praia da Oura

Address: Praia da Oura Apartado 827, Albufeira 8201, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clube Praia da Oura 3*
Number of rooms: 564
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This extensive resort is located in Praia da Oura in Albufeira and features 2 renovated outdoor swimming pools, tropical gardens and a bowling green. It offers direct access to Praia da Oura beach, less than 200 meters away.The property is a great family destination but also perfect for couples or groups looking for an entertaining and lively beach holiday.All apartments at the Clube Praia da Oura have a private furnished balcony which have views over either the Atlantic Ocean, swimming pools & gardens or the resort.The apartments feature a fully equipped kitchenette, en suite bathroom with hairdryer and a seating and dining area with satellite TV.With a 24-hour completely renovated reception and lobby bar/café, the multilingual reception staff can book tours, airport transfers and the hotel shuttle service to the centre of Albufeira. There is also a Golf desk available where all golf courses in the Algarve can be booked.Jac’s Restaurant serves an à la carte menu of a variety of international and national dishes. Guests can relax and have a drink at our Ocean Bar with views over the ocean or Bowling Green or enjoy the Pool bar. There is a daily entertainment program available and evening entertainment options include theme nights, live music and karaoke.Guests can enjoy a variety of different dining options at our restaurants in our sister resorts, a 5 minutes’ walk away.The main entertainment area of Albufeira is a 5 minute walk away.Clube Praia da Oura is 40 minutes’ drive from Faro Airport and just over 3 km from the old town centre of Albufeira. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clube Praia da Oura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clube Praia Da Oura Hotel Albufeira
Clube Praia Da Oura Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve
Oura Albufeira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clube Praia da Oura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.