We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location - have been returning here for 17 years” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clube Praia da Oura

Save Saved
You added Clube Praia da Oura to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clube Praia da Oura
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia da Oura Apartado 827, Albufeira 8201, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 162 hotels in Albufeira
South Wales
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous location - have been returning here for 17 years”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

CPO has one of the nicest locations in the Algarve. We have been returning here since 1977 and we will continue to return. The resort maintenance is first class with gardening, painting etc continually taking place. The maids and service staff are so friendly and polite its a pleasure to greet them every day as they pass through. Not so with some of the newer bar staff who have arrived since the new management took over. many of the smiling faces we have recognised have left which is a great shame.
Yes, some of the apartments are now looking a little tired but I understand that a refurbishment program starting at the beach end commences this winter.
There are new owners at this resort and they have already spend much money in refurbishing the reception and swimming pool.
The WiFi to each apartment is a joke. I paid 40euros for 2 weeks worth and after the first 5 days I had been able to use it only for about 2 hours, despite complaining on at least 8 occasions that it was not available. Eventually the cost of the WiFi was deducted from my bill, so thank you for that.
The lack of bowling green this October was a disappointment. Although we don't play ourselves, we love to sit with a cold beer and watch the games. I really think the new management need to have a rethink about this facility. It was so sad to see the green lying idle.
Also, the outdoor Jacuzzis are no longer there. Again, another backward step. Replacing the Jacuzzis by the sauna hut was a massage tent which I would have loved to have used for a back and neck massage, but the price was horrendous - 4 -5 times dearer than back in the UK...again, they need to look at this.
It might sound like a lot of complaints but this really is a beautiful place to stay and we will hopefully be returning here for many years to come.

Room Tip: F block apartments are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your stay with us, your review was much appreciated.
Bowling green was closed during the summer due to the high temperatures, as well for a new approach of the outdoor entertainment program for our guest, although is already opened for the next season.
Regarding outside Jacuzzis, they had to be removed due new regulations in Portugal in what concerns health and safety legislation.
As part of our continuing efforts to improve our services your comments had been passed to our management team and have been highly appreciated by our entertainment staff.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcome you again in Clube Praia da Oura.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    372
    465
    186
    77
    71
See reviews for
308
543
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Have to say I was not looking forward to my stay here as part of a group tour,as I had read the reviews on this site.
Well on arrival this changed the staff were very welcoming and the place itself was spotless.we were staying on a halfboard basis,breakfast was great from fresh fruit to custard slices dinner buffet was a bit of a let down but you could choose to eat of the al a carte menu,
The apartments are a little dated but where i was had views of the sea and only five minute walk away,the area itself and apartments would not be suitable for anyone with walking diffucilties as there are steps everywhere,
As the complex is so so big I dont think I would like to stay in the height of the season but i would recommend for october when i was there.

Room Tip: room with sea view are views of the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear customer,
Thank you for your positive comments, we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your comments regarding breakfast and dinner at our restaurant, will be relayed to our F&B manager. It encourages us to improve and strive for the best service to all our guests.
Refurbishment is an ongoing process that already has been started and some apartments are really in need. We really hope to have the chance to receive you on your next holidays in one of our refurbished apartments. We are confident that on your next visit you would find the Resort to your satisfaction and would have an enjoyable and memorable stay.
Our Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed at the CPO for one week from October 5th we were blessed with brilliant sunshine and the apartment was very convenient to reach all bars and restaurants within the local area the food in Jacques restaurant was excellent and nothing was to much trouble to the staff waiting on. The apartment is in need of TLC but overall suited our requirements.
Just one problem on our return to journey to the airport our airport transfers were booked with the hotel and they used yellowfish transfers but they did not come and pick us up at the time requested and only after consultation with the resort receptionist they arrived 45minutes late and attempted to collect additional passengers at another hotel who were not ready this delay only gave us a less then 1 hour from arriving at the airport to going on the plane this is not acceptable when you are disabled and elderly

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear guest
It has been a pleasure having you as our guest, many thanks for your review and for spending these holidays with us. Your comments regarding our services and especially for Jac´s food and services were forwarded and highly appreciated. We regret to realize that the transfer service was not up to standards and we will forward your comments for consideration.
I sincerely hope to see you again on your next visit to Albufeira and have the opportunity to toast with the usual quality of services which we are very proud to offer our guests at Clube Praia da Oura.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed at C.P.O with the family for 1 week during the summerholiday (stayed in Portimao the week before, and we were happy with both places). It was such a nice stay that I had to recommend it for my friends when searching for a place to go with our group of friends. Although there were a lot of families, and most groups of young people stayed at appartaments and such, this was an excellent place to stay at both occations. If you need an alternative to the at times crowded and noisy beach, you have some beautiful gardens to lay and relax.

The nice thing about this resort is the proximity to both the town-center (5 minutes away by car/taxi) and a 5 minute walk from "The Strip" a long street full of bars, restaurants and discos (you won't be bothered by noise or drunk people, the resort is quiet at night).

The restaurant at the hotel is really nice, the breakfastbuffet alone is something to look forward to, and the "Steak-night" the hotel arranges once a week (? at least in the summer) is definitly worth the money.

The rooms I stayed in both times (one doubleroom with an extra bed) and one two stories appartament where both clean, full of light and nicely decorated, with clean bathrooms and kitchens with all the necessities you need to cook in your own place.

Very happy with my choice, will be back for sure!

Room Tip: Rooms that don't get the sun in every morning is to recommend, as it can get really hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your enthusiastic review. Your comments and praises about restaurant staff and services are most appreciated and were sent to our F&B manager as It encourages us to improve and strive for the best service to all our guests. Customer satisfaction is very important to us and we are pleased that you were happy with the customer service you received. We look forward to welcoming you back to Clube Praia da Oura on your next visit to Albufeira.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

The hotel in located in a central location, however if you struggle with steps n hills it's hard going. The hotel staff are a mixed bunch, the cleaning staff especially lucia - sorry if that's not correct spelling (8th floor) who is fantastic nothing is too much trouble for her,however the restaurant staff have varied from fantastic and absolute rubbish the man who hugs the till in the restaurant is too busy messing with other staff instead of giving the paying customer his full attention and he's is really rude! sometimes older people don't just quite get it so explain it more! The hotel is clean, centrally located with fantastic view of the bay, I would go back tomorrow but not have the half board offer as it's confusing and I believe in my own opinion not good value for money, however it's early days yet so it can only get better. The hotel has a new owner who seems to be sorting out previous issues. Don't write this hotel off as it's lovely and I would return tomorrow. The top floor is the place to stay as you get sun all day and it's quite so you do not get other guest walking passed your room at all hours. The only negative point is the constant dog barking from the residential area next to the hotel which the resort seems unable to sort out, it can be during the day or at 4.00am in the morning it doesn't matter as their response is they will call the police - fat lot they will do about it, however if you can filter this out - which can be hard- it's a lovely place to stay which seems to cater for all ages. It has entertainment each night which tries to cater to everyone both young and old. I think that perhaps that the internet access is limited to the reception area is a mistake as it makes this area a bit noisy with people talking and messaging family, when providing this service to each Room,would free up this area and keep this area computer free! However, this is my own opinion and it's all about our own choice, so try and see for your self. It's a safe family fun place that is trying to cater for everyone!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review, your praises about our staff was most appreciated. Customer satisfaction is very important to us, so your comments about the restaurant were forwarded to our F&B manager to consideration. We are pleased that you were happy with your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again to Clube Praia da Oura on your next visit to Albufeira.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Nice hotel with great location, good hotel restaurants, average service. The room was simply horrible, with a constant sour smell, extremely uncomfortable single camp beds and very tired overall look.
The balconies are somewhat like a small town motel, with everybody circulating in front of our room while taking a peek.
There was absolutely no Air conditioning, as it was hot & stuffy days & nights even with fans blowing. The kitchenette was very basic, without even a single grain of salt, pepper or sugar. There is no coffee machine, not even a Mellita filter cup. There is no daily maid service (3 times a week).
Forget about Wifi internet access ($$) as it is slower that a dialup hookup.

2 Chairs and an umbrella is 12 Euro, each beach towel is a 10 Euros deposit and they give you back 5 euros when you return them. The towels are so small, tired and thin, that it may be suitable for a small children. I honestly do not think the towels even worth 5 euros.

Free parking is next to impossible to get, and you will wind up paying 15 euros per day to park your car.

Not recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. Saddened to know you were not pleased with your room during your stay. Your comments have been taken onboard as part of our continuing efforts to improve the service to our guests. We are a resort, so we don´t have daily maid services as normally happens in a hotel service. We are constantly renovating apartments and really hope to welcome you to a refurbished apartment on your next visit.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Have been going to cpo for many years and the attraction for us was the bowling green. Over the years we have made many friends at the green and the ocean bar a lot of whom are like us, returning guests. This year however due to new management the green was turned into a party area with seating and music, but we were told that it would be operational by the time we were going over. Sadly when we got there this was not the case. The seats and disco unit was still on the green but were covered up and not being used but the management have decided that they are not going to open the green back up either. They don't seem to care that a lot of retired people go over year after year to play in the winter competitions and league and that they have either already arrived or have flights and accommodation booked for the winter months but now have no bowling green to play on! There was no advance warning of this and the bowling green is still being advertised on their website. During our 10 day stay we say only a handful of people sitting at the ocean bar having a drink as the green was closed. Usually at this time of year there are loads of people playing bowls daily and many others sitting on the terrace watching and enjoying the play. I cannot understand why the management would want to turn all these paying customers away and lose the income from the bowling fees and the bar? They are also driving away many long term frequent visitors to the area over the winter months when I would have they would have been welcoming them. Shame on you. Without the bowling green we and many others will not be back!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear guest, many thanks for your review, your comments are most appreciated. This year the new management tried a new approach for entertainment in the bowling green, especially due to the high temperatures that were felt during this summer. Your opinion will be taken into account and your comments regarding customer services were forwarded so they can reply. We really hope to welcoming you back to our resort soon and to toast with the usual quality of services which we are very proud to offer our guests at Clube Praia da Oura.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clube Praia da Oura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clube Praia da Oura

Address: Praia da Oura Apartado 827, Albufeira 8201, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clube Praia da Oura 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This extensive resort is located in Praia da Oura in Albufeira and features 2 renovated outdoor swimming pools, tropical gardens and a bowling green. It offers direct access to Praia da Oura beach, less than 200 meters away.The property is a great family destination but also perfect for couples or groups looking for an entertaining and lively beach holiday.All apartments at the Clube Praia da Oura have a private furnished balcony which have views over either the Atlantic Ocean, swimming pools & gardens or the resort.The apartments feature a fully equipped kitchenette, en suite bathroom with hairdryer and a seating and dining area with satellite TV.With a 24-hour completely renovated reception and lobby bar/café, the multilingual reception staff can book tours, airport transfers and the hotel shuttle service to the centre of Albufeira. There is also a Golf desk available where all golf courses in the Algarve can be booked.Jac’s Restaurant serves an à la carte menu of a variety of international and national dishes. Guests can relax and have a drink at our Ocean Bar with views over the ocean or Bowling Green or enjoy the Pool bar. There is a daily entertainment program available and evening entertainment options include theme nights, live music and karaoke.Guests can enjoy a variety of different dining options at our restaurants in our sister resorts, a 5 minutes’ walk away.The main entertainment area of Albufeira is a 5 minute walk away.Clube Praia da Oura is 40 minutes’ drive from Faro Airport and just over 3 km from the old town centre of Albufeira. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Clube Praia da Oura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clube Praia Da Oura Hotel Albufeira
Clube Praia Da Oura Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve
Oura Albufeira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clube Praia da Oura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.