We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth the gamble...for us” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clube Praia da Oura

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Clube Praia da Oura to your Saves list
Clube Praia da Oura
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia da Oura Apartado 827, Albufeira 8201, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“worth the gamble...for us”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2008

My husband and I booked a cheap last-minute package holiday from the UK for one week (140 pounds each, incl. flights) with the thought that if "CPO," as it is called, was a real dump then we were barely out more than the cost of the flight. I checked the reviews here and thought we might be pleasantly surprised--we were. But we got lucky, with a larger-than-usual seaview room.

I worried about the hotel being full of boozy Brits seeking sun and a cheap party. While that might have gone on at "the strip," I didn't see anything like that on the premises. ( As for the strip, think neon lights pointing to places called "Senor Frog's" and "Ye Olde English Chippy") NOTE: currently construction that involves tearing out tiles is going on in the seaview block; be wary of this if you want to be in a quiet apartment between 9 AM and 6 PM. That said, the rooms need a little refurbishment (especially the bath, which sported mildew and a tub that needed to be re-reglazed). *Don't stay here if you want everything to be new and shiny.* The kitchen was very well appointed, the towels fresh and plentiful, and the cleaning staff was careful. The CPO staff cater to families and older couples, and there were lots of quiet corners to sunbathe while viewing the sea. The beaches are great for walking too. We rented a car and drove from Faro; once in Albufeira we drove around to the different towns and beaches in the western Algarve. For us, the CPO was fine--HOWEVER, it is a big, big place with a lot of different buildings; if we had been stuck in a tiny little room above the bar I think you'd be reading a very different story. My verdict: worth the gamble, but if you're particular then be prepared to cash in and find another hotel. At the reception desk I saw several unhappy customers who weren't able to change rooms.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    531
    239
    111
    89
See reviews for
357
662
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2008

I stayed here on three different occasions. So you have already guessed I loved it! On the third occasion I stayed it rained quite alot so it kind of put a dampner on the holiday. Although I still really enjoyed it. I have stayed on the sme block over looking the pool on all three occasions and it has an excellent view. Its especially nice when the sun is shining and the pool is full! When i visited for the third time I did realise that the complex had got a bit run down. The walls were very dirty outside. however this could have been caused by the lovely flowers. We only ever had a promblem with our apartment on the first and third stay but we really didnt mind however we did need to get maintenance up. The first time the toilet clogged three times but they were very qucik to unblock it and on the third occasion which was quite alarming was that our door would not lock. We only noticed this on the third night so we may ahve spent three nights with an unlocked door. We really liked this hotel but again we had a promblem with the people trying to sell the apartments they asked to come into our apartment whilst my granny was there and she said yes without our knowledge and the sales people let the customers walk through our apartment. As our granny is old she said yes as we were away shopping for the day. We were reall annoyed and went to complain but the management were not too helpful. We dread to think of what could have happended if they turned on our granny. Overall an ok holiday on the third occasion but the first two holidays were great!

  • Liked — I liked alot
  • Disliked — the time share people... and the amount of steps
  • Stayed May 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2008

We stayed here for 2 weeks. The 2 bed-roomed apartment was huge so plenty of space for 2 adults and 2 kids. The balcony was massive and had wonderful views over the pool and beyond to the sea. Apartment was clean when we arrived and cleaned a few times at odd intervals during the week as well with a change of bedding etc provided for free. 2 pools were okay but could get busy around noon with a sun-lounger hard to get. I did see a member of staff removing towels from unoccupied sun-loungers that had been "reserved" but not from the loungers that were obviously being used by people who were in the pool. Kiddie pool was unusual with a bridge going over it with 4 tunnels under it. Kids loved this but unfortunately you can't see both sides of the pool at once. No lifeguards at any time whilst we were there. Direct access to 2 beaches, if the first beach is too crowded for you turn left and keep walking until it's as quite as you like it, the further you walk the quieter it gets. Restaurant was okay, noting special. Entertainment twice a week at the restaurant was good. Jackie's bar had a regular selection of entertainment to choose from. Kids really liked the kiddie disco with occasional face painting / balloon making etc. Bowls was an unusual activity to try and the family had a good laugh. If you go when they are quite they don't mind how bad you are.

Mini supermarket selling the basics (including cheap local wine which is highly recommended) is round the back. If you can't face the walk up the hill into town take the lift (NE corner of complex) and go to top floor, from here it is a flat walk into town. "The strip" is about 10 -15 min easy walk but there are many other bars / restaurants / shops a mere 5 mins. walk. A mini road train leaves from the top of "the strip" and takes you down to old Albufeira which is worth a visit. Further afield there are plenty of family friendly things to do.

  • Liked — Massive balcony (not all apartments had them this big)
  • Disliked — Lumpy settee in living room
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2007

Good Points

Apartment was spotlessly clean, comfortable and well fitted out. Also staff were very friendly, courteous and helpful. Local small convenience store nearby. Expensive but the shop was open 7 days/week until about 7:00pm. Handy if you arrive late afternoon or early evening.

Many flats have been refurbished so always ask for this when booking.

Site located only a few hundred yards from a lovely sandy beach and very handy for those who like to chill out on a lounger without having to travel very far.

Local public transport very good. Convenient, regular and economical so not much need to consider car hire unless wanting to visit places inland ' off the beaten track'. Local taxis were very good and reasonably cheap also.

Bad Points

The inhouse restuarants and bars were very expensive - roughly about twice that charged by nearby bars and restuarants. Also there was a daily charge per person to use any of the on site facilities such as the swimming pool, bowling green etc. and we considered the prices levied to be rather expensive. The safe in the flat cost 29 Euros to rent , which at around £21.00 was outrageous. There was an on site launderette but again this cost 11 Euros to use which is expensive.

The place ran a regular bus service from reception to Albufera at 3 euros per person wheras the normal bus service cost only 1 Euro. Ie 2 Euros return instead of 6 Euros per person. Quite a saving if you do not mind and /or are able to walk 1000 yards from reception to the nearby bus stop.

Summary

We booked via Petchey Travel at Ilford - owners of the site - and that was a mistake. The staff were not very helpful and seemed only interested in extracting as much money as possible from us for the least amount of effort. In spite of everything we had a good holiday and we would certainly consider going back there again, However, next time we would book direct and not go through the Ilford office.

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2007

When we booked hotel i though oh no its annother one of those cheapys from hell..yet was surprised to see such good reviews from people.

our entire time there was fabulous...it felt lyk an actually appartment..in which you lived..not just a hotel room. The view wass spectacular. And the weather was amazing for october. The strip 5 minutes away..the beach about 2 minutes...it was lovely to take a walk in the evening. Everything was great....by far the best hotel i have ever stayed...i would have lived there if they didnt chuck us out. It was like the hotel out of dirty dancing....everything you ever needed.

  • Liked — It felt just like home
  • Disliked — NOTHING AT ALL come here...its fantastic
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2007

have just returned from a weeks stay here and cant fault the place, this was our 2nd visit to this accomodation and it was just as good as the first, we stayed in a room overlooking the garden area and pool, the whole place is spotless, the maintenance men were out every morning cleaning the jacuzzi and washing down the sunbeds, gardener doing his stuff, maids there every day, havent got a bad word to say about it. The weather was gorgeous for the time of year only ahd rain (albeit thunderstorms) monday night into tuesday morning, rest of time was sunshine!!! Resort itself was a bit quiet (we went in the march last time) few places had closed for their holidays but are due to be reopening in december (obviously trade must pick up for christmas time) but still found plenty of places to eat and drink. All in all had a great time and will defo be returning.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2007

just got back from here and it was lovely the whole experince was great the entertainment were fantastic they were really good i dont think you can fault one thing with the hotel we stayed in a studio appartment 2 adults and at first i thought it would be to small but i grew to love it,it had every thing in there we didnt eat in much but it was all clean and the cleaners came every other day,every thing you need was in the hotel shops on the complex the only thing i had a problem with was that i thought the drinks at the bar was expensive,but the strip were half the price.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — the price of the drinks at bars
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clube Praia da Oura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clube Praia da Oura

Address: Praia da Oura Apartado 827, Albufeira 8201, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clube Praia da Oura 3*
Number of rooms: 564
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This extensive resort is located in Praia da Oura in Albufeira and features 2 renovated outdoor swimming pools, tropical gardens and a bowling green. It offers direct access to Praia da Oura beach, less than 200 meters away.The property is a great family destination but also perfect for couples or groups looking for an entertaining and lively beach holiday.All apartments at the Clube Praia da Oura have a private furnished balcony which have views over either the Atlantic Ocean, swimming pools & gardens or the resort.The apartments feature a fully equipped kitchenette, en suite bathroom with hairdryer and a seating and dining area with satellite TV.With a 24-hour completely renovated reception and lobby bar/café, the multilingual reception staff can book tours, airport transfers and the hotel shuttle service to the centre of Albufeira. There is also a Golf desk available where all golf courses in the Algarve can be booked.Jac’s Restaurant serves an à la carte menu of a variety of international and national dishes. Guests can relax and have a drink at our Ocean Bar with views over the ocean or Bowling Green or enjoy the Pool bar. There is a daily entertainment program available and evening entertainment options include theme nights, live music and karaoke.Guests can enjoy a variety of different dining options at our restaurants in our sister resorts, a 5 minutes’ walk away.The main entertainment area of Albufeira is a 5 minute walk away.Clube Praia da Oura is 40 minutes’ drive from Faro Airport and just over 3 km from the old town centre of Albufeira. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clube Praia da Oura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clube Praia Da Oura Hotel Albufeira
Clube Praia Da Oura Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve
Oura Albufeira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clube Praia da Oura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.