We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice all round” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sao Rafael Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sao Rafael Suites to your Saves list
Sao Rafael Suites
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sesmarias, Albufeira 8200-613, Portugal (Formerly São Rafael Suite Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice all round”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Friendly staff, very nice rooms and amenities, we loved the beach nearby and the food was excellent! Lots of children running around, so if peace and quiet is your thing then this isn't the place for you! Pity the gym wasn't available for use too.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rui V, Gerente at Sao Rafael Suites, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Nicole,

Your opinion is very important for us as well as your satisfaction.
Thank you so much for choosing São Rafael Suite hotel.
We wish you all the best and hope to welcome you again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    163
    75
    25
    23
See reviews for
168
195
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed here for two weeks in a family suit. From the start to the finish the service was excellent, the rooms were spacious and luxurious. There is a kids club which is there if you require it and you can pop in and out at your convenience, no allocated time slot. They had various activities including parrot shows and reptile shows. The age limit is 13 however i would say the maximum age should be about 10. The games room had various activities had various activities such as ping pong, pool, ps3, Xbox and more. The food on the buffet was a little repetitive, however there was always something nice to eat, there was also a very large variety and it was replenished regularly. The pool area was clean and relaxing, there were three pools babies, children and adult. Nothing was too much for these amazing hotel staff and they remained professional at all times. There is food available form 7.30am until midnight. When we were there they opened the afternoon snacks down at the pool bar with a large variety. A must see, MICHAEL JACKSON, very entertaining on a Friday evening. The spa was luxury and included a full heated pool, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi, relaxation room and various treatments. The drinks included a large variety of spirits, Red, rose and white wine, beers etc. Finally the rooms were cleaned everyday and bed linen was too! There was room service if you wanted it but that came at an extra cost. The reception sort everything from directing you to booking taxis to and from places. There was a free bus that went from the hotel to the beach and Albuferia! I would definitely recommend this hotel for families, couples and business use. And will be returning soon.

Room Tip: Try and get a pool or sea view when booking. However all rooms have good views of either the pools...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rui V, Gerente at Sao Rafael Suites, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Oliver,

Reading your review made us feel so proud and gave us a lot of satisfaction!
There are not enough words to thank you.
We wish you all the best and hope to be pleased with another visit in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We have just returned from our weeks holiday in this hotel and just had to express what a excellent place to stay. From the moment we arrived the staff were so pleasant and welcoming and could not do enough for us. The room was spacious and clean with every amenity. The food was excellent with plenty of choice and the sweets were particularly good. We ate in the a la carte restaurant one night included in our all inclusive package and this too was worth a visit as too was the poolside restaurant newly opened at night the week we stayed.
The hotel is situated in a quiet area with not much around only a supermarket and a few bars and restaurants but we didn't need anymore as the hotel provided all we wanted. There are two beaches about ten minutes walk away which are beautiful and so clean so would recommend a visit to these. The hotel also provides a courtesy bus into Albufeira which is also good to visit.
All in all we had a really enjoyable holiday and to top it all the weather was perfect!

Room Tip: Second or third floor for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rui V, Gerente at Sao Rafael Suites, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear guests,

Your satisfaction is very important for us as well as all your suggestions.
Reading your review made us proud of our work and happy to know that you have a great time!
We look forward to welcome you again.
Thank you.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPSWICH
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Just back,June24th, after spending eight days here.First of all let me say this is not 5star,however,it is a very good 4star.We were upgraded to a suite,( we booked in January) room 102 not only had an walk in wardrobe as it was on an end of a corridor it also had an extra side terrace with sun loungers as well as a balcony with chairs, the bed was the biggest we have slept in and very comfortable,sheets changed on request, towels daily and kept very clean.In fact the whole hotel all areas were very clean and tidy. The adult pool properly had 70 sun beds round it with enough umbrellas and we were lucky enough to go to the pool at 9-30 ish and found between 2 and 8 people there so plenty of choice,the kiddies pool was however busy most days but from what I thought were portugese children. All staff,reception,waiters,cleaners and bar persons were all very good with nothing being a problem.Only two moans,the first being our own for not researching beforehand was apart from a Chinese a bar across the road there was not a lot nearby so additional entertainment was an €8 euro taxi into Albufeira town.Secondly was the food, somedays selection was limited,any hot food,breakfast,lunch or dinner available in the heated silver salvers were hot but the chips,pizza tomatoes under the heated lights were always lukewarm and the absence of ice cream altogether was unusual.
We were allowed two bookable a la carte evening meals which were ok but some olives,bread and oils as a starter would have been nice as would cheese and biscuits to finish.

Room Tip: There seemed to be only two views from the hotel,front overlooking nothing or rear being poolside so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rui V, Gerente at Sao Rafael Suites, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for choosing São Rafael Suite hotel, your presence made us very proud.
We appreciate a lot your review and we will be attentive to all the details you have mentioned in order to provide a better service and feel our guests satisfaction.


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This complex is beautiful and modern, with big rooms, three lovely pools and good food/drinks. There was constantly something happening for the children we travelled with, the staff were lovely, the kids were busy having fun but were never far away and could come and go as they pleased. The only thing I didnt like was that the wifi was only in the reception but other than that cannot fault! Good for couples too as there is a deeper adults pool so less kids around if thats what you want.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rui V, Gerente at Sao Rafael Suites, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Your feedback made us feel very happy, thank you!
It was a pleasure to welcome you in São Rafael Suite Hotel and realise that you have enjoyed your stay made us very proud.
We hope to welcome you again in the near future and have the chance to provide you another good time in Algarve.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Lovely holiday , lovely staff, lovely food excellent all round . There was entertainment every nights food was absolutely delicious and varied every day . Bread, salads and puddings were too nice! Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rui V, Gerente at Sao Rafael Suites, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Joanna,

Thank you so much for the time you spent to give your opinion about our hotel.
We really appreciate your preference and we feel very happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay at São Rafael Suite hotel.
There is nothing better than have our guests satisfied, it make us so proud!
It was a pleasure to welcome you here and we hope to have the chance to do it again.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Have just returned (23.6.2014) we spent 7 nights on this wonderful hotel, we were with 6 other friends who are all of the same opinion, fantastic. We have been doing AI FOR 20+ years! this trip was the best of the lot. Staff were fantastic, friendly, happy and always extremely helpful. Food was brilliant with good, varied choices. Rooms, like the rest of the hotel very clean and spacious. Pools great for adults and kids alike. Drinks in General were excellent it's just that the beer was sometimes a little flat, mixers, spirits and soft drinks very, very good. Guess what... The entertain em was really good with different acts each night we all thoroughly enjoyed it. We will all be going back, take it from someone who has done dozens of these breaks, they don't come much better than this!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rui V, Gerente at Sao Rafael Suites, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Was a great pleasure to welcome you all in São Rafael Suite Hotel.
You feedback made us feel very happy, thank you!
The satisfaction of our guests will always be our priority and we work everyday trying to improve our services in order to exceed their expectations.
Will be a pleasure to welcome you again and we hope you have another great time.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sao Rafael Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sao Rafael Suites

Address: Sesmarias, Albufeira 8200-613, Portugal (Formerly São Rafael Suite Hotel)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#18 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#20 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#36 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sao Rafael Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sao Rafael Suites is located in central Algarve, close to the Sao Rafael beach and the popular town of Albufeira. The hotel suites offer spacious accommodation for families and couples, with separate living and sleeping areas, dining area and balcony.Five star facilities include a Relax Spa Centre, Kids Club, two large outdoor pools and a Golf Putting Green. With excellent rates, this is an affordable five star resort for the whole family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Splendia, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Sao Rafael Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cs Sao Rafael Hotel Albufeira
Sao Rafael Suites Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve
Cs Sao Rafael Suite Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sao Rafael Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.