We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel - Fantastic Country” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Do Estadio PO Box 2445, Albufeira 8200-127, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #53 of 162 hotels in Albufeira
Glasgow
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel - Fantastic Country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2008

I have just returned from a 6 day break at the Real BellaVista Hotel (booked with Globespan) and I loved it !

This was my first visit to Portugal and I really wasn't sure what to expect. I can honestly say that I would go back in a minute.

On arrival at the hotel we were greeted by very friendly and helpful reception staff. Our room was located on the 4th floor, it had a balcony, mini bar, bathrobes, fresh fruit and bottled water. The entire room including the bathroom was very clean.

The bar area was great - reasonably priced, plenty of seating and TV screens that came in handy for the start of Euro 2008. Special mention to two people who looked after us brilliantly - Joao and Jorge - very friendly and the service was excellent.

The pool area was lovely with a pool side bar to keep everyone refreshed. The indoor pool and spa looked great although we didn't actually use the facilities - the weather was too good to stay indoors.

We stayed at the hotel on a B&B basis and the breakfast was faultless. There was an excellent choice from fresh fruit salad, cereal, juices, pastries, bread, cold meats, cheeses and of course a cooked breakfast option. You could eat as much as you wanted and the staff were helpful and efficient but not intrusive. We had lunch in the bar on our last day and it was also great - the burger and chicken baguette can be recommended.

We chose not to eat dinner in the hotel as we were only there for 6 days and the choice of restaurants in the old town were too good to miss. Our favourite being Cabana Fresca.

The hotel offers a free bus to the old town, the strip and their sister hotel - this runs throughout the day and is great especially when you are not sure where you are going. The old town/beach area was my favourite location. A taxi back from the old town cost us 4 euros and saved the uphill walk. There is a supermarket close by - 5 min walk - great for buying more water and snacks for the room.

We also went to Villamoura for the day - a taxi cost approx. 16 euros but there is a bus that runs and will cost approx. 3.75 euros per person - one way.

My only recommendation for the hotel would be to supply irons for guests. I forgot a travel iron and although I appreciate clothes can be taken away and ironed I felt those prices were expensive -over 5 euros to iron a skirt. My ghd hair straighteners doubled as an iron during my stay.

Overall - an excellent hotel, worthy of it's 4 star rating and I can't wait to go back. I would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — Loved everything about the hotel !
  • Disliked — Would recommend having better ironing facilities.
  • Stayed June 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 20, 2008
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for having stayed at the Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa and for your kind review.
We gladly noted that you enjoyed your stay in Portugal, the facilities of our Hotel and it is especially gratifying to learn that you were satisfied with the service provided by our staff. We regret that the laundry service did not correspond to your expectations and would like to inform you that alternatively to our laundry service we also offer the possibility to rent and iron and a board.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa and remain at your disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards


Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    235
    356
    158
    63
    23
See reviews for
187
370
16
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

I´ve stayed at this hotel in 2 diferent ocasions.The first was on business, and i´ve enjoyed the hotel so i´ve decided to come again, now for a few days of relax. In both ocasions, i found the hotel very clean, with an excelent staff, and a good restaurant. Too bad that the bar closed so soon. Both pools are nice, aldo that they dont have that much of activities.
The rooms were large enough, and you dont hear the noise from the outside.
The breakfast its very nice, as well as the restaurant, aldo that there are several great restaurants, outside the hotel. The beach its a litle far, 15 minutes walk but the hotel provides you a shuttle free.
I would recommend the hotel for a casual vacation, but not with the luxury of others hotels in the algarve.

  • Liked — The pool
  • Disliked — the distance to the beach
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2008
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and especially with the consideration shown for our staff and the provided service. We regret that the activities offered in the Hotel did not correspond to your expectations. We offer an all year round entertainment programme for children and adults which includes activities like Qi Qong, Wine tasting, Spa visit, French balls, as well as daily live music and during summer a weekly Beachwear Show, but, unfortunately, only few guests join the offered activities.
We would like to thank you once again for your feedback and hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Real Bellavista Hotel & SPA or to our sister Hotel Grande Real Santa Eulália for a more luxurious vacation.

Kind regards

Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2008

We stayed at the Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa for a lazy long weekend; arriving late Friday and left Monday evening. I would thoroughly recommend this 4-star hotel. It was pretty much our own as this was still very early in the season. We virtually had the indoor pool and Jacuzzi to ourselves. Bedroom and bathroom was spotless, fresh and clean. Breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets were most enjoyable and reasonably priced. The pool and Jacuzzi is free but the sauna, Turkish bath, gym and squash court all costs 10 euro each per session, per person! Spa facials and treatments I’m advised were on par to what you’d have to pay in the UK. A courtesy mini-coach will take you into the old-town, the new-town (The Strip) and the two nearby beaches. It only takes 5mins or so to drive to the nearest beach but it’s a good 20mins if you have to walk. All the staff we encountered at Real Bellavista spoke English and they were very helpful. Reception kept a very big bowl of complimentary sweets well stocked up. Make sure you take the free mini-coach over to the sister hotel the “Grand Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa” this is a 5-star hotel and well worth popping in there for coffee. We had a look round their spa facility which was really really fab.

  • Liked — Spotless bedroom and bathroom. free jacuzzi
  • Disliked — !0 euro for sauna and steamroom per person per session! No fridge in basic room
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2008

We had a good experience at the Real Bellavista. Reception staff were friendly. Room was really quiet (3rd floor) and clean. We have a two year old and a cot was already in the room and made up ready for him when we arrived.

Only criticism is that, when we stayed the air-conditioning wasn't sufficiently cold enough to stop the room from getting very very hot. We ended up sleeping each night with the patio door open. I did report the problem but was told that it was working as it should be. The outside temperatore when we stayed was between 25 and 27 degrees. The heat in the room was enough to give our two year old restless sleep every night :-(

Overall, I would recommend this hotel as it's in a good location - but with our experience of the air conditioning I don't think I would go back in the middle of summer.

  • Liked — Cleanliness of room, friendliness of people.
  • Disliked — Air Conditioning !
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 6, 2008
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your kind comments on the Real Bellavista Hotel & SPA and for taking the time to post your feedback.
We regret that the air conditioning in your room was not cooling the room enough and the inconvenience caused. Under normal circumstances our air-conditioning should be able to guarantee an agreeable temperature in the room, even during summer. We would really appreciate if you could inform us the number of the room you stayed in through one of the following contacts: +351 289 598 050, Fax: +351 289 598 005 or E-Mail: amendes@hoteisreal.com. This would allow us to double-check the air conditioning and take the necessary measures to improve its efficiency.
Thank you for your collaboration and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back to our Hotel.

Kind regards

Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2008

A fanatstic week at this hotel. The staff couldn't do enough from taking our cases up to our room on arrival to arranging and then re-arranging trips due to bad weather. They even kept the restaurant open for us after arriving 10 mins before closing time at dinner (long story!) and didn't seem to mind...something we were surpised about, coming from England!
The buffet breakfast had a good selection, a variety of pastries, cakes, fruit, cereal and typical continental style cooked breakfast options.
The room was cleaned everyday and although we hung our towels up every morning we were given fresh towels and toiletries were replaced also.
The hotel is located almost half way between the old town and the strip. It is situated at the top of a hill and although we walked everywhere, older guests were able to use the hotel shuttle bus free of charge to visit the centre of town.
The weather wasn't too good for most of the week so we enjoyed using the hotel's indoor pool and spa facilities. The pool was free and there are many different treatments on offer which range in price. We used the sauna and steam room for 5 euros. We did go in the outdoor pool but it was freezing as only April.
Recommended trips - Quarteira market on a wednesday morning, Zoo Marine and buggy safari!!!
A fantastic hotel, good location, very helpful staff.
The only downside for us was the in house entertainment seemed to be aimed at the over 50s at least, and being a couple in our 20s we felt very young! However there is plenty to do in the town of an evening.
Would highly recommend this hotel!!!

  • Liked — comfortable, great staff, good location, spa
  • Disliked — entertainment ainmed at older guests only (although tayed only in lowe season)
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 6, 2008
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind review of the Real Bellavista Hotel & SPA.
We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel and that you were satisfied with the Hotel’s facilities and service.
We also would like to thank you for your constructive comments as they help us to identify our strong points but also the weaker ones, as for instance the entertainment program. In fact, most of our guests during low season are older guests, therefore the repertoire of our musicians is mainly aimed for this group. However, we will suggest our musicians to not only focus on a specific group, but to vary slightly according to the preferences and ages of the audience.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to our Resort in the near future.

Kind regards

Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2008

I confess I've become astonished with this hotel!

I've been at Real Bella Vista for only 2 days.

Everything was VERY clean, rooms are great and staff is amazing! Reception service was very professional and dedicated. People from SPA were also very helpfull and nice.

This hotel has a SPA with massage services, gym, squash, turk bath, sauna and inside-pool. It also has a nice outside swimming pool. This hotel have also an underground park.

Breakfast is also great!

About animation, I didn't enjoy it, since I've gone for Albufeira center. There, you can find great restaurants and bars, with live animation.

I'm sure you'll enjoy it. See my photos.

Best regards.

  • Liked — Staff and cleanliness
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 6, 2008
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of the Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa and for your kind remarks.
We gladly noted that you were satisfied with the facilities and especially the service provided by our staff. It is always nice to learn that their efforts to provide a memorable stay are successful and appreciated by our guests.
We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to our Hotel .

Kind regards

Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2008

I spent a week in this hotel from the 27th of march onwards, on a half board basis. I booked this holiday with Thomas cook and flew out of Belfast. There were 3 of us, my daughter aged 17, my husband and i.
from reading previous reviews i was in two minds about it but because we booked late we did not have much choice. from the moment we entered the hotel we were warmly greeted and although we arrived at 9 and our rooms were not meant to be ready until 1 this was not the case. we were taken down to the breakfast area where we ate and shortly after that our room was ready way before it was meant to be.
THE FOOD-Breakfast was brilliant, so much variety, hot or cold. dinner was of a very high standard although we noticed that the same food could be found night after night just in a different sauce of some kind, which meant that towards the end we were bored of the same food over and over again.
THE POOL-The outside pool was used once during the week by our daughter, who never attempted it again for it was very cold. the indoor pool was empty most of the time and was a perfect temperature.
THE WEATHER-Was between 22 and 25degrees for the week. Just what we wanted, because my daughter got her tan and we were able to go sight seeing in a comfortable temperature.
THE AREA-The old town, which the hotel bus takes you too is beautiful and a less than 5min bus drive and an easy walk. There is a escalator that brings you down to the beach, this has only been in place for the last month and is very handy.
THE ROOMS-toiletries were replenished when we asked, it was not big deal. No kettle in the room but we knew this before we arrived and so we brought our own, the waitress gave us milk every evening to take to our rooms.
THE STAFF-Very helpful, could not say a bad thing about them.
ADVICE-if you wish to go on trips, go with paradise tours. we went to Seville and Lisbon with them and enjoyed them thoroughly. the gypsy market is also a must.
WOULD I GO BACK-am already planning my next holiday back to there!

  • Liked — proximity to the old town
  • Disliked — no mini fridge or kettle
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Lourenço Ribeiro - General Manager at Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 21, 2008
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments and constructive feedback.
We are very pleased to learn that you were satisfied with the facilities and, especially, the service and that you had a pleasant stay in our Hotel. We regret that you were not satisfied with the variety of our Dinner Buffet and will pass your comment to our Chef who will review our current selection.
Thank you once again for your kind and motivating review. We look forward to welcome you back soon to the Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa and remain at your entire disposal for any assistance you might require.

Yours sincerely

Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa

Address: Av. Do Estadio PO Box 2445, Albufeira 8200-127, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#16 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#30 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#35 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#53 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
#53 Business Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Bellavista Hotel And Spa
Real Bellavista Hotel Albufeira
Hotel Real Bellavista
Real Bellavista Albufeira
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.