We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Difficult to decide what we thought” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Do Estadio PO Box 2445, Albufeira 8200-127, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #53 of 162 hotels in Albufeira
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Difficult to decide what we thought”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We are quite forgiving of hotels, so took the negative reviews on this site with a pinch of salt: a holiday is what you make off it!

Good points first: the hotel rooms are large with balconies and were kept wonderfully clean by the housekeeper. The reception staff were very helpful and the younger barman was really nice and helpful. The hotel in itself is in good condition and cannot be criticised.

Less good points: the hotel does attract, when we were there at any rate, an older clientele. We did feel a little young, but if you get into the mood and take it for what it is then it is fun. The entertainment was, I'm sorry to say, dreadful on occasions with classic songs being strangled in a manner which I didn't believe possible. The bar also became very busy and, with just one barman and small drinks, it became quite a bind to bother getting a drink and we went out on many evenings instead.

The food was edible: it was functional rather then memorable.

The bus in town is regular and timely and largely offsets any difficulties with the distance into town.

This isn't somewhere that I would go again, but it's an ok destination for a relaxing week.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for sharing, not only the good points, but also the not so good points, which gives us the opportunity to improve.
Please be assured that your comments will be passed on to the department heads in charge and that we will do our utmost to increase the quality of our services.

The average age of guests visiting the Algarve is higher during the winter months, but in the summer the clientele consists mostly of families with children and young couples. We are confident that this livelier atmosphere would have suited your expectations better and hope that we will be able to welcome you again during summer for an, hopefully, even more enjoyable stay.

Kind regards


Rita Machado
Hotel Manager
Real Bellavista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    223
    347
    148
    60
    22
See reviews for
169
358
16
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We spent the October half term here. Big mistake! But only as the weather was horrendous! Torrential rain for 3 out of the 5 days we were there!
The hotel is lovely. Clean and modern. We had a fantastic premier room, with plenty of room to spread out. Fruit and wine glasses provided. No wine! Fridge, which was great as we had our 18 month old with us, so we needed milk chilled. Unfortunately, no kettle, so we couldn't warm it. Bed was the worst we had ever slept in. I actually thought they had forgotten the mattress! I like a firm bed, but this was ridiculous. I would have complained, but loads of other people said theirs was the same, so we didn't bother. With so many reviews saying the same thing, you would think they might get the message, but no! Wish we'd been on a lower floor as our baby likes climbing so we had to move the tables and chairs away from the edge of the balcony.
However, food was great. We really couldn't complain. There was a bit of everything for everyone. Breakfast: fruit, pastries, gorgeous fresh bread, cereal, hot food, ham, cheese etc. lunch: pasta with two different sauces (brilliant for my kids), pizza, salad, breads, cheeses, soup, fish. Tea was pretty much the same with a range of food. We found it all fine - hot enough. I must admit, we couldn't have lasted more than a week. It is also a small buffet so they have 2 sittings. We were lucky we had the 12.30 and 7.00pm ones but I would have complained if we were later as the kids would have been asleep! 7.00 was really too late for our baby. But, quality of food was fine.
We found the pool area okay, but again, in summer, it would have been packed with not enough beds.
The bar is small and there is often a queue. One bar tender! But friendly, and a range of drinks.
Staff, on the whole, were lovely and friendly. Cleaners couldn't do enough for us. All staff were great with kids.
We met some lovely people there, many older as it is also a Saga hotel. Despite our toddler being loud and often whingey, they were all great with her.
Evening entertainment.........not our cup of tea, but kids enjoyed it.
Good kid's club. Indoor pool lovely, but huge crack in the floor of the pool and huge pillar in the middle had sand bags around it's base??!
We didn't use the gym, but it looked good.
Although we wouldn't go again, it was a nice hotel. Very clean. Great staff. Would just prefer a bigger pool and bar area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the service provided and the quality of the food. We regret however that you did not inform us about the bed, like you were planning to do, as we would have been able to do something about it.

Since each guest has its own individual preferences and expectations when it comes to the mattress or comfort of the bed, we do have mattress toppers with which we can prepare the bed of guests who prefer a softer mattress than the ones we have. We would have been very pleased to prepare your bed with these, if we would have been aware, as we trust that this would have helped to make your stay more comfortable and enjoyable. Should you ever visit us again, please do not hesitate to contact us for anything you might require, no matter how pointless or irrelevant the issue might seem to be, as we might be able to help. You can also contact us before your arrival with requests regarding room location, etc. and you can be assured that we will try our best to fulfill them.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again for an, hopefully, even more enjoyable stay.

Kind regards


Rita Machado
Hotel Manager
Real Bellavista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I think if you read previous reviews carefully you'll get a pretty good idea of what this hotel is like. The rooms are good - spacious and with good storage. The staff (except for one magnificently bad-tempered barman) are absolutely delightful. It is well away from any road or resort noise. The breakfasts are brilliant - the best scrambled eggs I have ever eaten!.
The massive drawbacks for me were the walk down to town and the food. The walk isn't particularly long - maybe 5- 10 minutes to the main strip, where there are supermakets and a few shops, and then a further 10 minutes downhill to the town and the beaches. It is, of course, a little more effort coming back! But the walk itself is a real pain, with uneven paving, cars parked on pavements so you have to walk in the road, a four-lane highway to cross etc.etc.. I would hate to have to do it with a pushchair or with a physical or visual disability.There is a bus but if it is full they won't return for the remaining people so you'd have to wait another hour. A taxi either way is between 3 and 4 euros, so not too bad.
I really don't understand other people's comments about the excellence of the food. I have travelled a great deal and love the sort of Euro-buffet most hotels seem to serve nowadays but this hotel's idea of a buffet almost defies description. Every day, for lunch and dinner, pizza, hamburger,hotdogs and chicken nuggets were available, which I really don't want. There was a meat and a fish dish for lunch - the day I arrived the lunch was a choice of turkey kebab (3 small bits of tough turkey, one lump of fat) or boiled hake. It didn't improve much! Dinner usually had a choice of three dishes but I did not have one that I could honestly say I enjoyed, and I am really not picky. Another lunch was a choice between cuttle-fish curry and pork ribs. The two "deli" salads were bland AND oversalted, which is actually quite difficult to achieve. There was always plain (undressed) lettuce, tomato and cucumber and always a plain pasta with a cook-in style sauce to be ladled over it. There were frozen chips, rice (dry) and one green vegetable, mainly frozen, tasteless and undercooked (not al dente, nearly raw) You could see people circling the buffet bar trying to put a remotely palatable meal together. The puddings were frozen gateau, in the main, and quite acceptable for what they were. But all in all, not what you would expect from a 4* at all.
The pool area, late in the year, gets sun from about 10.30 till about 4 so not great for a sun-lounger day.
Rooms either overlook the front of the hotel and other buildings, or the pool area, surrounded by flats. The latter at least get some afternoon sun.
The spa treatments, if you use the daily offer, are excellent and very good value.
This hotel might be suitable for you if you want a base to tour the Algarve (there is parking) and use it for bed and the delicious breakfast but otherwise I think it's really not great for anyone else - there isn't really enough to do for children, so they run round screaming and annoy the Saga guests who are pretty much stuck in the hotel for most of the day because of its situation. It's a shame: a lot of money has been spent on making it look lavish - the furnishings are of really high quality - but it now doesn't seem to meet the original standards, certainly in the meals but also in an indefinable feel of cheapness. A pity.

Room Tip: A pool view room may get afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We regret that your stay at our Hotel did not correspond to your expectations, mainly because of the food. We know how different the expectations and tastes are when it comes to food, which is why we try to offer an as diversified and varied menu as possible. We were surprised that none of our choices suited your individual preferences, but we assure you that we will stay committed to trying to make our selection as diversified as possible.

Thank you once again for your feedback. We hope that we will be able to welcome you again to the Real Bellavista Hotel & SPA and remain at your entire disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards


Rita Machado
Hotel Manager
Real Bellavista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My wife and I and two friends stayed here from the 6th November for one week on a fully inclusive basis. The rooms are a good size and the hotel is spotlessly clean. Food was help yourself buffet but was always varied and plentiful and of a good standard. The big plus point of this hotel is the staff. without exception everyone was extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is situated in a quiet residential area but there is a free shuttle to the local beach and shops. Most of the time however we used taxis as they are very cheap.My wife and her friend enjoyed the indoor swimming pool ,Turkish bath and sauna all of which were free whilst I had to endure the free bar!!!. Because of the time of year the hotel was mainly an older crowd and predominantly British but this did not spoil our enjoyment. A four star hotel with five star service. We were also lucky enough to have excellent weather.

Room Tip: worth upgrading to room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read your enthusiastic review and especially the comments about our team. We know how hard they try to make each guests stay as enjoyable and special as possible and it is very gratifying to read that this was recognised and valued. It is a real motivation for us to continue trying our best and we would like to thank you, on behalf of our entire team.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back for another perfect stay at the Real Bellavista Hotel & SPA .

Kind regards


Rita Machado
Hotel Manager
Real Bellavista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed all Inclusive 30 Oct to 6 Nov - very good value at this time of year.

Excellent 4 star hotel, you would have to look hard to fault anything about this hotel, but as you know some people you just can't please.

Food - buffet excellent and varied. Breakfast varied full English and cereal and fruit etc. Lunch, quality soup, fish, meat, pasta and salad options every day (all of a high standard)+ burgers fish fingers and chips if you prefer. Plenty of interesting and delicious sweets, puddings and fruit.
Drinks - Wine and Sangria and fruit juices available on tap to help yourself to, all very good unless you are a connoisseur.
Service in Dinning room - swift and friendly.
Reception - generally very warm and welcoming

Possible problem for elderly - it is 15 minutes down hill walk to town and this could be a problem for some elderly people . But the free courtesy bus and other free trips laid on by the hotel are going to be more than adequate for most people.

Very much enjoyed our stay, no problems at all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are grateful for all reviews, but the ones we obviously enjoy reading the most, are the ones like yours from guests who enjoyed their stay, the Hotel and the service as much as you did.

Thank you very much, also on behalf of our team, for your kind and considerate comments and we look forward to welcoming you again to the Real Bellavista .

Kind regards


João Máximo
Assistant Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This hotel is situated quite away from the Old Town although for what you pay you really cannot fault this hotel we stayed here from 28 October for a week pitty the weather wasnt very good but then it was nearly November!

The staff are very helpful and the food is outstanding we stayed all inclusive and you cannot really fault the food there was a variety for everyone yes the entertainment was not so good but at least they try!

If you want to stay in a hotel that is located about 25 min walk to the Old Town and cheap then this is the hotel for you.

Like I say for what you pay you cannot fault this hotel, the spa is just amazing although I would not wish to stay in here in peak season as I would not have thought that the bar area and pool area was able to fit the capacity of the hotel.

All in a good hotel for price/food and staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are happy that you have spent an excellent time at the Real Bellavista Hotel & SPA and that you were especially impressed with the friendliness of our team and the quality of our food.

Thank you so much for your kind and considerate comments and we look forward to welcoming you again to the Real Bellavista for an hopefully as enjoyable, but sunnier time in the Algarve.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Assistant Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAYO
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed Oct 16 to 25th, first impression was okay, nice reception however staff not overly friendly or welcoming. Got room on reception level, room okay, bed hard, quiet at night, however no sun at all on balcony which was disappointing, maybe it was the time of the year. Most of people staying at hotel were in the 65 to 80 age bracket, a sage tour operator works out of this hotel, Breakfast was very good, just stayed b&B. We got 2 days rain, other days okay. Location a bit out of the way with no restaurants or bars nearby. Overall there was something missing and would not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are glad that our services and facilities corresponded to your expectations, but regret that you still felt that something was missing. Unfortunately, we are not quite sure what it is, but we really would like to understand it and learn more about your experience and expectations and would therefore appreciate if you could contact us through ana.mendes@hoteisreal.com.

Thank you on advance for your collaboration and we look forward to your feedback, which will certainly help us to improve.

Yours sincerely


João Máximo
Assistant Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa

Address: Av. Do Estadio PO Box 2445, Albufeira 8200-127, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#16 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#30 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#36 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Bellavista Hotel And Spa
Real Bellavista Hotel Albufeira
Hotel Real Bellavista
Real Bellavista Albufeira
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.