We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just scraped a 4 rating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Miramar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Luna Miramar to your Saves list
Luna Miramar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Pacifico, Lote 24 | Cerro Alagoa, Albufeira 8200-166, Portugal (Formerly Luna Perola do Algarve)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Just scraped a 4 rating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We have just returned from our holiday in this hotel. Overall, I have rated this hotel as a 4, but really would have preferred to give it 3.5.

Rooms - clean, spacious, air-con worked fine and was very efficient.
Service - excellent; staff were polite and friendly
Pool - not enough sunbeds for the number of guests. Most of them were reserved before 7:15, and although the hotel staff said towels would be removed if people were not using the loungers, this didn't happen. The pool itself was big enough for those who wanted to use it - we had been a bit worried because it looked small on the photos - but we soon found out why: it was FREEZING! There was no heating at all, and although I appreciate that going in the pool is a way to cool down in 30 degree heat I do not want a heart attack every time I get in. You had to keep moving in the water as it was too cold to be enjoyable.
Food - breakfasts good, lunch and dinner not bad main courses, but very samey. Desserts just jelly, blancmange, fruit, and one choice of cake. Needs more variety.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    61
    37
    12
    5
See reviews for
59
40
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sligo, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

first of all i dont know why people are hating on this hotel its lovely very close to everything the albufeira shopping centre which is perfect got lovely stuff for lunch.room was lovely very clean and maids came in everyday and cleaned they were lovely.we checked in they were nice and pleasant to us. The only downside is the sun loungers as you probably all ready read there is not enough ok i dont mind that but if they were stricter and went out and took off towel it would be fine sadly i was up at 7 each morning to put them out. lastly the entertainers are outstanding just so good with children and ADULTS so nice worth a few games will defintly go back it was great hope this helps ignore the bad :)

Room Tip: pool veiw and 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luna H, Manager at Luna Miramar, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Dear Katie L ,

Thank you for trusting Luna Miramar.

It will be a pleasure to have you again as our guests.
We will take into account all your points of view and we will certainly improve so that we receive as soon as possible want.


Kind Regards,
Tiago Pais,
Manager,
Luna Miramar (tiagopais@lunahoteis.com).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We had a wonderful holiday here at Luna Miramar and think it was excellent value for what we paid. The best part about this hotel is the location, really conveniently located for shops and restaurants, a 15 minute walk into the old town and public transport is good.
The rooms are great really spacious and clean, and although as some other reviews have pointed out the rooms themselves aren't refurbished to as high a standard as the reception that doesn't really bother me as I didn't go to Albufeira to sit in my hotel room. The little kitchenette is really handy, even though we were all inclusive it was great having a fridge to chill our wine (which is extremely cheap in the supermarket next door). Only complaint about our room is that the balcony was absolutely tiny, some other balconies were over twice the size of ours so if I was to return I would email in advance to request a more spacious balcony.
Anybody saying on here that the staff are unhelpful or don't like the English, well I would say take this with a pinch of salt! The staff are all lovely and can't do enough for you, speak perfect English and treat all guests with respect, If anybody feels that they weren't treat with respect maybe they need to realise that respect is a two way street? Also, rather than assuming the staff don't like the English in general, maybe consider that they just didn't like you.
The animation team are wonderful with the kids and work tirelessly all day to entertain them. Unlike other all inclusive holidays I've been on, you could order as many drinks as you wanted at a time and weren't made to feel bad about doing so. Bar staff were also lovely in particular Jucimeira who always made a fuss of our 6 year old. All of the staff work really hard never noticed any of them skiving and always service with a smile.
I loved the pool area didn't notice it being unclean or dangerous like others have suggested. Can see why the sunbeds could be an issue some mornings were worse than others though. A few mornings there was still beds available when we got up at about 9am, so not too bad. The pool toilets could do with an upgrade though they were smelly and I generally avoided using them and went back up to my room or used the restaurant toilets instead.
The food was good, not great, but always plenty to choose from and loads of fresh fruit and salad always available. If you get tired of the food there is plenty of other choice on your doorstep.
We would go back, it was excellent value.

Room Tip: Ask for a big balcony if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luna H, Manager at Luna Miramar, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Chavers82,

Thank you for your preference and for your feedback about your recent stay at Luna Miramar.
We are glad you had an overall good experience at the hotel

Looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Tiago Pais, Manager,
Luna Miramar (tiagopais@lunahoteis.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

on arrival the plush newly refurbished reception area is very impressive, unfortunately that and the dining area are the only parts that seem to have been refurbished. the stairways are so poorly lit with cracked and wobbly steps they are dangerous, my son fell as he could not see the steps well enough on one occasion. the pool is very deep in most places and the kids pool has dodgy steps in the middle, not well laid out. kids can't get ice cream until after 2.30 at the snack bar and even then they will limit the flavors so if they haven't got one open that you like, tough! pool area is very cramped and deffo not enough beds. rooms were clean and spacious and had been given a lick of paint, but the bathroom and fixings were very tired and dated. food was below standard for all inclusive, mostly just warm or cold. best meal was breakfast and even that was not great! entertainment was dreadful even comparing it to other similar type holidays, provided mainly by the animation team, it was actually sometimes inappropriate for children.
WiFi only available in reception and rarely worked, needed to pay to use one of the computers in reception to check on my emails,and even that didn't work!
if you just want a base to enjoy the area its fine, if you hope to stay Ina plush pad, you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: we had rooms 405 and 407 and they were fine for space view of pool and size of balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luna H, Manager at Luna Miramar, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear paulac1975,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay in Luna Miramar.

Kind Regards,
Tiago Pais, Manager,
Luna Miramar (tiagopais@lunahoteis.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel with my two teenage daughters thinking it would reach all expected four star criteria.pool area not big enough, no sunbed for you if you didnt rise before 6 and put towels down, music at the pool was at disco level. Csution girls..there was no hairdryer in the room.The reception had been refurbished unfortunately it was down hill from there. We were eventually taken to our room down dark dingy corridors with holes in the walls.the room door looked like it had been forced open then poorly repaired.the patio doors did not lock and were secured by a metal bar laid along its length.The toilet seat was broken and lights in the bathroom did not work.the patio area including windows had not been cleaned and were not cleaned throughout out the week despite staff being informed.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luna H, Manager at Luna Miramar, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Bill L


Thank you for your comments about your recent stay in Luna Miramar.

We are very sorry we did not meet your expectations and hope this experience does not keep you from returning to the beatiful Algarve to this hotel.
Should you return to the Albufeira area, please feel free to contact me personally so we can show you our progresses.

Kind Regards,
Tiago Pais, Manager,
Luna Miramar (tiagopais@lunahoteis.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Just back from an 11 night stay,
Hotel- reception gr8, rest of it needs upgrading, be mindful, if you arrive on an early flight like we did( arrived hotel at 1pm) rooms are not available till around 2.30pm.
Rooms- basic, slightly out dated, but kept very clean
Pool area- filthy & dangerous. My son badly cut his foot on our first day (4th august) on the ceramic tiles ( steps) in the kids pool, and needed hospital treatment, tiles around pool cracked & loose ( still not repaired as we left today 14th august) steps leading in/out of main pool loose and have jagged edges. Drainage grills around pool filthy.
Sun beds- not enough, having said that, we went to breakfast at 8am each day and always managed to get 2, management do remove towels if beds are unused for a while, if your going to reserve them, use them, don't put towels on beds and then nick off to the beach all day.
Food- breakfast is ok, lunch and dinner options are very poor, we ate out quite a bit, if you like stews, fish, pork and frozen veg you'll be fine!!!!! Children's foods terrible, chicken nuggets or fish fingers, if any left they are served cold on the salad bar next day. Snack bar food ( hot dogs, pizza & sandwiches)
Staff- lovely, friendly, helpful, very hard working and pleasant, the manager was brilliant when our son had his accident, in my panic to get my insurance document and E1-11 cards, I forgot my purse, he loaned me money for taxi, apparently it's cheaper and quicker to get a taxi instead of an ambulance to hospital!!!!
Animation/ entertainment- team are great, Caesar and Martha worked well with the kids, Caesar provided the initial first aid and removed the piece of tile that embedded itself into sons ankle (nasty injury). The evening entertainment is same as all other hotel entertainment.
Guests- lovely, met some brilliant families and couples.
Beach- lovely
Old town- gr8
Little train- son loved it
Zoo marine & water park- fantastic
Summary- manager listened to a few of our concerns, but, Luna Miramar is like all major companies, puts profit before people, when they took over this hotel, they should have closed it down and done a full overhaul, not bits and pieces. Pure greed on the hotels part. If your due to go soon, I'm sorry if I have put you off, go with an open mind, we're all different, if your thinking of booking to go DONT, wait till next year when hopefully it's brought up to standard . We would definitely go back to Portugal, it's lovely, but never back to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luna H, Manager at Luna Miramar, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear SAFCsupporter,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay in Luna Miramar.

Should you return to the Albufeira area, please feel free to contact me personally so we can show you our progresses.

Kind Regards,
Tiago Pais, Manager,
Luna Miramar (tiagopais@lunahoteis.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navan, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Just back from a ten day stay in the Luna Mirimar. Firstly the hotel is nicely decorated. The reception area is very impressive. Rooms are spotless clean, maid service is excellent and plenty of utensils, cutlery etc in the kitchen. Both the bathrooms and the kitchen area could do with a facelift (slight rusting around edge of fridge) but otherwise lovely rooms. Staff on reception desk couldn't be more helpful as were the maids. Hotel was about ten or fifteen minute walk to beach and old town but because the old town is so busy its actually nice to be back a bit from it. Hotel is right beside a huge supermarket with very reasonable prices. Perfect if your self-catering. Didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on that. The only problem I have with the hotel (and its not their fault) is the reserving of sunbeds. We were at the pool most days before nine in the morning and still couldn't get beds. Most of the beds were being reserved and then not used for most of the day. Also, the only ladders into the pool were in the deep end. Not great for a non swimmer who likes to dip in and out of the pool. My advice, forget the pool and head straight for the beach which is fabulous. Overall I would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luna H, Manager at Luna Miramar, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Cookie146,

Thank you for your comments and for trusting Luna Miramar Hotel.
And because of customers like you who increasingly enjoy working in the hospitality and being with my team to promote dreams and experiences. Thank you so much
It will be a pleasure to have you again as our guests. Im wait for you again!
Kind Regards,
Tiago Pais, Manager,
Luna Miramar (tiagopais@lunahoteis.com).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luna Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Miramar

Address: Rua do Pacifico, Lote 24 | Cerro Alagoa, Albufeira 8200-166, Portugal (Formerly Luna Perola do Algarve)
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Luna Miramar 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Luna Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perola Do Algarve Albufeira
Perola Algarve
Perola Do Algarve Hotel Albufeira
Perola Portugal
Luna Miramar Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Miramar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.