We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit - mixed review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira to your Saves list
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Municipi - Lote 31 | Cerro da Alagoa, Albufeira 8200-161, Portugal (Formerly BlueBay Paraíso de Albufeira)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Middlesbrough
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“2nd visit - mixed review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This was our 2nd visit. The first was in 2010 with my wife and only daughter at the time who was 4 back then. We absolutely loved it and couldn't wait to get back. It was very clean, good food quality despite repetition.

It took us 4 years as we since had a further 2 children. Since out first visit it didn't wow us like it did back then.

The food variety was weak and nothing for my younger children who are 2 & 1 years of age, it was mainly junk food. The lunch/dinner options were poor and we decided either to have something from the snack bar or go to the restaurants out front.

The male staff were all very friendly and helpful but some of the female staff had a miserable face on them on most occasions.

The building itself looking from the pool towards the hotel is in need of a clean or paint.

The Thomas cook entertainment team (Ricky, Jen, Miguel & Stevie) were all consistently excellent and couldn't wish for anymore. From 10:30am until after 11pm they were fun and friendly (as were the group back in 2010).

The all inclusive wrist bands were different to the ones we previously had and don't last long especially if you are applying option and swimming yet if you lose it your are fined €5. I got mine changed 6 times in 14 days, plus several other times for my wife & eldest child.

It was a family themed hotel previously now attracted several stag parties, although they were having fun didn't really disrupt us just foul language on occasions and taking own alcohol around pool which the lifeguards dealt with several times.

Although some of this seems negative i'd be willing to give it a 3rd chance purely as my children all love it and I have a fond attraction to it, my wife would need persuading though.

Albufeira area as a whole is 5* love the place and would definitely recommend it to families.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    585
    406
    196
    127
See reviews for
788
452
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Just come back from 4 days all inclusive 28th June to 2nd July and cannot believe people whinging about stag n hen do,s. There were 4 of us lads and we didn't see any other stag or hen do,s around. We were gutted. Ha ha. The hotel is only missing 5 star due to these points. Point 1.......the reception guy messing us around trying to separate us in rooms on floor 3 and floor 8 but when we said no he had to put us next door to each other as requested a year ago. Rooms 708 n 710. Point 2. I lost my all inclusive card around the hotel and paid for a new one then 2 days later they said staff found it at the pool but wouldn't refund me the 5 euros even though they are logged against the room. 3. The queues for the all inclusive pool bar in day and bar at night are sometimes ridiculous and they won't put more staff on cos they want people to give up or not bother when they see queues which is good for business but people are now onto it. The hotel itself is huge and clean. Took us a while to figure out which lifts are best to make it quicker to get to our room. Staff friendly. Food was amazing. A tip is to go shortly after each floor restaurant opens I.e 7.30pm at night. Location is perfect. 15 min walking left to the old town and 5minute walk to the right to the strip of bars. There is a Huge cheapsupermarket to the left 5minute walk which we stocked up on water, snacks etc. Overall it was a great experience at the Paraiso.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Overall this hotel is good!
Stayed half board in a group of 13 women for a week holiday!!
The food was average! Reasonable choice at both breakfast & dinner time! However the food at dinner time is only warm depending at what point u arrive to eat!
Rooms are a bit dated! But very clean!! We did have ask for clean towels on more than one occasion & sometimes they were still not clean & damp!!
Reception & communal areas were very nice!
There is a shop on site which is reasonable price for snacks & water!
The hotel is in a good location!
10min walk to new town/strip & 15min walk to old town!
New town/strip is as u would expect - lots of bars & cheap drinks caterers for hens/stags & party animals!!
Old town is lovely - very nice places to eat & drink with lovely atmosphere!
Overall this hotel is nice hotel with good facilities in a great location!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Had a great stag do weekend here!, Hotel is great, rooms are spacious and facilities are spot on, hotel has something for all ages, large pool with diving end, mini golf, basket ball and football nets, there is even an area for small children with toys and scalextric, would recommend! Had a lovely stay and cant wait to come back with the family!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here the 10-24 june overall the hotel is good, the pool is lovely. Staff on a whole are nice and friendly apart from a few letchy barmen. The food on the other hand is terrible always warm at best, on two occasions pork was labelled as turkey!! The snack bar was great for drink and ice cream although not a great selection burgers and hot dogs were cooked in the morning and would be heated in a microwave for 9 seconds tops. Would recommend the hotel but not the food. Would go back again but wouldn't stay all inclusive again. Also was advertised as family hotel yet there was loads of stag and hen groups. The stag groups were very loud and swore a lot not a great mix when you have little children near by. Overall good hotel but rubbish food STAY SELF CATERING LOTS OF GREAT PLACES TO EAT!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

got back yesterday can't fault the hotel, food, drink and facilities very good. Now for the negatives............2 hen parties and 1 stag party who took over the pool and bar area all day (49 people in the stag group) I booked this hotel as I have 3 small boys and it was recommended by the travel agent and it is under the heading of Funstars in the brochure. Note to tour operators , please stop taking bookings as it really does spoil family holidays. The brochure also says it is a 40 minute transfer. It took us an hour and 45 minutes with 8 drop offs. If you are going book a taxi, it takes about 25 minutes and costs about 30 Euros. This hotel is great but as I have already said, they really should not mix families with stag and hen parties. Loads to do in walking distance and taxis are cheap. Would return to Albufeira but not to this hotel unless they address the "rowdy" element.

Room Tip: floor 1 pool side if you have kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Stayed 7th June-21st June & had fab holiday! Hotel is in a great location between Old town & Strip. Lovely pool and Thomas Cook's kids club facility was really good, free of charge & kids loved it!
Both times we have stayed we have stayed on a self-catering basis as we like variety of going to all different restaurants. We have heard from other guests the all inclusive food option was not brilliant and quite repetitive, obviously this was not an issue for us, but maybe worth considering if you normally go for the all inclusive option! xXx

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira

Address: Rua Municipi - Lote 31 | Cerro da Alagoa, Albufeira 8200-161, Portugal (Formerly BlueBay Paraíso de Albufeira)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#48 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira is a family resort located in the heart of Albufeira. Just a few minutes from the main beach Playa de los Pescadores and the city center, it is the perfect starting point for a vacation surrounded by the intense life of this great tourist resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paraiso De Albufeira Hotel Albufeira
Paraiso De Hotel Albufeira
Paraiso Albufeira
Paraiso Hotel Albufeira
Albufeira Paraiso De Hotel
Aparthotel Paraiso De Albufeira
Hotel Paraiso De Albufeira Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.