We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay - Self Catering” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira to your Saves list
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Municipi - Lote 31 | Cerro da Alagoa, Albufeira 8200-161, Portugal (Formerly BlueBay Paraíso de Albufeira)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A great place to stay - Self Catering”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed here in September 2013, towards the end of the season. The hotel was really nice. There was no overcrowding of facilities. Staff were friendly and helpful. The self catering apartments are of excellent standard. The apartment consists of a large spacious double bedroom with access to the balcony, a very spacious sitting room with a kitchen strip, and a combined shower and toilet facility. The apartment fulfilled all the expectations of a 4 star hotel. The weather was lovely towards the end of September, around 30-35 degrees. We didn't eat in the hotel, so I can't comment on the food. This hotel is situated between the Old Town and the New Town, although there are restaurants and shopping facilities within 10 minutes walk, if you prefer. Taxis to the Old Town and New Town are booked via a computer at reception. They are metered, but it never cost more than 5€ to get to either one. All in all this is a great place to stay. I can't say fairer than that. The price was fair too!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    585
    406
    196
    126
See reviews for
787
452
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Me and my partner have just got back from the paraiso, after staying here about 7 years ago and referring to it as the best hotel I had ever stayed in, it seems a shame to say this times stay has completely changed my mind.
The food was fantastic with a good mixture to suit everyone, different meats every night in the main restaurant, breakfast was great! However The outside pool snack bar is very dated, to the extent it looks grubby and there are a lot of flies knocking about which can easily put you off straight away.

The outside appearance of the hotel was also a shock looking back at photos from my last stay was a sparkling 5* looking hotel with a fountain and glass windows all around with a spinning door. This time we arrived at a dirty coloured hotel with a filthy fountain and the spinning doors where out or order and the windows smashed. 'Faulty towers came to mind'.
The reception was once grand but now is also dated, with the same furniture as my previous visit but worn so much you sunk into the seat, it was miss coloured and had a funny smell. a re-furb is definitely in need. The pool area was great bar service fantastic and entertainment was fab.

DO NOT BOOK A STUDIO ROOM!
we had to upgrade due to the two single beds after asking for a double and no way of pushing them together, and the dated ugly kitchen in the same room, it cost us 80euros to upgrade but our next room was lovley. All inclusive was 100% worth it. overall a good stay but would not return to paraiso im sorry to say.

Room Tip: ensure you get a room at the back of the hotel, all we could hear was bottles being thrown into the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Booked this hotel on a recommendation from a friend, but spent 3 weeks before our hols fretting from the mixed reviews on here.
Needn't have worried.
The hotel is a family oriented hotel, and is what I would class as "Perfect" for your family holiday.
Onsite entertainment day & night (until end of Oct) for kids and adults alike. The entertainment staff are great, full of fun and provide plenty of entertainment.
Leave the hotel and turn right, and walk approx 10 mins and you're at the Strip, turn left & in 10 mins you're in Old Town.
Off LIcence in hotel is excellent value. Supermarket (turn left leaving hotel) and 3-4 min walk. walk further on about 10 mins and you have aldi & Lidl.
Excellent Indian Restaurant - Clay Oven, Leave hotel and turn right, 3-4 min walk.
Bar prices are €2.50 pint of local beer, €4 labeled spirits, €3 local spirits, Mixers steep (€2 for dash) , you can buy cans of juice in off Lic for .85c, or €1 in shop. Red bull €5 at bar, €2 in shop.
Rooms/Apts were perfect, not v fancy or modern, but were clean, and had everything you could need in them, full oven, microwave , toaster and lots of crockery & cutlery. Beds were slightly on the hard side, but not unbearable.
Had a pool view, which I would definitely recommend, as the view onto the road didn't look very appealing.
Small restaurant in the middle of the Strip, called the Cottage, English owned, serves English Breakfast at reasonable prices, coffee here wasnt great though. Bakerys called PAO DA ALDEIA are beautiful & very reasonable, & Coffee here is Excellent.

Room Tip: Pool view good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Just returned for a trip with the hubby from Paraiso!! Hotel is huge and that also goes for the rooms! We had a 1 bed apt on the 5th floor. Little bit dated in decor but lots of space and fully equipt kitchen, even had a full oven!! Shop downstairs is very overpriced but the off licence is very cheap.

We were self catering so never ate in the hotel but we went for a drink and prices were morre expensive than at home. Vodka & coke was €5.50....

Location is ideal between both strip and old town although walking back from old town is all uphill. Taxi is 3.80€.

Indoor and outdoor pool nice but I can imagine it could be very crowded in summer months!

The only downside was not having a pool view room!! We were located at the front, NO SUN WHATSOEVER during the day which made it seem cold & damp.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed here in June a couple of years ago - Basically it was a Cattle Market!!. If you don't want hustle and bustle and screaming kids everywhere then don't go here.
I have never been on a holiday where everyone gets up at 6am to get a sunbed!! (and usually when you go back at 9am it has usually been pinched anyway!!)
I also got stuck in the lift twice, which is also not a pleasant experience :)
Basically, the rooms are ok but this hotel is catered for families who don't go out and just indulge on all inclusive for a week/fortnight.. . Ok, fair enough if you want that sort of thing then fine, but if your a couple I wouldn't touch it with a barge pole!!.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Me and my family stayed here in october 2013, when we arrived the hotel looked nothing like what it does in the pictures. When we entered the apartment it was very dated - shabby sofa beds, 14 year old tv, cracked cupboards in the kitchen, lamps that didnt work - the list can continue! we went to the bedroom and there was 2 single beds pushed together to make a double- no quilt just a tatty blanket and 2 flimsy pillows. The bed was so hard I may as well slept on the floor! because of this I ended up with severe back pain and cramps in my neck. The cot was filthy and also broken had to ask for replacement which never got done the balacony is unsafe which we were told by the staff not to lean on as there have been incidents of them collapsing also not child safe as no more then 3ft high and no railing on top.
The Indoor pool is a joke you have to wear a swimming cap for hygiene reasons, apparently! Never heard or seen this anywhere else. There were cracked tiles around the pool aswell as inside the pool. This is more of a health and safety matter rather than Hygiene! The outdoor pool bar was out of use, snack bar a rip off, food was awful, there is no food court just 2 restaurants! The list could go on and on! This hotel is more like 2 star, it is a shambles and misleads its customer just to fill rooms. False advertising.

The maids were good, clean towels daily, empty bins and bed made.
The reception staff were miserable, rude and no help whatsoever!
The noise from the corridors of an evening to early hours was unbelievable. Not once did we see a security guard.
The shop on site is handy and the ladies that work there were pleasant.

The location isnt excellent but the distance to New & Old Town is walkable within 10-15 minutes or a €4 cab ride.

I will say that this is the only holiday that we have been on that has MADE us leave earlier than we were expected too. We caught an early flight home. For us, we will never return to Portugal again let alone Paraiso Albufeira!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londonderry N.I
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

my husband and myself have just spent a week at this hotel. first off i must say the staff were very friendly and helpful.we were given a room on the 8th floor which looked out on to the main road. the room was quite big but very dated,and we had two single beds one of which my husband had to repair. the room never got any sunlight at any time of the day. we found the hotel was not very disabled friendly, both my husband and myself have mobility problems and found we had to climb into a bath to get a shower, which was in need of renewal and the hotel lifts were quite small for wheelchairs. the hotel is fine for a short-break, but is short of luxury.

Room Tip: try to get a poolside room if possible for the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira

Address: Rua Municipi - Lote 31 | Cerro da Alagoa, Albufeira 8200-161, Portugal (Formerly BlueBay Paraíso de Albufeira)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#48 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira is a family resort located in the heart of Albufeira. Just a few minutes from the main beach Playa de los Pescadores and the city center, it is the perfect starting point for a vacation surrounded by the intense life of this great tourist resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paraiso De Albufeira Hotel Albufeira
Paraiso De Hotel Albufeira
Paraiso Albufeira
Paraiso Hotel Albufeira
Albufeira Paraiso De Hotel
Aparthotel Paraiso De Albufeira
Hotel Paraiso De Albufeira Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.