We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not exactly like the brochure!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel BlueBay Paraiso De Albufeira

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel BlueBay Paraiso De Albufeira to your Saves list
Hotel BlueBay Paraiso De Albufeira
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Municipio Lote 31 | Cerro Da Alagoa, Albufeira 8200-161, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
hampshire uk
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“not exactly like the brochure!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

we've just got back from a self catering week for the half term, glad to be home, to start the staff was all so lovely and friendly especially with the children, the cleaners was always cleaning the room or offering clean towels etc... but did have a problem on ground floor with cockroaches!!! the corridors had dead ones laying there all week, and a big mother on the wall too, also we had a couple in our room, NOT IMPRESSED...

the rooms are very spacious but old fashioned and do need to modernised a little, had falling debris from up above as outer walls are crumbling,

the pools were ok kids enjoyed them,
but the tennis courts and crazy golf were deposit and then a fee per person, nothing was free, you had to pay to use the pool table by the hour which by the time you got a turn it was bedtime lol, same with the dart board!

the shop was also very over priced would advise the supermarket over the road, quite cheap.

the old town and strip was a 10-15min walk pleasant on a nice day, or the bus service and train was every 20 mins...

overall i did enjoy my time there (even tho it rained 5 out of 7 days lol)
its got all the potential to be the 4* it claims to be with some work and a good clean

Room Tip: ground floor for children as easy access to pool area, as hotel is a very large one
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neale F, General Manager at Hotel BlueBay Paraiso De Albufeira, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Hayley

Thank you for your contribution to TripAdvisor. Your insight and comments are extremely valuable to us and motivate us to continue striving to improve our services.

We regret that on this occasion, not all our services lived up to your expectations and we will take a good look as to how we can improve on the specifics that you have kindly brought to our attention.

In the meantime, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Paraiso in the near future.

Kind Regards
N. French
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    555
    375
    183
    117
See reviews for
754
420
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Helens
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Well, we too read the reviews on here and thought oh dear what have we booked!
I'm now wondering if the days of holiday reviews have had their time?

We had a great holiday!!!
I'm not taking anything away from all the other experiences that have been shared on here but I can only speak as I find.

We booked a week at half term for 5 people in 2 one bedroom apartments on all inclusive.
We had apartments 620 and 621 facing the garden and pool with a seaview in the distance.

The apartments are HUGE and very spacious and have everything you need to be self catering. The decor is circa 2001 with swags and tails over the bed and matching style pictures BUT it was clean and well maintained.

The balcony covers the length of your bedroom and lounge area with a maiden for drying clothes, 4 seats and a table so in other words, plenty of room!

The public areas are lovely, marble, well laid out and spacious.

Our 3 teenage girls LOVED the games room downstairs which was more like an arcade with video games, table tennis, air hockey etc it was like an in house youth club, supervised by an attendant and open till midnight but with most kids up to their rooms around 11pm.

The hotel has an indoor pool which was having work done to it the day after we arrived and I was concerned we would be without the use of an indoor pool if the weather changed BUT there is another pool in the gym downstairs!!!!
So with all the intentions of using that along with the sauna, steam room and gym.......we never went near the place as the weather was nice enough to stay outdoors and we decided to give the gym a miss for a week while we were on holiday. (you need a swimming cap to enter all the indoor pools and this can be purchased for 3 euros if you haven't your own to take with you)

The pool outside is MASSIVE and at half term we had plenty of sunbeds and space to sunbathe but I would be the first to admit that when this complex is fully booked in the height of summer, I imagine this would not be the case.
Although there would be plenty of space to put your towel on the grassed areas, sunbeds I could well imagine are in short supply.

When you are on all inclusive, you receive a towel card (adults only) for fresh towels to be used by the pool each day which was a god send. You also get sun mattresses for the loungers which I believe you pay for when self catering?

I too read all the reports on here slagging off the pool attendant and poolside bar staff etc etc and all I can say is behavior breeds behavior and if you let them do their job and take into account that while you're relaxing by the pool, they have to put up with 100s of kids running round and acting the goat for 9hrs a day :-) give them a break.
Same can be said of the reception staff, the place is huge and the kids are constantly running up to the desk to ask for things so just bare with them as I'm quite sure if this was a hotel in the UK we wouldn't be quite so patient?

Right then......the food!
After reading the reports on here I was prepared to be in a back room eating slop and thought never mind at least my waist line will benefit.
But the food during half term was BRILLIANT!
We didn't have 1 bad meal the whole time we were there. Breakfast had everything you needed juices, cereal, cooked items, fruit, waffles, coffee, breads etc etc

Lunches and dinner had soup, salads, various hot dishes, fruit, cakes, ice cream and plenty more.

The food from the pool side bar consisted of baguettes, hot dogs, onion rings, wedges, chips and ice cream so the kids bloody loved it.

Location of this hotel as stated is excellent, between the strip and old town.
I always hire a car from Auto Jardim as I used them when I worked as a Rep in Albufeira in 1992. I would strongly recommend you book on line as I saved 50 euros on a Ford Focus for 3 days by booking on line with Auto Jardim rather than going into the resort office in Town (even though we collected the car from there, they couldn't price match their on line prices face to face)

Now then I saved the best till last.......The Entertainment.
This wasn't supplied by the hotel this was courtesy of the Thomas Cook Team who were brilliant.
They arranged activities throughout the afternoon such as giant jenga, pub quiz, killer pool, 5 a side footie and rounded the kids up and had them jumping in the pool to see who won the daily "biggest splash"
Then in the evenings they gave out certificates, played games and entertained the younger ones from 7-9.30pm
At 10pm each night they put on a show of some sort which could be anything from Sounds of the 80s, Queen tribute to Mr and Mrs Paraiso.
After being a Rep myself, believe me this team are not just a bunch of reps covering the evening shift, they are trained entertainers who can sing, dance and compere with great comedy.
They worked hard and made this hotel great in the evenings and as an independent traveler with Travel Republic, I'd like to say Thank You Thomas Cook :-)

Many things make a holiday and all of the above certainly helped but make your own holiday experience and make your own mind up too......don't always rely on other peoples reviews :-)

Dee
X

Room Tip: High floor garden rooms are great for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neale F, General Manager at Hotel BlueBay Paraiso De Albufeira, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Dee

Thank you for your very complete, candid and yet positive review of your holiday experience with us.

I very much enjoyed reading your contribution and look forward to welcoming you back to the Paraiso in the near future.

PS - the entertainment that Thomas Cook provides throughout the season is charged to the hotel, but has certainly been a good investment this year.

Kind Regards
N. French
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Been come to albufeira for years now and seen this hotel many times, so when it popped up at this price on booking.com I jumped at the chance. For me and my mrs it was a bed and somewhere to change so at the price we paid was great, however it is dated and in need of renovation, under staffed at the bar but good staff, it's in a perfect location for the strip and old town. It's a 2-3 star place and at the price I paid its fair anymore no

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neale F, General Manager at Hotel BlueBay Paraiso De Albufeira, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear James

Thank you for your contribution to TripAdvisor.

We regret that on this occasion, not all our services lived up to your expectations. The hotel is currently undergoing a partial renovation of the apartments, and we hope this will add to guest's enjoyment of the hotel in the future.

In the meantime, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Paraiso in the near future.

Kind Regards
N. French
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddesfield
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

In the restaurant they only give us the same food over and over again , some of the staff were not friendly as well. The rooms in the hotel needed upgrading because the beds were very uncomfortable. it was not safe for the children cause they had a broken glass in the window what could fall out any time and the bathroom needed to be proper scrubbed down . The indoor swimming pool was very nice and the most activities what we did were very enjoyable. and the whole thing needed a little bit of cleaning.



BESIDES THAT HAD A VERY GOOD TIME !!!!

Room Tip: Going near the park is a lot better "if you have kids".
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neale F, General Manager at Hotel BlueBay Paraiso De Albufeira, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Brian

Thank you for your contribution to TripAdvisor. Your insight and comments are extremely valuable to us and motivate us to continue striving to improve our services.

We regret that on this occasion, not all our services lived up to your expectations and that you did not enjoy the food service selections.

The broken glass door panel at the hotel's entrance has to be made especially and brought in from Spain and should be arriving any day now to be installed.

Kind Regards
N. French
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

stayed here for a week in april all inclusive and have just got back from a 9 night stay self catering in october. i would go back again next year aswell but self catering again as the food was not the best and as i dont drink and my partner not a big drinker it worked out better self catering we have 3 kids 16, 6 + 5. we went to the supermarket 2 minutes from the hotel and bought loads of drinks for them and took them down to the pool of a day and bought drinks at the bar at night. we got loads of nice food from there aswell and cooked in the room a few nights as the kitchen is very well equipt. the rooms were spotless and a maid came in daily and made the beds,brushed and moped right through. the entertainment was excellent the thomas cook team were great with the kids and the adults they got everyone involved day and night they worked tirelessly to keep people happy and they could not have done a better job of it. dont listen to the moaners who want 5* quality but are not prepared to pay for it! if you want a fun but relaxing family holiday with excellent value for money stay here, your 15 mins walk from the strip and 15 mins walk from the old town. we had a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the pool have a lovely view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neale F, General Manager at Hotel BlueBay Paraiso De Albufeira, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Lyns

Thank you for your contribution to TripAdvisor. Your insight and comments are extremely valuable to us and motivate us to continue striving to improve our services.

We are very happy to learn that we were able to meet your expectations and provide you with an enjoyable stay with us. Your comments have been passed on to the service personnel involved in making your visit a memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Paraiso in the near future.

Kind Regards
N. French
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just stayed for half term AL .Hotel appears pleasant and welcoming, but lift the lid and hotel is set in the 70's, hotel is in need of desperate upgrade to rooms, which include, broken tables, door handles and electrics that are totally unsafe for family use. Stayed in room 537, total let down, total waste of money. As for the food, the worst that we have had on numerous AL holidays, no choice, cold and of school dinners standard, pizza served at lunch and dinner for both adults and children, pasta served with no sauce of any sort, numerous guests coming down with virus. Staff unhelpful at times and no interested in working but chatting amongst themselves rather than been helpful to the holiday makers. Chamber maids help themselves to you duty free, did not find out till arrival back in UK, would of complained but hotel policy states that any no in the smallest safe in the wold is not covered for insurance purposes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neale F, General Manager at Hotel BlueBay Paraiso De Albufeira, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Nigel

Thank you for your contribution to TripAdvisor. Your insight and comments are extremely valuable to us and motivate us to continue striving to improve our services.

We regret that on this occasion the food service did not live up to your expectations. Regarding the maintenance issues you have brought to our attention for apartment 537, we shall pass this on to maintenance to have checked.

Kind Regards
N. French
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed for 1 week AI. Hotel itself fine, apartments a great size. Reception staff helpful and friendly, dining room staff some ok some should stay at home! But the worst of all has to be the tall blond with glasses at the snack bar. How rude she is, with plenty of attitude. Have seen a few comments on here about her and also while in the hotel. What I wonder is, if management read these remarks why dosen't someone have a stern word in her ear! Top marks to Thomas cook staff. Worked their butts off. Rained a few days but they where always about with a cheery word and games etc. Food was short on choice but edible and enjoyable. Not a resort for disabled.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neale F, General Manager at Hotel BlueBay Paraiso De Albufeira, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Chris

Thank you for your contribution to TripAdvisor. Your insight and comments are extremely valuable to us and motivate us to continue striving to improve our services.

We regret to learn that you had a less than positive experience in the pool snack-bar with a member of staff. We do read all guest comments and look to remedy/correct anything that is not up to standard, and this matter is no exception.

Kind Regards
N. French
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel BlueBay Paraiso De Albufeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel BlueBay Paraiso De Albufeira

Address: Rua Municipio Lote 31 | Cerro Da Alagoa, Albufeira 8200-161, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
#23 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#46 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel BlueBay Paraiso De Albufeira 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel BlueBay Paraiso de Albufeira is a family resort located in the heart of Albufeira. Just a few minutes from the main beach Playa de los Pescadores and the city center, it is the perfect starting point for a vacation surrounded by the intense life of this great tourist resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel BlueBay Paraiso De Albufeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paraiso De Albufeira Hotel Albufeira
Paraiso De Hotel Albufeira
Paraiso Albufeira
Paraiso Hotel Albufeira
Albufeira Paraiso De Hotel
Aparthotel Paraiso De Albufeira
Hotel BlueBay Paraiso De Albufeira Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel BlueBay Paraiso De Albufeira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.