We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe the awful review they are all true!!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel BlueBay Paraiso De Albufeira

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel BlueBay Paraiso De Albufeira to your Saves list
Hotel BlueBay Paraiso De Albufeira
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Municipio Lote 31 | Cerro Da Alagoa, Albufeira 8200-161, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
solihull
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Believe the awful review they are all true!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2007

Spent a fortune on this holiday 2 weeks all inclusive and it has to be one of the worst holidays I have ever had - hotel huge like a giant maze my parents were in the other side of hotel even though requested rooms next to each other...tough!!!! The view was like sitting in my office busy street out the front...nice not!!!! Food very average hotel staff all bar one cute guy behind reception and the cleaners all need personality transplants - pool area dangerous broken tiles wet lawns all day slipped over Oh and in peak season if you want a subed at all then you best be up at 7am yes 7am because by 81.15am they are all gone.....and no germans. Felt sorry for the Thomas cook reps having to do the entertainement in a dark basement when there was a lovely airy caberet bar area upstairs. Kids club for the hotel they were nice. Good location. Wouldnt recommend this hotel at all and certainly wouldnt go back finally watch for the weirdo's who enter the hotel and randomly take photos of your kids!!!!!!

  • Liked — the coach arriving to take us home
  • Disliked — All of it!!!!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    554
    375
    182
    116
See reviews for
753
419
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2007

We have just returned from the aparthotel Paraiso Albufeira,and were scepticle before going, after reading other travellers reviews,but is was a late deal for us, and we hoped it would be relaxing.
The apartments are more than generous on space and in the main are very clean,but on closer examination you find that some of the furnishings are in need of replacement,and the upholstery is a bit grubby.
The hotel itself is again in the main very clean, and always being cleaned,but some high traffic areas of carpet require replacing.
The garden area and outside pool area are spotless,and again always being swept and hosed down,but this area becomes swamped by families with children,and the pool is fairly small for the number of guests.If you are hoping for some secluded little corner away from the children ;Forget it!.
The restaurants are spotless,but the food needs to be hotter,especially at breakfast.Here again unless you go to the A La Carte restaurant, you will be surrounded by noisy and sometimes unruly children.Best advice is to have your meal at 19;00 hrs,as soon as restaurant opens.
We went on All Inclusive basis,and glad we did,as it appeared to be non stop spending for others.Having said this not everything was included for us[no surprise there].There was a charge for the hire of sunbed mattresses,cray golf clubs, tennis rackets,slush puppie ice drinks,and our room safe, to name a few.[Parasols in short supply]
Beware the showmanship of the reps!,it will lull you into a false sense of security.The welcome meeting left us believing they were great.The truth is some had no idea of distances, when asked for directions,and gave the impression [Am I Bothered?]and no-one ever ensured their clients were on the correct coach for a trip,or gave us any clues as to timings.
Finally, beware the check in desks at Faro.Ours dealt with three different destinations, and joy of joys, one of our suitcases ended up somewhere completely different!,Which by the way one of the reps had told us in a previous request for a luggage label[Which they no longer use]would never happen!!
To summerise;We could see why it suited families,but we don't recommend it for couples.

  • Liked — spacious rooms
  • Disliked — too many children,and food not hot enough.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2007

Just got back from the paraiso (27/09/07). Was rather worried after reading some of the reviews, but there really is nothing to worry about. The reception desk is open 24hours and staff were always helpful. Stayed in a studio appartment which was nice and spacious. The room and bathroom were very clean, and we got new sheets and towels six days out of seven.

We decided to go all inclusive which was a great decision.didnt spend a penny whilst in the hotel, although only get free drinks until 11pm. Food was varied and and always lots of choice, although i can imagine in peak of summer season it can get hectic.

Entertainment is aimed at the children and can be slightly irritating around the pool during the day. There is always lots going on and a large games room.

We ate at both restaurants in the hotel both of which were nice and also ate out in the old town which was lovely. Old town full of good restaurants and bars, but the strip/new town was slightly tacky and after visiting in the day decided not to visit at night.

We took two trips, one to the zoomarine which was great and we had a brilliant day!shows on throughout the day and 4D cinema great.Its definately a must do. Second trip was to algarve shopping centre which was nice to have a look round for an hour or so but not enought there for a full day. Then after shopping visited 'Fiesa' which was sand sculptures and was really nice to look around but again not a full day and as we visited at the end of the season there was limited things to do there.

We had a great holiday and were sad to come home. Would recommend the paraiso and go back again.

  • Liked — its great location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — busy lifts
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2007

Yet again the Paraiso did not disapoint. Have now been to the Paraiso 5 times and the standard has not slipped, yeh it could do with a lick of paint, but doesnt every hotel coming up to the end of the summer season, but its a very clean hotel and has so much going on for all ages.


Great Idea this year of only allowing inflatables in one area of the swimming pool as it was becoming ridiculous in previous years with them taking over the whole pool. And the life guards do a great job of sorting out anyone who ignores the pools rules :)

Right in the centre of Albufeira you are only 15 mins from the strip and the old town, so caters for all tastes.

Staff as usual were very friendly big shouts to Luis, Joel and Bruno in the bar, hilarious as usual.

Bring on the next visit cannot wait.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2007

I've just got back from a week at the Paraiso (me, the wife and two kids) and after reading some of the reviews on here before we left was a little worried to say the least.....safe to say I shouldn't have been.

As I say, we've just spent a week there and had a great time, yes the hotel could do with a lick of paint in some areas and a general spruce up but what hotel doesn't after a long hard holiday season. Yes the hotel does run out of sun beds some days , but what can you expect when you get a load of numpties going out at 6:30 in the morning, doing the 'it's my sun bed' thing and then not using them for the best part of the day?

The rooms are spacious, clean, secure (although,as mentioned, could do with a general spruce up) and cleaned 6 out of 7 days , have the towels changed 6 out of 7 days and the bed linen changed 4 out of 7 days. The restautants are clean, the food is always hot and they vary whats served each day (from carvery style meats to American themed days to varying pastas and fresh fruit. We used all of the restaurants in the hotel and never experienced a single queue, no hunting around for a table and never a lack of food.

The pool was large with more than enough space for everyone who wanted to use it, but we found the kids pool too small for all the younger kids who needed to use it. Quisically they had chosen to cordon off the shallow end of the main pool for ' inflatables only' which did narrow the choice for young kids and non swimmers.

The grounds are well maintained and, as is a must these days, is totally secure for your little ones to run around in (there are 6 foot plus security fences all around the perimeter and the entire hotel is covered by CCTV. Contrary to what other reviews have suggested, we found the staff (from the cleaners to reception to those in the restarants and bars) always polite and helpful and always a smile and a friendly welcome.

The kids club is great as are the kids club staff, lots to do all the time for the little ones. The nightime entertainment is geared towards the kids, but they'll love it, and the entertainment staff are great fun. If you're up for a laugh yourself you'll enjoy it too!!

As for the surrounding area, the beaches are superb with nearest to the hotel (Fishermans beach) around a 20 minute walk. Albufeira is a little hilly so consider taking the hotel courtesy bus if you have toddlers. The old town (down by fishermans beach) is full of good restaurants and bars and well worth a look. If you are looking for something more lively then do check out the strip as it's does exactly what it was designed for, bars, food, music and entertainment.

Overall the hotel maybe not a four star by UK standards but probably a 3 star, 3 star+. Well worth a visit though.

  • Liked — It was clean, tidy and secure and provided good entertainment for families.
  • Disliked — The in-house shops are very expensive compared to the the Modelo which is just up the road
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2007

This is the 2nd year that my husband, my son (14 years) and I have visited the Paraiso and once again we were not disappointed.Last year went with a tour operator - this year booked direct and saved £500 off the brochure price.

The hotel is in the centre of Albuferia - turn right for the Strip, turn left for the Old Town - both are a comfortable 15 - 20 minutes walk - both have excellant beaches.

Having read some of the negative reports posted this year, I felt the need to write a report and redress the balance a bit.

Accomodation - Yes the hotel could do with a bit of sprucing up in places - a paint job/replacement of carpets would not go amiss in some areas. However, despite this the rooms and public areas are always kept spotlessly clean. Always opt for an apartment not a studio - the apartments are huge and well stocked.

The Pool - Yes the pool is too small for the number of guests staying in high season. Although bathing/ball games were possible and enjoyable in the morning, post 2.00pm the pool became uncomfortably crowded. Thankfully. the hotel restricts the use of inflatables to a small, shallow end of the pool. Don't some parents realise that small kids in deep water unsupervised on an inflatable is dangerous and large kids on infatables are just a nuisance to other bathers.

Lack of sunbeds - We stayed during the first week of August and although we didn't experience any problems in finding a sunbed for the first half of the week, this changed for the later half of the week with the new arrivals forcing the 7.00am sunbed scrum.
The sunbed issue was exacerbated by a small selfish minority of guests (particularly in groups) who would reserve beds which appeared to be never used. Anyway there are plenty of grassy areas around the pool to sit on, so take a rug and you will never have to worry about the lack of sunbeds.

Entertainment - We go on holiday to relax not to be entertained so can't comment on the quality of the daytime entertainment. As for the evening entertainment, considered it to be standard multi-national hotel bar entertainment - no better no worse.

Standard of food - We opted just for B&B this year (last year went half board) - not because we thought that there was anything wrong with the hotel food last year but there are so many restaurants in the Strip and Old Town that we wanted to try this time. The breakfast - buffet style - was always fresh and although the same each day, there was a varied choice.

Queues - If you don't want to queue for your food then do not leave it till half an hour before the restaurant closes to eat.

Lifts - Resorted to using the stairs most evenings as the lifts were unavailable as being used as a source of entertainment by unsupervised kids.

TIP - Before parting with your money to the Reps for day trips, check out the brochure from reception - all trips offered by your tour company are availabale from local operators at a much cheaper cost (and yes the reps. speak english)

One point I would like to make though is to those who choose to go All Inclusive - AI is just one option that this hotel offers and just because you have opted to pay 1 price and nothing else, it does not mean that you have priority over the hotel staff or its facilities. Guests who choose to pay for food/drinks as they want them have as much right to be served as you. Also, this hotel caters for guests from a number of different countries - this is not a UK exclusive hotel! Reference my comments about the evening entertainment - you may consider a singer every night boring, but 50% of the audience wouldn't find a British stand up comic funny as they wouldn't understand them!!!

In summary - if your dream holiday is lying by the pool each day contemplating your next meal (which you have already paid for), whilst someone else entertains your kids, this hotel is not for you. However, if you are looking for a good standard of accomodation with good facilities, which is very centrally placed for Albuferia and the surrounding area, this hotel is for you.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — All Inclusive guests
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2007

Brochure looks wonderful,everything you want on a holiday NOT.
NOT 4 Star.
Food basic.
Reception desk miserable and unhelpfull.
Book in advance for rooms together no chance can't help you.
Drinks finish at 11o'clock for all inclusive.
Balconey on 8th floor dangerous no bars.
Evening Entertainment the biggest joke of all.
Complain to thomas cook reps waste of time.

Your choice good luck. Can't say i didn't warn you.

  • Liked — Pool
  • Disliked — Entertainment in the Evening
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel BlueBay Paraiso De Albufeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel BlueBay Paraiso De Albufeira

Address: Rua Municipio Lote 31 | Cerro Da Alagoa, Albufeira 8200-161, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
#23 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#46 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel BlueBay Paraiso De Albufeira 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel BlueBay Paraiso de Albufeira is a family resort located in the heart of Albufeira. Just a few minutes from the main beach Playa de los Pescadores and the city center, it is the perfect starting point for a vacation surrounded by the intense life of this great tourist resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel BlueBay Paraiso De Albufeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paraiso De Albufeira Hotel Albufeira
Paraiso De Hotel Albufeira
Paraiso Albufeira
Paraiso Hotel Albufeira
Albufeira Paraiso De Hotel
Aparthotel Paraiso De Albufeira
Hotel BlueBay Paraiso De Albufeira Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel BlueBay Paraiso De Albufeira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.