We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wont go here again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pateo Village Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pateo Village Apartments to your Saves list
Pateo Village Apartments
3.0 of 5 Apartment Hotel   |   Pateo Village - Apt 908 | Rua Bem Parece - Pateo, Albufeira 8200, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“wont go here again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

we have just spent a week here after reading the reviews before we left. we decided to take the good with the bad and fine out for ourselves.
on arrival we was given a key and receptionist pointed to the way we was on the first floor room 208 nice and spacious but no bed. apartment had an awful smell so opened up the patio doors.after looking around we had a sofa bed which had a bed that pulled out underneath .
what a noise it made when pulled out so decided to have both mattress on the floor.
the bath towels where changed everyday and bins emptied but never did we have our sheets changed the whole week we was there.just the shop on site opened on the 4 day of being there not much to choose from had the same product spread right across the shelf just to look full. cats roam around glad we wasn't on the ground floor and the dog around the swimming pool also every night a dog barking non stop.
bar wasn't open during the day opened at 5pm and happy hour 7pm till 8.30pm but had to wait a while for service as there was only one member of staff doing reception shop and bar. waited even longer when she had to go and change the barrel.
just down the road is mama mia 2 which do nice food and prices very good also bus stop just outside 1.40 to go to old town taxi rank there as well so don't have to pay 50 cent for phone call from reception
would i go back here again ? no but would stay in Portugal but somewhere else

Room Tip: if you do decide to check this place out don't have a ground floor as the cats will be in throug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    145
    80
    32
    28
See reviews for
118
126
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at the Pateo Village and once again we were not disappointed. Our apartment was large and airy and very clean. It had everything that we required and the extra pillows we asked for were delivered in record time.
Ok so the hotel shop wasn't open and the bar was empty whenever we looked in but its March and you don't expect the bar to be busy. There is a little café/bar about 50 metres from the hotel which sells the most divine coffee and ham & cheese toasties so it is well worth a visit.
The pool was too cold to use but the indoor pool was clean and a nice temperature as well as the Jacuzzi.
My advice is to give this place a try - the only downside is that it is situated at the top of quite a steep hill but taxis are readily available and it only costs 5 euros from the hotel to the old village square where there is plenty of places to eat and nice shops to look round

Room Tip: ask for a room on the top floor as the balconies are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed here when we recently visited portugal and although I really enjoyed my first visit to the Algarve this place really was below the standard expected. If this place was in the UK or Ireland I believe it would not even be eligible for a star rating, never mind the three star rating it has been awarded. When we arrived the welcome was very cold like the receptionist was not happy to see us, we recieved our key and made our way to the room. When we entered the room on the ground floor we were met by the smell of very strong bleach which made the apartment smell very unpleasant. Although the apartment was clean it was very dated and this made it appear very rough around the edges and look "unclean". Even for a "Studio Apartment" space was limited so much that the two single prison beds provided where merging into the kitchen. They were terrible, uncomfortable, creaky and at two different heights which made pushing them together to salvage any form of double bed impossible. I can confirm like other reviewers that the stray dogs and cats situation is not an exaggeration, every time we opened the door to get a bit of fresh air they tried to enter the apartment and on one occassion after going to the bathroom I returned to find a black cat in the kitchen. I could write about this place all day and still I wouldnt be finished writing about the negatives. There is actually not one positive I can comment on. Very quiet location out of town which is a 20 minute walk up hill to get back to the apartments. Very noisy when people move upstairs. Just do me a favour and dont book this place because it will put you in bad form.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Well,reading some of the reviews,and what it cost us for a week self catering at the pateo village I was expecting a hovel.How wrong was I,its clean,in good repair with free wi-fi as well.Its also not to far out of the old town,5 minutes walk to the first bars.Dont buy anything from the on site super market,it's way to expensive,either pop down to the alisuper which is just behind mama Mia 2 or do the 20 minute walk along the main rd to lidl and aldi which are across the road from each other.Kitchen area was good but the beds where only ok and that was after we had flipped the mattresses,before that we where getting springs in the back!
All in all though a place I would happily visit again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Stayed in March 2014 for 4 nights. We booked a studio apartment so we expected to be sleeping on sofa beds but they were so uncomfortable we hardly got any sleep at all and came back shattered.

The rooms were spacious and clean but are due an upgrade. We didn't pay the earth so we believe we got what we paid for as it was cheap and cheerful. If we were to return to Albuferia we would probably try to get a hotel closer to the old town as after a day of walking around it was quite a hike up the hill.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room on the groun floor unless you want a visit for the cats.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014


My 2nd visit here, my husbands 1st for his birthday. 1st time with girls we had ground floor room 119 and it was perfect. Overlooking 2 pools and easy for in and out of room when round pool. This time we had 229 on 1st floor and as usual the apartment was large and very well equipped in comparison to some in Portugal. Also extremely clean. Preferred 119 as im not good with stairs and preffered a pool view. 229 looks onto the massive impressive banana tree and on some of the impeccably kept gardens which are solar lit in the evening. As there were just the 2 of us the apartment had the bedroom door locked and we had a sofa bed and a camp bed in the lounge. We asked to upgrade and have the bedroom opened which was duly done the next day. However, as it had been locked up it was a little damp and musty, due to serious health issues I was unable to use the room. I was not charged and we just closed the door. The Management never came to check if we were using it free and this for me is testimony to good service. The bedroom in room 119 back in November 2013 was fine but I assume it had been opened up and aired in advance. I would recommend upgrading to an apartment rather than studio as it is very low cost and if they are aware they ensure the room is well aired. We did however have a good sleep on the sofas. The indoor pool is heated as is the jacuzzi but use it or it may be closed early. The temperature of the water is lovely. Anyone a little immobile be aware there is a hill from the main road up to the apartments. Can be a struggle, but staff will call you a taxi for 50 cents and its only 3 euro 25 cents to Old Town five minutes away so no need to get hill kill.....staff are polite and helpful, Matilde and Ludmila especially but I feel they need more staff around the place. Bar prices really good in happy hour (actually 90 mins) but bar open only between 1700 and midnight. May differ in summer? Will I go back? Yes! Cheap, cheerful, clean, will go in September with friends and would like to see the mini market and poolside coffee shop open.......and the weather.........bloody wonderful!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

After reading a few bad reviews about Pateo Village, I was a bit worried about going. We went the 1st week in March, the rooms are great, big living area, full kitchen including oven, good bathroom and bedroom has triple wardrobe, chest of drawers, dressing table and 2 bedside cabinets, I did take advice on other reviews as we had booked a studio, it is well worth 5 euros per night to get the bedroom door opened. The coffee shop etc wasnt opened when we were there but you could see it was getting ready for the season, the shop in the complex was also getting ready to open but there was a small shop at reception, Lidl is a 15 minute walk away and a taxi back is less than 5 euros. The grounds of the hotel are lovely, really well kept and spotless, we had a ground floor room, right beside the 2 outdoor pools, although the pools were a bit cold in March the indoor pool and jacuzzi were great, happy hour in the bar 7 to 8.30 was great (buy one get one free), the old town is a 15 minute walk away all downhill, we always got a taxi back as it was only 4 euros. Mamma Mia 2 is a brilliant wee restaurant just around the corner, their food was great and really cheap, they also have a great variety, their specials are just 6.50, so you would never starve. I would definately recommend Pateo Village and will definately be returning next year.

Room Tip: Although we usually like high floors, we were in a ground floor room right beside the pool, we got t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pateo Village Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pateo Village Apartments

Address: Pateo Village - Apt 908 | Rua Bem Parece - Pateo, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pateo Village Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Pateo Village Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pateo Village Apartments Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve
Pateo Village Apartments Hotel Albufeira
Pateo Village Albufeira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pateo Village Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.