We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Gale Praia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Vila Gale Praia to your Saves list
Vila Gale Praia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia da Gale | Apartado 2204, Albufeira 8200-917, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I wanted a good-sized pool, a gym, privacy and sun. My husband wanted great food, quiet surroundings, a spa and a stylish retreat. We were both delighted! The food is utterly fantastic, and in hindsight we should have opted in for full board. Hugely varied breakfast buffet, great value lunches and high quality dinners meant we only ate out twice during our week-long stay. The staff are incredibly attentive and pretty much all bi-lingual. We cannot WAIT to return!
Room 318 has a fantastic view and wonderful sun terrace. Recommend!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Praia, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank your preference.
Your opinion is important for us.

Kind Regards

César Gaspar
(GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    82
    20
    3
    1
See reviews for
24
255
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

omg this is by far the best hotel we have ever stayed in. great facilities and the staff cannot do enough for you. as stated already this is a child free hotel which results in a nice quiet holiday but is only a short taxi ride to town. The beaches nearby are amazing especially the one to your left as it is like a private beach.

All the restaurants around the hotel are brilliant and good value for money. We cannot wait to return next year for more fun in the sun

Room Tip: rooms with a pool view 307 is a fab room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Praia, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you your visit and preference.
The reviews are important for us, to maintain high quality and guest satisfaction.

Kind Regards

César Gaspar
(GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is an ideal hotel for an adult only place to relax and enjoy peace and quiet without small kids screaming their heads off all day :-)

The rooms are pretty basic and the TV is in urgent need of an upgrade even just to watch the news for half an hour. There is a fridge but no coffee making facilities and in my opinion the AC is not adequate.

Breakfast has a wide choice and is on until 11:00 when the bar opens so no complaints there! The pool area as mentioned is quiet and there are plenty of sun beds that are not usually all taken, again there are the few that "bags" a bed and disappear for hours which is selfish and not monitored by hotel staff.

The hotels location is ideal for the beach and the three bar / restaurants located there which all provide good food for a fair price. The Jamaica bar in the hotel complex is fantastic value for money where you can get snacks and drinks all day and night for a price you would not believe.. give it a try please!!

I think the hotel flatters itself giving it a four star rating, it has a number of good facilities which must tick all the boxes for a four star but there are a number of things missing such as a porter, a turn down service, pool towels at the pool, a stocked mini bar, coffee maker. The rate is similar to the Tivoli Victoria, which is a bigger hotel but has all the afore mentioned services, but allows kids.. So you pay your money and take your choice. For me despite some things lacking, and a really bad smell of drains in the public areas I would still come back again.

Room Tip: The pool view rooms are extra and get the sun all afternoon which can make them really hot go for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Praia, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you your visit and preference.
The reviews are important for us, to maintain high quality and guest satisfaction.

Kind Regards

César Gaspar
(GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I have just returned from one of the best hotel experiences I have ever had.From checking in to checking out I cannot think of a single thing to complain about...how rare is that? This is only the second time I have stayed in a small hotel and both of my experiences have been much better than the larger impersonal ones. There was never a queue for anything...No towel reserving Sun lounger s at silly o'clock, and no screaming children which made it a totally chilled out holiday.The staff were all very friendly,the rooms very well appointed and the evening menu of a very high calibre with waiter service,not the usual buffet style. The area is very quiet with only a handful of bar/ restaurants but within an easy taxi ride to Albufeira

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet but a pool view is a bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Praia, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad for the pleasure time you had with us.
We wait for you on next trip to Algarve.

Kind Regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Me & my partner stayed here for a short 5 day break, I can only reiterate other reviews.
Very peaceful, hotel's standards are excellent, very modern & all our needs we're catered for.
We enjoyed a couples massage in the spa which was great value for money, we had it carried out at the same time in the same treatment room, this was an amazing treat for my boyfriend who had never had a massage before.
The hotel is 5 minute walk to the beach, amazing location for a peaceful relaxing break.
We stayed at the hotel on half board basis, breakfast was delicious, if you want toast just ask, Fillip was amazing in the restaurant & always happy to help.
Evening meals were delicious, as it is the same menu, anyone staying longer than 7 days may struggle to have a variety.
The strawberry daiquiris cocktails in the bar are deeeelish, Nadia in the bar always remembered my drink each evening which was a nice touch.
Hotel is small which adds to the amazing service, we would definitely return in the future.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Praia, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad for the pleasure time you had with us.
We wait for you on next trip to Algarve.

Kind Regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a short break and loved the fact that it was calm, peaceful and child-free. The staff all went out of their way to be helpful and friendly, yet professional. The hotel was modern and spotlessly clean. I usually prefer country-house style hotels in England, but this was just right with a cool atmosphere and very comfortable.

The air conditioning kept the room cool and we had everything we needed, except perhaps a chair for the desk (although there were two easy chairs) and a mirror above the desk so that it could be used like a dressing table. These were small points that did not detract from our pleasant stay.

Outside, the grounds were most attractive and although most guests availed themselves of the sunny area around the pool we still managed to find the shade we prefer under the sun shades.

Food was a highlight. Breakfast consisted of everything you could wish for, including toast which they offered to make on request. Dinners and lunches were tasty and well-presented with a good choice.

The hotel is about two or three minutes walk to a lovely beach at the end of the road. There is a supermarket behind the hotel if you follow the lane which runs alongside the hotel (thank you to a previous review for this tip). We made use of taxis to Sir Cliff Richard's vineyard (by appointment) and the Algarve shopping centre. If you wish to travel a great deal it may be useful to hire or bring a car as there is no longer a hotel shuttle into Albufeira, only a public bus from the roundabout along the road to the left of the hotel.

We were delighted that we had booked at this hotel and hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: In June, rooms overlooking the pool are shady until about 2 - 3 p.m. but then get the sun. Rooms st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Praia, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad for the pleasure time you had with us.
We wait for you on next trip to Algarve.

Kind Regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oeiras, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Very nice place to rest, relax and take advantage for a very good sea side. No need to be driving. Good swiming pool and SPA. Good Restaurante with pleasant food. Also good wines from private prodution are available. Highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Praia, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Guest
We thank you for you’re visit to our hotel.
We believe that you’re appreciation is important to us.

Kind Regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vila Gale Praia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Praia

Address: Praia da Gale | Apartado 2204, Albufeira 8200-917, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#4 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Praia 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This adult's only hotel is located in a peaceful Gale district of the city, close to the like-named sandy beach. It is about 8 km to the city centre of Albufeira that offers countless shopping and entertainment venues and that can easily be reached by making use of the public bus service that departs from a stop located just 150 m from the hotel. Faro international airport is located some 50 km away. Completely renovated in 2004, this 3 storey hotel has a total of 40 double rooms. Guests have access to a vast pool and garden complex, a spacious foyer with lifts and a 24-hour reception desk, a games room, a TV room, a newspaper stand, several shops, a cosy bar and an air-conditioned a la carte restaurant with a separate non-smoking area. Room and laundry services as well as medical assistance are on offer and guests may make use of the parking facilities. The tastefully decorated rooms come equipped with a bathroom with hairdryer, a telephone, LCD TV with cable, a hi-fi stereo system, a kitchenette, a minibar/fridge, a double bed, carpeting, air conditioning, central heating, a hire safe, a sitting area and a balcony or terrace. In the outdoor area there is a swimming pool, a snack bar and a sun terrace with parasols and sun loungers laid out ready for use. It is also possible to make use Satsanga Spa with mega Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room/Turkish bath, fitness room, a massage service and beauty treatments. The nearest golf course is approximately 1 km away. Guests may select their breakfast from a wide buffet; lunch and dinner may be chosen from a menu although the evening meal may alternatively be taken a la carte. Guests have the opportunity to book a half board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vila Gale Praia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Praia Hotel
Vila Gale Praia Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila Gale Praia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.