We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most amazing stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Gale Praia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Vila Gale Praia to your Saves list
Vila Gale Praia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia da Gale | Apartado 2204, Albufeira 8200-917, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Most amazing stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012 via mobile

Just back from a week in this hotel. Felt like a 5 star. Breakfast was fab every morning. Hot food was tasty. Fresh fruit. The spa was just amazing. Nice to wander about in fluffy robe for the day if you wanted. Sauna and steam room plus jacuzzi were clean and uncrowned. Buses several times a day to Albufeira. Beach only a 2 minutes walk away. Would recommend it to couples.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    86
    21
    3
    2
See reviews for
25
269
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

This hotel only has 40 rooms, and clearly aimed at couples and families with older children. Don't expect large king size beds, but two large singles pushed together. This is the only negative. The hotel itself has an extremely friendly atmosphere, with nothing too much trouble to the staff. When you walk into the hotel, you don't get the usual formal reception, but a desk and comfy chair to sit at and check in, and very helpful staff. You are welcomed with a local cup of tea and hot towel.

Although the hotel doesn't have an indoor pool, it has an outdoor pool (not heated), but a full Spa, including fitness centre (weights, bike and exercise equipment), very large Jacuzzi, sauna, Turkish bath and Yoga room. These are all free to guests. Additional services are the massages and spa treatments. There are also 2 tennis courts, but not sure if these are free or not.

The restaurant has a good buffet breakfast with cereals, breads, cold meats and cheeses, fresh fruit as well as hot food (bacon, scrambled eggs, mushrooms, baked beans etc). Fried and poached eggs as well as toast is cooked to order. Evening meals are also served in this restaurant, and has a reasonable selection of fish, meats and pasta. We ate here once at night and thoroughly enjoyed the meal. The adjacent bar serves cocktails as well as beers and wines, and has large plasma TV.

Close by, there is the excellent Praia Gale beach (2 minutes walk) and 3 beach side restaurants. Almost opposite the hotel is the 2 Michelin star Vila Joya restaurant, then approx 8-10 restaurants within a 20 minute walk, although for many more, you need to go to the centre of Albufeira.

Room Tip: Hotel was pretty quiet when we were there, but we had a room at the end of the corridor that only ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

I was just about to book this hotel for a family golf week in Algarve (3 rooms). The choice was based on recommendations of previous guests. Because there was no information about kids on the website of the hotel, I decided to contact them directly and wasn't expecting such disgrace!!

Indeed, the person of the hotel told me straight away that my baby would have to take an extra room, because the management of the hotel considers a 2 years old as a standard guest. After discussing few minutes, I had the weird feeling that nothing was done for kids, on purpose, to protect the tranquility of the place.

Personally I travel a lot for my business, everywhere in the world, always in 4 or 5 stars hotel, and I can say that I have never seen such discrimination. I am very disappointed about the behavior of this hotel, which hasn't the same view of a successful family holiday.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsash
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

We very rarely go back to a hotel, but we were so pleased that we did. This is the hotel to stay at if you want a quiet and peaceful holiday, the staff are lovely and we asked for a top floor room and got one of the rooms with a terrace and the room itself was larger than the others which was a nice surprise. Don't go there expecting any nightlife, this is not what the hotel is about and we hope it doesn't change. We ate at the hotel a few times, last time we booked half-board which the hotel doesn't seem to offer anymore but the food was still very good. There are plenty of other restaurants within 15 mins walking distance and we explored more of the local area this time. A week wasn't long enough and the next time we visit we're going to try and stay for two weeks, it's worth booking direct with the hotel as you get some very good deals.

Room Tip: Definitely worth paying extra for a pool view and go for a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Ok, let's get the negatives out of the way first (there weren't many): the building is pretty ugly from the outside; they don't do double beds - just single beds pushed together; you have to pay extra for access to the gym/sauna etc.

Other than than, this hotel is better than perfect. As every turn we were surprised by how they went to make guests' stays as luxurious as possible. Staff we delightful and helpful. The room was supremely comfortable, clean and spacious (and had thick walls), and they food was exquisite.

The hotel is also almost exclusively for couples, so it's very peaceful and child-free.

Gale beach it lovely and though I wouldn't recommend Albufeira generally, this is a little Oasis out of town.

Room Tip: We had a pool-facing room and it was lovely sitting on the balcony at night. Well worth the 10 Euros...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed here for 4 days during our European honeymoon! I wish we had stayed longer. The staff at the hotel was exceptional, they met our every need and even greeted us with a bottle of champagne and a fresh fruit platter when we arrived.

The room was very clean and modern, and the bed was one of the best we had in Europe. The common areas were clean and comfortable, we played pool in the main lounge, and read books from the library. It was so relaxing.

The hotel is a quick watch to a gorgeous beach! The food both in the hotel and near by was fantastic. When I think about my honeymoon all I can think about is how wonderful our stay was here! If you're not feeling the beach, the hotel pool was gorgeous.

The hotel is located just outside of downtown Albufeira but it was perfect. We took the hotel shuttle bus into town one night and had dinner and drinks. It was lovely, but I'm so glad we stayed away from the hustle and bustle.

A great, relaxing and romantic place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We stayed at Vila Gale for four nights two weeks ago and it was lovely. We booked the night before based on Trip Advisor reviews and we are glad we did. Located 10min (10euros) around the corner from Albuferia in a quite suburb, it is peaceful (literally silent) and relaxing. The beach is glorious and golden and not too crowded. You can rent loungers and umbrellas there if you want.

The hotel was lovely, receptionists were so helpful and room was very well equipped. We even borrowed a DVD one night from reception. The pool lovely, plenty of space on loungers and very quiet. There was a nice mix of people there, from older people to younger couples. We ate lunch at the tables by the pool and it was delicious. Breakfast was lovely - don't wait at the door to be seated, just seat yourself and make sure you get some hot bread! Yum! we had a room not facing the pool and it was really good, looked out over the terrace and a the ocean (amazing sunset!). I noticed all of the people with pool rooms had to keep their blinds pulled!

We had dinner at all three of the restuarants on the beach, the one on the far left (facing the beach) was definitley the best. The middle one was ok, good service and a bit more cheap and cheerful. We went into dinner in Albuferia but left after 30min, too much tat and we preffered the peace and quiet and delicious specials in Gale.

There is a supermarket literally 5min walk from the hotel. (Out hotel turn right, go down the side path past the pool and then veer right and follow along and you come out at the supermarket) we got a bit lost the first time we went.

We took a transfer (aranged when we landed) from the kiosk at Faro (BestTours) on a coach and that cost 26 euros for two people to gale. Reception helped us book a really cheap transfer back to faro (36euros) with a company called YellowFish. Very cheap and cheerful and got us there quick in a slightly beaten up people mover!

Recommend Vila Gale - perfect break!

Room Tip: Dont bother paying more for a pool room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vila Gale Praia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Praia

Address: Praia da Gale | Apartado 2204, Albufeira 8200-917, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#4 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Praia 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This adult's only hotel is located in a peaceful Gale district of the city, close to the like-named sandy beach. It is about 8 km to the city centre of Albufeira that offers countless shopping and entertainment venues and that can easily be reached by making use of the public bus service that departs from a stop located just 150 m from the hotel. Faro international airport is located some 50 km away. Completely renovated in 2004, this 3 storey hotel has a total of 40 double rooms. Guests have access to a vast pool and garden complex, a spacious foyer with lifts and a 24-hour reception desk, a games room, a TV room, a newspaper stand, several shops, a cosy bar and an air-conditioned a la carte restaurant with a separate non-smoking area. Room and laundry services as well as medical assistance are on offer and guests may make use of the parking facilities. The tastefully decorated rooms come equipped with a bathroom with hairdryer, a telephone, LCD TV with cable, a hi-fi stereo system, a kitchenette, a minibar/fridge, a double bed, carpeting, air conditioning, central heating, a hire safe, a sitting area and a balcony or terrace. In the outdoor area there is a swimming pool, a snack bar and a sun terrace with parasols and sun loungers laid out ready for use. It is also possible to make use Satsanga Spa with mega Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room/Turkish bath, fitness room, a massage service and beauty treatments. The nearest golf course is approximately 1 km away. Guests may select their breakfast from a wide buffet; lunch and dinner may be chosen from a menu although the evening meal may alternatively be taken a la carte. Guests have the opportunity to book a half board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vila Gale Praia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Praia Hotel
Vila Gale Praia Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila Gale Praia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.