We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing apartments in a perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Sol Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tropical Sol Apartments to your Saves list
Tropical Sol Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Rua Natalia Correia, 11, Albufeira 8200285, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
sussex by the sea
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing apartments in a perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2009

We have just returned from Portugal having had the most amazing holiday. I would recommend this apartment complex to anyone. Clean, spacious and very well equipped apartments (had everything you could need for self-catering including a microwave, toaster, electric hob cooker, fridge and kettle), we had a room on the ground floor with a terrace overlooking the swimming pool - maid service was second to none and I felt the staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. Huge luxurious swimming pool, surrounded by lush grass and lots of palm trees. Lovely tennis court which is floodlit when the sun goes down. The snack bar was very good, a wide choice of food and made fresh to order. We tended to eat out most nights, our favourite restaurant was called the English Kitchen, which is off one of the side roads from the main strip at the top of a hill. Lovely owners and family are very friendly and offer a warm welcome, especially to families/children; they even have toys to keep the little ones amused. The whole complex and resort was very clean, the portugese were extremely friendly and spoke very good english. There was nothing we could fault in Albufeira/or our apartment. The location of the apartments were fantastic - a 5 minute walk to the main strip where all the restaurants/boutiques/bars/nightclubs are and a 15/20 minute stroll to the old town and fisherman's beach which is so pretty. The beaches are clean, and beautiful. I hope you enjoy it as much as we did. We can't wait to go back. Just one word of warning; the temperature during the spring months drops quite a lot in the evening, so a pair of trousers/warm cardigan/jumper/jacket is required. Gloriously hot sunshine during the day though!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    195
    36
    10
    7
See reviews for
170
234
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ayrshire, Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2009

I dont normally use these sites but we enjoyed our stay so much that I would like others to hear about it, It was through this site that helped me decide where to stay in Albufeira.

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, the snack bar served lovely food and were very nice to you, they let you carry out to your apartment if you preferred. We did not use the pool area as at this time of year it is empty and yes freezing cold..! (well the pool was)

Our apartment was ideal as we had our 8 month old dauhter with us, the balcony was very spacious with bamboo loungers so we spent most of the time relaxing there, filled a paddling pool with hot water for the baby so she was happy, the t.v also gives you bbc and itv

There was a lovely snack bar/pub called Angelus just down from the hotel and the staff were very friendly and gave good advice to us (we had our breakfast down there most days)

The only thing about staying in March is that it is pretty much out of season anf the place is very very quiet, mind you we enjoyed having most of the resteraunts, pubs etc to ourselves and I am not joking! Towards the end of the week it started getting busier as Easter was approaching, I would recommend the Scots Rock bar on the bottom end of The Strip, Colin, Donny and John (everyone) were extremely friendly!! The old town was within easy reach (we used the train which runs every 20 mins) and it is lovely to visit and plenty of lovely resteraunts (didnt really find the strip had many)

I would defo reommend this hotel to anyone of any age and of course familes, it was situated just perfect for all the amenities of Albufeira

p.s. take a jacket and warm clothes for at night!! (IT WAS PRETTY COLD!!!) especially in March

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grimsby
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

All the arrangements by Travel Republic were excellent, booking/transfers were efficient and on time. The hotel staffs were polite, efficient and attended to any problems. The room (a studio in the annex) was of reasonable standard and size.
However when the weather is cold (as it was while we were there) the heating in the room was poor. This could be due to the fact that the air conditioning unit was inadequate at ground level, with the result that anyone sitting felt cold. Our Studio was also at the end of the terrace, which could also have had an effect.
We prefer hotels with a little bit more entertainment available, and with a restaurant available for those nights when weather is poor. The Tropical Sol does not have this facility so we would not return for that reason. I do not say this as a complaint merely an observation.
The pool area and area is very nice and spacious, and the hotel cleanliness good

A restaurant that we would recommend is
Restaurante Caravela which is on the right just before the taxi stand on the road up from the worms roundabout towards the strip. They have an excellent tourist menu
With starter choice of 8 main courses and sweet, beer, wine or soft drink 8.5 euros.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2008

Just got back from a week at the Tropical Sol - we cannot recommend this place highly enough. We had a large, very spacious and comfortable studio which was more that adequately furnished and equipped and was very clean. The terrace area had a table and two chairs with two bamboo loungers with thick comfy cushions. The apts were within easy walking distance of the Strip, the beach and also the train service to the Old Town which we fell in love with.
I would also strongly recommend a visit to The Golden Garden chinese restaurant situated at the bottom of the Strip across from Wild & Co restaurant. The food was amazing, the service faultless and the cost absolutely amazing - try the crispy duck with pancakes - to die for!!!
Also try the Portugese steak at Blue Sky situated on one of the streets off the right hand side of the Strip as you walk down - its well signed anyway. A typical portugese place where the welcome was exceptional and the food and service was brilliant.
A word of warning - if offered cheap cigarettes or tobacco - beware.
We had two guys offer us and we almost got totally ripped off - we said what we wanted and within a few mins the guy was back with a large bin bag 'full' of what we had asked for - a refusal to open the bag which was taped closed was enough of an alarm bell for us so we walked away and bought our requirements the legal and usual way - still great bargain.
For cigar smokers, my hubby recommends SALUDOS cigars, much larger than Hamlet etc, and only 10 euros for a box of 25.
We shall certainly go back to the Tropical Sol and revisit the many great eateries we came across but if you only try 2 places, try the two listed above - you will not be disappointed.
Also, the bakery next to the tropical sol is amazing - every morning fresh crusty rolls, butter and cheese. Food has not been the same since we came back!!!!
The large supermarket is a 2-3 min walk from the Sol so everything is ideally situated for a carefree, stressless self catering break - even at night, the bar at the hotel had no problem giving us a jug of ice cubes - nothing was too much.
Enjoy!!!

  • Liked — clean, spacious and well equipped
  • Disliked — Cannot think of anything negative
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2008

Just spent a week at the Tropical Sol apartments. They were spotlesslesly clean very large one bedroom apartment. Pool area superb, friendly staff throughout. Surrounding area beautiful within easy reach of "the strip" , the old town, and bus station. Fat Cats bar diner across the road, where Michelle and Gary made us extremely welcome, great food cooked fresh for you and delicious, very friendly atmosphere. Will defo be booking up for next summer.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — too short a stay
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2008

We have just come back from a week at the Tropical Sol and had one of the best holidays ever. We had a 2 bed apartment which was HUGE with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a huge living area with a kitchen just off this and a very big flat screen tv, with bbc 1, ITV, bbc news ect... We had maids come in every day and make our beds, the staff are all very friendly, the snack bar is one of the best I have ever eaten at the food was FAB and again the staff here were really nice. The pool area was great and my daughter stayed in this nearly all day, every day (we only went to the beach once as she loved the pool so much). The complex is sooooo clean and they are always cleaning the pool in the mornings.

I can not rate the complex enough, I would never normally write anything on a site like this but because we had such a nice time I felt I had to. I travelled to a 4* hotel in the canaries in Mar and it was not a patch on this complex, including the food! I was a bit worried about the weather, but again was not disappointed we had one cloudy day and the other 6 we had clear blue skies, and nice and hot.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2008

Absolutley Fabulous!!! The hotel was so clean, very good size apartments, great pool area, the Snack bar staff were wonderful, they were so friendly and their food was lovely and cheap, They had happy hour between 3-7 1.50 Euro per pint and alot of people took full advantage of that!!! - Before we left we had a whip round to show our appreication.

We went between 11th and 18th of September, weather still lovely, but pool did take your breath away!! would go back again this time of year.

They have Karaoke 'Taffy Karaoke' every week which is a good laugh.

The strip was nice, had some nice bar's and places to eat. the old town we thought was much better, beaches are great!

I came with a group of Family/Friends, there was 14 of us, our ages ranged from 18 to Mid 50's and there was something for all of us, we all had a great time and would recommend to everyone.

Think on the previous review they called us the 'Clampit' family!!! Now who goes on holiday for a good time EVERYONE!!! think because there was alot of us we were louder than any other of the residents. I think drinking Strongbow from 10 in the morning is a slight exaggeration, I didnt drink during the day as a few other of my group didnt, Some of the other holiday makers joined in with us, we met a lovely couple from Dagenham and Scotland and a few others. Good Time had by all

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropical Sol Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Sol Apartments

Address: Rua Natalia Correia, 11, Albufeira 8200285, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropical Sol Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tropical Sol Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Sol Apartments Hotel Albufeira
Tropical Sol Albufeira
Tropical Sol Apartments Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Sol Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.