We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outdated, would not return” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Silchoro Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Silchoro Apartments to your Saves list
Silchoro Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praceta Jaime Cortesao Apartado 682, Albufeira 8200, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Belfast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“outdated, would not return”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

me and 3 friends stayed here in july, the lifts were old and scary, reception was old-fashioned, the rooms were very outdated and uncomfortable, restaurant was constantly empty and did not have much choice, the pool was ok and we did make the most of our holiday by going into the Albufeira strip or the new town every night. when we booked we were told the hotel was walking distance to the restaurants and bars - it was not. everywhere we went we had to get taxis. would definitely not return nor recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    114
    59
    36
    28
See reviews for
72
93
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

me and five friends went and stayed in the silchoro hotel never again . its a dump, staff not abit friendly. instead of enjoying the holiday we couldnt wait to get home, a bad idea for anyone to go really couldnt wait to get back on the plane to belfast so that must tell you something.this hotel isnt close to the town you would have to get a taxi,it is not safe to walk as we found out ..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Just got back and i found this to be one of the friendliest places i,ve stayed in,good and friendly staff (all) and lots of hot water and was clean and tidy.For the price i paid it was excellent good value for money and i didn,t hear one complaint.

Room Tip: i stayed on the 4th floor reception is on the 3rd floor below that and i think you might not get muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballyclare, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed in the Silchoro for a week in October and were pleasantly delighted with the hotel after reading some of the not so good reviews on here. Obviously i can only comment on our room, which was on the 4th floor (6th floor by the hotel's numbering) and we had a lovely pool view. Our room was very clean, had all the self catering items you needed including a mircowave and a big two-thirds/one-third fridge freezer. The bathroom was a little dated and the loo seat had seen better days but who spends their time in the bathroom! Can't really see the point in having a tv in the room when they only have 5 portuguese channels. The pool area was lovely but the loungers were a different story. About 39 loungers around a huge pool for probably about 80/100 guests and the loungers that were there were either moulded so you could only lie facing up or the regular loungers were cracked and broken. It was a race to get your towel out in the morning. Could do with spending a good few quid on some decent loungers for their guests. I only had reason to visit reception on one occasion when i needed to confirm my airport transfer. The receptionist informed me that for him to call the number i had given him it would cost him about 20 euro. So i said i would do it myself which i did, on my mobile, and i checked when i i got home and it cost me 15p. Did he think i was just going to hand him 20 euro to make a phone call? Fraid not! The hotel location is a wee bit of a walk away from the strip and the walk can get a bit jarring after the first few days, but if you are a taxi user, the location wont be a problem. All in all...a fab hotel for the price...and a great holidau in Portugal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drighlington, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Great location if you want start at the top of the strip. Took us just under 10 minutes to the top. Hotel very nice and staff very friendly. Bird bar is very quiet and opens 9pm til 1am. Library is good where you can take books or add to the collection, swimming pool is cold but you soon warm up if it's a hot day! Weather was 26 to 30 degrees all week. Childs pool is good for toddlers and babys. Rooms are very spacious and if you are in the top floors you can see the sea. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed in Silchoro for 2 weeks.

When we checked in we were greeted by friendly staff who gave us information on our room, and all the facilities they have including a games room, a mini market, a pool that is open 8am to 8pm, tennis court and a bus that runs to and from old town 3 times a day.

We were shown to our room, it was clean and spacious but it was on the very bottom floor which meant I had a lovely view of a wall and no balcony! I had requested when booking my holiday through Jetline that I would like a pool view and balcony.

The next day I spoke to the manager about this asking if I could be moved, he was very apologetic even though this was Jetline's fault for not communicating this to them but he was very understanding and he asked me to come back to him in 2 days, so I did and he handed me keys to a room on the 7th floor and was extremely pleased to find it had a view of the pool and almost the rest of Albufeira too!

Our room was cleaned everyday except Sundays which was great! The facilities in the room consisted of a fridge freezer, 2 hob rings, plates and bowls, cutlery, a toaster and a tv.

If we didn't fancy cooking, the food in the bar down stairs was cheap and nice so that was a great bonus too.

Everything is a bit dated, but for the price we paid it was perfect.

The location is great, 5 euros in a taxi would get you most places from Silchoro. 10-15 minute walk from the strip too.

The only negative for me was people reserving sunbeds with their towels as it was stated that this was not allowed but after a while, I couldn't beat them so I joined them!

Overall, a very happy customer!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

got back yesterday from a week staying in silchoro apartment, what a great hotel from the start. staff were very friendly on welcome to the hotel, the rooms were very clean and spacious, the food was very good and reasonable priced, pool was clean and staff were up very early cleaning the pool are, looking forward to staying in silchoro apartments again next year.

Room Tip: book the apartments not the studios as the apartments are very good size and can sleep 6 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silchoro Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silchoro Apartments

Address: Praceta Jaime Cortesao Apartado 682, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silchoro Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Silchoro Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silchoro Apartments Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve
Silchoro Apartments Hotel Albufeira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silchoro Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.