We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but superb location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residencial Vila Recife

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residencial Vila Recife to your Saves list
Residencial Vila Recife
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Miguel Bombarda 12, Albufeira 8200-158, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Northern ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Basic but superb location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2008

My husband and I spent 5 days in Vila Recife at end of September and we really enjoyed our stay. Considering we paid £100 for 5 nights for both of us we werent expecting the life of luxury. The hotel is basic but we only needed a shower and a bed. The breakfast, again is basic but you get what you pay for and it ties you over until lunchtime.

The hotel is in an excellent location, although not good for disabled or children in prams as it is downhill to The Square, although it only takes 5 minutes to walk down into the middle of the square, yet you are far enough out of the way to escape the party scene.

Eddy's across the way does some great Piri Piri chicken for 5 euros and they show all the football games. Good for us as we had 2 days of thunderstorms, so saturday and sunday spent in the pub watching live games!! The staff are friendly and attentive.

All in all a good hotel for the price you pay! Will stay again in the future.

  • Liked — basic but clean
  • Disliked — small pool area, not enough sunbeds
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    206
    95
    28
    20
See reviews for
44
256
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2008

Having read just about every review on the net prior to going to the Recife we were totally satisfied with what we got for our money ie. £25 per night for a twin B&B, can you imagine getting anything that cheap back home.

We were the unlucky ones to get a room on the ground floor facing a white wall in the lower basement, not the best but hey we only wanted a room for a bed and shower. As stated by other reviews the hotel and rooms are basic, but spotlessly clean.

The pool area is small with limited sunbeds and there are two rooftop terraces with terrifc views but appears to be where they dump old sunbeds and probably the only area of the hotel that was not kept clean.

The hotel is to be used as a base only as there are no onsite facilities and would probably be totally unsuitable for children.

I found breakfasts fine, ham, cheese, cereals, jam, honey, fresh breads, fruit juices, tea and coffee, again considering what we paid you cannot complain.

On your way down to the old town square lookout for " Bailote " restaurante, sit inside the decor is very stylish with excellent food go for a fish cataplana for two.

Down at the Fishermans Beach there is an indian tucked in a side street called " Minar ". It was a good as anything I have eaten at home with the most tender of lamb. Two course meal for two with rice and nan, a bottle of house red and two coffees for 38 euros takes some beating, GO FOR LAMB.

The resorts drink prices vary massively from about two euros for a large beer in some pubs - 12 euros for two spirits in the centrely located music bars.

If you want basis but clean in a good location go for it, if you desire swim up poolside bars with fresh fruit in your room overlooking golden beaches pay an extra £2000 and go elsewhere.

Enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2008

We stayed at the Vila Recife in September and, as it was booked on a budget, we weren't sure what to expect. However, the location was wonderful and we didn't have any complaints about the hotel. We didn't expect total luxury but the rooms were adequate and well cleaned. We actually stayed in Room 103 and, as can be seen from a fellow reviewer's photo, we didn't have much of a view (a blank white wall) but we didn't really spend much time in our room anyway, preferring to spend time out and about and on the glorious beach. If we wanted time in the sunshine whilst at the Hotel, we tended to use the roof terrace. I think we would be happy to use the hotel again due to its location and almost boutique style of residence. It was our first visit and we enjoyed it immensely.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of view from room(but wasn't that bothered)
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2008

first impression, room and bathroom very clean.opened the curtains to see the view umm what view we were level with the road so half the view was a wall and half was the road nice not!!
beds were clean and comfortable but the nice late at night and in the mornings was dreadfull, any noise in the hotel seemed the echo through the rooms,you could hear people come in late at night, and as for the mornings, house keeping and people checking out was a knightmare, when on holiday you like a lay in not hearing bloody suitcases wheeled down the corridors.
we had the do not distub sign on the door i think in portugeuse that means house keeping talk louder.
the reception staff were very nice and helpfull but would not help to do anything about upgrading us, we were told every one asks that.
well could have been worse there was a floor below us they only had a solid wall to look at and even more noise.

  • Liked — close to town and beach, clean rooms
  • Disliked — the noise during night and early morning
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

We stayed here for the 1st 11 days of September, when we booked I asked for a balcony we could sit on but we did not get one instead we were inland facing a house that was full of children and a little dog that was chained outside all day and did not stop barking, very noisy when the balcony doors were open. Rooms were basic but kept clean and tidy, breakfast got a little boring after the 1st couple of days but you can always go elsewhere as Albufeira had plenty to offer although price have risen a lot more this year but still love it there. Found the Vila Recife OK but would not return, I had walked past it many a time over the years and thought I would like to stay there but I am afraid it did not live up to expectation..

  • Liked — Not a lot
  • Disliked — Quite a lot
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2008

We got a very good deal at this hotel, so it was cheap. The rooms are ok, although it did have a bar fridge which was handy and we also had a kettle (which we asked for). The bathroom was filthy, hair etc, so was not impressed with that. The rooms were very noisy. The hotel is in a good location.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dirthy Bathroom
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2008

Stayed at this hotel for second first, the first time we had a room overlooking pool, This time however we were on the same level as the street, had to keep curtains closed whole stay as cars parked directly outside our window with people walking past constantly. Room is clean but very basic, breakfast not good at all - stale bread with ham, cheese and jam. Hotel very close to old town and is very quiet - which is why we've stayed there twice. After second visit we won't stay again due to location of room and breakfast. Love albuferia, in particular the old town - great restaurants. My parents have recently just stayyed at Hotel Baltum which is same price range as Villa Recife - they've also stayed at Villa Recife - Hotel Baltum was much better for them - again very close to old town and beach.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residencial Vila Recife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Vila Recife

Address: Rua Miguel Bombarda 12, Albufeira 8200-158, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Residencial Vila Recife 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Residencial Vila Recife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Vila Recife Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve
Residencial Vila Recife Hotel Albufeira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residencial Vila Recife, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.