We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residencial Vila Recife

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residencial Vila Recife to your Saves list
Residencial Vila Recife
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Miguel Bombarda 12, Albufeira 8200-158, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Southampton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We enjoyed it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2008

We stayed at the Vila Recife in September and, as it was booked on a budget, we weren't sure what to expect. However, the location was wonderful and we didn't have any complaints about the hotel. We didn't expect total luxury but the rooms were adequate and well cleaned. We actually stayed in Room 103 and, as can be seen from a fellow reviewer's photo, we didn't have much of a view (a blank white wall) but we didn't really spend much time in our room anyway, preferring to spend time out and about and on the glorious beach. If we wanted time in the sunshine whilst at the Hotel, we tended to use the roof terrace. I think we would be happy to use the hotel again due to its location and almost boutique style of residence. It was our first visit and we enjoyed it immensely.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of view from room(but wasn't that bothered)
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    206
    95
    28
    20
See reviews for
44
256
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
suffolk
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2008

first impression, room and bathroom very clean.opened the curtains to see the view umm what view we were level with the road so half the view was a wall and half was the road nice not!!
beds were clean and comfortable but the nice late at night and in the mornings was dreadfull, any noise in the hotel seemed the echo through the rooms,you could hear people come in late at night, and as for the mornings, house keeping and people checking out was a knightmare, when on holiday you like a lay in not hearing bloody suitcases wheeled down the corridors.
we had the do not distub sign on the door i think in portugeuse that means house keeping talk louder.
the reception staff were very nice and helpfull but would not help to do anything about upgrading us, we were told every one asks that.
well could have been worse there was a floor below us they only had a solid wall to look at and even more noise.

  • Liked — close to town and beach, clean rooms
  • Disliked — the noise during night and early morning
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

We stayed here for the 1st 11 days of September, when we booked I asked for a balcony we could sit on but we did not get one instead we were inland facing a house that was full of children and a little dog that was chained outside all day and did not stop barking, very noisy when the balcony doors were open. Rooms were basic but kept clean and tidy, breakfast got a little boring after the 1st couple of days but you can always go elsewhere as Albufeira had plenty to offer although price have risen a lot more this year but still love it there. Found the Vila Recife OK but would not return, I had walked past it many a time over the years and thought I would like to stay there but I am afraid it did not live up to expectation..

  • Liked — Not a lot
  • Disliked — Quite a lot
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2008

We got a very good deal at this hotel, so it was cheap. The rooms are ok, although it did have a bar fridge which was handy and we also had a kettle (which we asked for). The bathroom was filthy, hair etc, so was not impressed with that. The rooms were very noisy. The hotel is in a good location.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dirthy Bathroom
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2008

Stayed at this hotel for second first, the first time we had a room overlooking pool, This time however we were on the same level as the street, had to keep curtains closed whole stay as cars parked directly outside our window with people walking past constantly. Room is clean but very basic, breakfast not good at all - stale bread with ham, cheese and jam. Hotel very close to old town and is very quiet - which is why we've stayed there twice. After second visit we won't stay again due to location of room and breakfast. Love albuferia, in particular the old town - great restaurants. My parents have recently just stayyed at Hotel Baltum which is same price range as Villa Recife - they've also stayed at Villa Recife - Hotel Baltum was much better for them - again very close to old town and beach.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sennen Cove, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

Went over for a 7 day stay to take in a couple of concerts, and catch a bit of sun. As we had done lots of trips recently and decided to economise on the hotel, so this review reflects that this is probably a lower cost hotel than we might normally choose.
It is an old hotel centrally situated in the Old part of Albufeira, about 5 minutes (max) walk to the beach and the night-life of the Old Town (both down steep inclines). The rooms were OK, and kept spotlessly clean by very thorough chambermaids. Our room was reasonably comfortable, twin beds with a bathroom, kettle, fridge, microwave, tv, air con, and a small balcony overlooking a back street. (we slept fine in the room but otherwise was out most of the time).
The hotel has a small pool (not too appealing) which we barely used, it had lost the sun by the time we returned each afternoon.
Breakfast was so so (coffee & rolls) and served in the adjacent cafe/bar.We didn't really care for this bar and save for breakfast gave it no trade. The drinks prices were pretty cheap but it had very little going for it, and invariably had awful music blaring out.
Maybe we were older that the average Recife guests, there were others our age (about 50) but the majority were younger (20s, but no noise or nuisance that we noticed). Most staff at the hotel were fine but the people who seemed in charge both at reception and bar seemed miserable.
Parking near to the hotel is a free-for-all (few guests had cars) but if you searched about you could always find somewhere. We spend most of our days walking a long stretch of beach from Praia de Gale and Amarica de Pera and back which took 4 hrs and was just ideal for us. Eating out in Albufeira was hit or miss, we loved a restaurant (served Cataplana) overlooking to beach (don't remember the name but it was always packed out - 1st one as you reach the beach area from the bar streets), and lunch at the the Salgados golf club was just perfect.
Will we return to Albufeira? probably. Will we stay at the Vila Recife again? probably not.

  • Liked — Clean, convenient, relaxed
  • Disliked — Reception (save 1 lady) not too accomodating, awful music (reggae?) from bar, view from room was poor, pool needs a major re-vamp.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

Stayed here with party of 12 on lads weekend. Three to a room third bed being a camp bed squeezed into the room. And I do mean squeezed. If one person up and walking about the others had to stay in bed. Belive the room rate for this was 115 euros so at £30 each, can't really complain. However, at 100 Euro's for a twin occupany, I think this would be expensive.

However, agree the place is lovely and clean and the best thing is location. 5 minutes to the beach and 5 minutes from the centre of town. Old Town is lovely and had a great weekend without going to the new town /strip.

We drank in Merlins bar over the road from hotel and at 2.5 euros a pint you could not complain. A nice basic hotel, but not for those who wish to spend time in the room. If your just sleeping there its fine. Also note the sun passes over the pool after about 4 oclock. But as beach is 5 mins walk why worry.

  • Liked — Location & Clean
  • Disliked — Small room & small pool
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residencial Vila Recife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Vila Recife

Address: Rua Miguel Bombarda 12, Albufeira 8200-158, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Residencial Vila Recife 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Residencial Vila Recife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Vila Recife Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve
Residencial Vila Recife Hotel Albufeira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residencial Vila Recife, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.