We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get exactly what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Janelas do Mar Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Janelas do Mar Apartments to your Saves list
Janelas do Mar Apartments
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Rua de Correira-Lote 215 | Urbanização de Montechoro, Albufeira 8200-112, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“You get exactly what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We wanted a last minute get away and chose this hotel and it was fine, rooms in need of an upgrade but clean, anything extra you had to pay for, Gym, Sun Lounger mattress and 50 cents to call a taxi!, the staff were friendly, hotel is a short taxi or company mini bus for 5 Euros to old or New Town. I would not rush back, but cant fault the place.
Not close to the beach either if you are requiring a sea view forget it!

Room Tip: The Rooms are called as Studio, however most of them have a separate bedroom that is locked, Studio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    117
    91
    44
    37
See reviews for
98
133
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Would not come back here if you paid me..!! Got here our room was not ready had to wait 3 hrs, and considering we'd been up since 3.45am 12 hrs on we were let's say a little pissed off..!! The woman on reception has the manners of a pig..!! The old town is beautiful would come back to Portugal but defo not this place..!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

went 2 the janelas with my husband 4 a wke 2 words 2 say about janelas fantastic brilliant reception staff were very helpful and polite the appartment was very big with 2 balconies there was plenty of room around the pool the cafe near the pool was cheap and even ad a lovely meal there millies irish bar across the road did a lovely breakfast for 3 euros also they did a barbecue all u can eat on the sat for 7 euros there was a male singer on which was really gd buses outside take u 2 old town and the strip 4 1 euro 40 cents fishermans beach is a must we walked 2 oura beach at bottom of strip once down hill going but steep hill coming bke my legs was hurting 4 2 days but worth a visit u can get a bus down there the appartments ave there own taxi service 4 5 euros which we found gd it was the cheapest and best hol we ever ad 1st time self catering 4 us which we found its better if u no kids with u will defo return at sum point but we do ave a rule never 2 go bke 2 same place but we both said we wd go bke 2 the janelas

Room Tip: block 3 top floor brilliant views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Just back from 2 weeks in Janelas Apartments.
Can't fault the apartments on anything.
Saw some dodgy reviews but on arrival we were greeted professionally & given all info about the apts & facilities.
We had a 10yr & 12yr old with us & they really enjoyed the pools both inside & out.
15 mins walk to the main strip, full of bars & restaurants.
Would definitely book the same again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Loved it, thought the rooms were very spacious and always clean.
Three great pools, a jacuzzi and a gym.
In between The Strip and The Old Town plus a 5 euro bus to the old town and a 15 minute walk to The Strip plus a 10/15 minute walk to the beach.
Perfect for everybody!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Very dated hotel stayed here quite a few years ago – it’s very rare I return to the same hotel but someone else booked it and I remember it being quite reasonable. However times have changed.

Throughout our stay there were problems with one of the lifts constantly getting stuck, the hotel mentions free WIFI but none of us could connect to it from our mobiles or devices but there are computers in the hotel reception where you can go on the internet for ten minutes for €1 so quite reasonable.

The apartments although very spacious could really do with being updated and deep cleaned, the cleaning lady comes every other day around the same time, even if your in your apartment she will clean around you and push you out of the way as I was by a very rude cleaning lady! We had two balcony’s in our apartment both very spacious with fantastic views of the pool, tennis court and mini golf. Plenty of wardrobe space and bathroom very big with a bath and a shower but it just looked really dirty.

Evening entertainment at the hotel is boring either karaoke or a quiz night, can get very noisy at the hotel at night time, saying that most often we didn’t get in until 2am ourselves but a very loud group of guys moved in opposite us and they were getting back around 6 – 7am every morning and just liked to let everyone know about it by standing on their balcony and screaming and shouting for ages but you can’t blame the hotel for that but it would’ve been nice for someone to tell them to be quiet.

There are three swimming pools, two outside and one inside all very good, well cleaned, the smaller one is quieter so nicer to sit and relax by, pool bar also very good with a good choice of food for lunch if not a little overpriced, the bigger pool can get very noisy lots of kids as it has a kiddies pool but a lot of the groups tend to use this pool and bring their own music. The Jacuzzi wasn’t working when we were there.

The hotel itself unfortunately is in the middle of nowhere so location wise it’s far from the best, but there is a bus stop right outside the hotel where you can get a bus to the strip or the old town for €1.40. The hotel also has a mini bus that will take you to the old town in the evening for €5. The Old town is defiantly worth a visit. You can walk to the strip from the hotel which will take you around fifteen minutes (twenty if you wear high heels), there’s plenty of bars, restaurants and nightlife, there’s a beach at both the strip and the old town – the one at the old town is much nicer and you can hire boats there to take you to the caves very reasonable priced. There’s also a bus station 10 – 15 mins walk past the football stadium from the hotel where you can get buses’ to Faro and many other places for a day trip, if you ask reception they will provide you a bus timetable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Reviews are pretty much spot on here, just returned with the girl friend and 3 kids aged 2,6,10 we all loved it, the rooms were big and clean there are loads of sun beds and the facility's are over priced so didn't use them but kids loved the pools and free wifi. Boat trips and slide and splash were excellent excursions, would love to go back here it's such a kid friendly place all around..... Big fat 10/10 for janelas do mar and Portugal... Ps the on site shops daily fresh baguettes are simply worth the trip alone!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Janelas do Mar Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Janelas do Mar Apartments

Address: Rua de Correira-Lote 215 | Urbanização de Montechoro, Albufeira 8200-112, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Janelas do Mar Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Janelas do Mar Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Janelas Do Mar Apartments Hotel Albufeira
Janelas Mar Albufeira
Janelas Do Mar Apartments Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Janelas do Mar Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.