We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy days but disrupted nights” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Gale Atlantico

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Vila Gale Atlantico to your Saves list
Vila Gale Atlantico
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia da Gale, Apart. 2436, Albufeira 8200-995 , Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
suffolk england
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Happy days but disrupted nights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

My daughter and I have just returned from your hotel this is the third time we have been and we love it, we were very dissapointed though that you had stopped the little bus that took us into Albufeira and also the noise we had above our room 016 going on well past midnight which we found out it belonged to staff !!
I hope these things can be rectified for our next holiday with you.

Regards
H Bailey and K Bailey

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Atlantico, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Mrs. H Bailey's and Ms. K Bailey

We thank your preference.
Your opinion is important for us.

Kind Regards

César Gaspar
(GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    107
    41
    11
    5
See reviews for
82
62
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Meopham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Currently staying at the hotel with my family in a Junior suite. The first impression was ok, but it is definitely not a 4 star hotel, more like 3.
The room is very spacious with a bedroom, small bathroom, kitchenette with a breakfast bar, dining area for 4, 2 sofas converting into beds and a balcony.
According to the hotels website they have recently refurbished, must have forgotten our room! All furnuture are covered in plastic like a 1960's car! Not comfortable in a hot country. .. In addition the toilet is placed so you barely have legroom. Worse is that the hot water is different on each tap - in the kitchen and the shower the hot water is to the right, the sink and bide top the left!
EVERYTHING is also extra. Poor internet connection in the room is £15 for the week. Despite providing plates etc you are expected to buy dishwashing supplies yourself - housekeeping does not clean plates and glasses. To use the games room you have to pay - €7.50 per hour to use the pool table. The kids club advertised by travel agents and their own website is a room where you can take your kids to play.
The pool is clean and nice and the location is good. There are loads of families with young kids and the kids pool is very nice. Breakfast is as expected, have not eaten dinner here yet -lots of nice restaurants around.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Atlantico, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you your visit and preference.
The reviews are important for us, to maintain high quality and guest satisfaction.

Kind Regards

César Gaspar
(GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west london
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We didn't stay at Vila Gale Atlantica but were deposited there late at night after a tiring flight by the idiots from Green Bus Shuttle. The shuttle bus didn't wait but rushed off. On trying to check in we were told that we had been taken to the wrong hotel and should have been taken to Vila Gale Priai. Very upsetting as we felt deserted. The purpose of this review is to advise you how helpful the Atlantica staff were. They tried to call Green Bus to no avail, so reassured us our hotel was not too far, offered to walk us there if we wanted, called Vila Gale Priai to confirm they were expecting us (they were) and called a taxi for us at our request.
They could have just seen us as not their problem but they didn't and we were very impressed, so thank you Atlantica.
Vila Gale Priai ended up as being a fantastic holiday destination by the way and we have reviewed them too.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Atlantico, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank your review.
Sorry about the mistake of Green Bus, however is a independent company that is not relationated with Vila Galé Hotels.


Kind Regards

César Gaspar
(GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLAND
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Positive features:
excellent hotel hospitality,daily clean,flat screen TV with many channels(enough English),firm but comfortable beds,good standard of furnishing,good air conditioning,free 24/7 computer access,free pool towels,free electricity,all rooms south sea facing with balcony(small),2 very good supermarkets(Alisuper on Fateixa Street and Apolonia) within 300 metres,close sandy beaches,excellent young children pool facilities,quiet residential area,few English many Portuguese,popular high value €8 buffet breakfast(with sparkling wine!).
Negative features:
No kitchen spatula or iron or clothes airer ,NO shuttle bus to Albufeira,public bus infrequent,taxi would have to called in,indoor pool small,expensive to use pool table or room phone,very good evening buffet but €22 and no external restaurant choices,shuttle bus from airport landing could take 1 to 3 hours(taxi 45 minutes).

Room Tip: 3rd Floor & above for Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Atlantico, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you your visit and preference.
The reviews are important for us, to maintain high quality and guest satisfaction.

Kind Regards

César Gaspar
(GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Went for a week in May 2013 just as a deal for the school hols. Food was superb ,I love salad/fish etc so was happy with the choices. Staff V friendly and helpful. 10 minutes from zoo-marine. 500 yards from superb beaches.
Zero entertainment at night but we tend to eat and go for a walk anyway but tbh naff all for anyone who is stuck inside after 9pm.Nice little library,lovely outdoor pool and nice warm indoor pool if wanted. Ideal for a short break though cant go wrong with this part of Portugal

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Atlantico, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you your visit and preference.
The reviews are important for us, to maintain high quality and guest satisfaction.

Kind Regards

César Gaspar
(GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

This a a big hotel, very well situated with a excelent walking distance to the beach and supermarket.
It has indoor and outdoor swimmingpools, and it is focus to familes with childern. They have children swimming-pools and park.
The price of the SPA and gym is inclued in the price.
The rooms are small studios with kitchen, but th ehotel has a restaurant that serves dinners. In my opinion, a bit overprized.
If you don't like children or noise, avoid this hotel, and choose Vila Galé Praia instead, which is even more near the beach, and more calm.
This Chain of hotels is quite good, so you will enjoy staying there.
The breakfas is great and included in the price.
If you have a Vila Galé card, you can enjoy some nice discounts.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view to the sea. Avoid ground floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Atlantico, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Guest
We thank you for you’re visit to our hotel.
We believe that you’re appreciation is important to us.

Kind Regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The hotel was very good and can only make a few negative points; although the food was excellent, the bacon at breakfast was not english; we had room 25 which was overlooked by the internet station, so the wife kept the curtains closed nearly the whole time for privacy, also it was very noisy with all of the coming and goings. We went the end of September so were disappointed that without warning the entertainment stopped and Gala is a very very quiet place there was little to do in the evenings. Unfortunately it rained everyday, and apparently the hotel does not open its pool side snack bar when its wet or overcast. On our last day the sun did make an appearance and it took a number of requests before the bar finally opened and the lady who was serving obviously was not happy and didn't want to be there.

Room Tip: Dont get room 25 it is noisy and receives no sun whatsoever
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Vila Gale Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Atlantico

Address: Praia da Gale, Apart. 2436, Albufeira 8200-995 , Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#41 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Atlantico 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located about 600 m from the sandy Gale beach (Praia da Gale). Its very own restaurants and a supermarket are to be found in the hotel's vicinity. Public transport links are 100 meters away and it is 6 km from the center of Albufeira. The nearest airport is 50 km away in Faro. The beach hotel was built in 1988 and renovated in 2003. It has a total of 220 rooms over 6 floors all with kitchenette, where we feature 41 standard rooms with ocean view, 98 junior suites and 8 senior suites. The hotel offers wheelchair access ways, a 24 hour reception desk, free Wi-Fi internet connections in public areas, shops, paper stands and a gaming room. The hotel is perfect for children which have their own Kids Club. The hotel has two inviting bars and an air-conditioned a la carte restaurant has a separate non-smoking area and highchairs are also available on request. For business purposes the hotel has a meeting room with Wi-Fi connection. Guests may park their cars either in the hotel car park, or in the garage. The room service and the laundry service round off the hotel's offerings. The inviting rooms are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, LCD TV with Cable, Kitchenette, Wi-Fi Connection and safe (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel features a Health Club that is composed of a set of infrastructures for providing well-being to all customers. You can count on an indoor heated pool, Jacuzzi, steam room Turkish bath, massage and treatment rooms and gym. The outdoor swimming pool is surrounded by a bar, sun loungers and parasols. A buffet is available at breakfast and at dinner. In the evenings there is also an a la carte menu on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Vila Gale Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Atlantico Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila Gale Atlantico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.