We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, near the beach. Ideal for families!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Gale Atlantico

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Vila Gale Atlantico to your Saves list
Vila Gale Atlantico
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia da Gale, Apart. 2436, Albufeira 8200-995 , Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great hotel, near the beach. Ideal for families!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

This a a big hotel, very well situated with a excelent walking distance to the beach and supermarket.
It has indoor and outdoor swimmingpools, and it is focus to familes with childern. They have children swimming-pools and park.
The price of the SPA and gym is inclued in the price.
The rooms are small studios with kitchen, but th ehotel has a restaurant that serves dinners. In my opinion, a bit overprized.
If you don't like children or noise, avoid this hotel, and choose Vila Galé Praia instead, which is even more near the beach, and more calm.
This Chain of hotels is quite good, so you will enjoy staying there.
The breakfas is great and included in the price.
If you have a Vila Galé card, you can enjoy some nice discounts.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view to the sea. Avoid ground floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Atlantico, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Guest
We thank you for you’re visit to our hotel.
We believe that you’re appreciation is important to us.

Kind Regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    100
    37
    11
    5
See reviews for
75
60
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The hotel was very good and can only make a few negative points; although the food was excellent, the bacon at breakfast was not english; we had room 25 which was overlooked by the internet station, so the wife kept the curtains closed nearly the whole time for privacy, also it was very noisy with all of the coming and goings. We went the end of September so were disappointed that without warning the entertainment stopped and Gala is a very very quiet place there was little to do in the evenings. Unfortunately it rained everyday, and apparently the hotel does not open its pool side snack bar when its wet or overcast. On our last day the sun did make an appearance and it took a number of requests before the bar finally opened and the lady who was serving obviously was not happy and didn't want to be there.

Room Tip: Dont get room 25 it is noisy and receives no sun whatsoever
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Just back from honeymoon with the wife and 6 month old baby boy. We both had a great time here and would definitely go back. Room was massive, staff where very helpful they even surprised us with complimentary champagne and chocolate strawberries left in our room while we where out for the day. Provided a travel cot for our son on arrival which was spotless. We were bed and breakfast and the food was spot on with a good selection.
The bar across the street was my favourite place, bar man was a gent, drink was cheap and the food was decent. 2 restaraunts on the beech served nice food and the view of the sunset from the beech was special!
Although it's a bit out of the way it was only 10 euro for a taxi back from Albufeira and the hotel provide a free bus 3 times a day. Looking forward to going back!

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks at the vila gale and must admit I was a little disappointed with the experience. The hotel is dated, the rooms are left over from timeshare or self catering, we had a full kitchen unit in our room with a very loud fridge that hummed all the time, making a decent nights sleep practically impossible.
I paid extra for a sea view which I suppose I got if you call 3 inches of sea viewed between the palm tree if the wind was in the right direction.
The hotel is situated out on a limb with no shops or bars around except the supermarket.

The food was very repetative with the same soup being served for the 14 days we were there, fish dishes which no-one seemed to eat became a feature of the salad dishes, chips everyday, cold rice pudding etc.
On a positive note the cleaning staff did a brilliant job our bedding was changed daily, fresh towels etc.
Best meal of the day was breakfast, nice selection of english and continental breakfast good coffee.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I have just returned having 11 nights at this hotel all inclusive. On arrival I was met by a very helpful receptionist. I was very pleased with the hotel itself I had a lovely room overlooking the swimming pool and had views of the beach. I had a massage also the use of all the facilities ie gym, indoor pool, Jacuzzi etc. It was a very relaxing break. There is a free minibus to take you to Albufeira once you have obtained a ticket from reception.

The only problem was there was not a good variety in the food in the restaurant. I used the outdoor bar for lunch so I could have a change. There was no restaurant to walk out to in the evening or shopping facilities only a supermarket.

On my departure when checking that there was no monies owing the receptionist was not giving me her full attention as I had waited a while before she spoke to me. When the telephone rang she then went off to answer that. I feel that sometimes during the day there is a lack of reception staff in attendance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon_PORTUGAL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Very nice hotel. Big room, well maintained, equiped with a kitchenette. Very close to the beach and supermarket , within 5 m walking distance. Good breakfast.
For dinner try the Restaurante " A Grelha - Ti Manel" with grilled food. The fish "rodizio" was very good, together with the grilled octopus. This restaurant is within 10 m walking distance on the road to "Guia".

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Vila Gale Atlantico for our honeymoon. We were there for and entire week and the whole stay was amazing. The hotel is VERY family-friendly...which made us worry at first since we were celebrating our honeymoon! However, we let the staff know it was our honeymoon before we left for the trip and they situated a quiet room for us away from the noise children can make. They even left a bottle of champagne and fruit for us upon check-in...very thoughtful and completely unnecessary! The pool was gorgeous, large enough for the amount of people, about 200 yard walk to the beach, house-keeping was above and beyond everyday cleaning our room and keeping the entire grounds beautiful. The staff spoke English very well, there are two public computers available with internet in the lobby...that is how we kept in touch with family. There is a shuttle that runs 3 times a day (at no cost) to take you to Old Town Albufeira (beautiful, historical). There is a spa, indoor pool, Jacuzzi, and steam room on the grounds. We used the spa services for a full body massage and facial; very relaxing and Very well priced.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vila Gale Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Atlantico

Address: Praia da Gale, Apart. 2436, Albufeira 8200-995 , Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#37 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Atlantico 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located about 600 m from the sandy Gale beach (Praia da Gale). Its very own restaurants and a supermarket are to be found in the hotel's vicinity. Public transport links are 100 meters away and it is 6 km from the center of Albufeira. The nearest airport is 50 km away in Faro. The beach hotel was built in 1988 and renovated in 2003. It has a total of 220 rooms over 6 floors all with kitchenette, where we feature 41 standard rooms with ocean view, 98 junior suites and 8 senior suites. The hotel offers wheelchair access ways, a 24 hour reception desk, free Wi-Fi internet connections in public areas, shops, paper stands and a gaming room. The hotel is perfect for children which have their own Kids Club. The hotel has two inviting bars and an air-conditioned a la carte restaurant has a separate non-smoking area and highchairs are also available on request. For business purposes the hotel has a meeting room with Wi-Fi connection. Guests may park their cars either in the hotel car park, or in the garage. The room service and the laundry service round off the hotel's offerings. The inviting rooms are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, LCD TV with Cable, Kitchenette, Wi-Fi Connection and safe (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel features a Health Club that is composed of a set of infrastructures for providing well-being to all customers. You can count on an indoor heated pool, Jacuzzi, steam room Turkish bath, massage and treatment rooms and gym. The outdoor swimming pool is surrounded by a bar, sun loungers and parasols. A buffet is available at breakfast and at dinner. In the evenings there is also an a la carte menu on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vila Gale Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Atlantico Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila Gale Atlantico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.