We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Grounds & Very Relaxing.. ..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flor da Laranja

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Flor da Laranja to your Saves list
Flor da Laranja
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pata de Baixo, Vale de Carros, Albufeira 8200, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Grounds & Very Relaxing.. ..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I Stayed at the Flor Da Laranja with my girlfriend for a week from the 17/9/12.

The Weather was perfect 28-30 degrees everyday and it hadn't rained since October 2011.

We stayed in the apartment adjacent to the owners House & were pleasantly suprised by the size of the apartment.

We Had a medium sized bedroom, Large kitchen, Large Living room & a Medium sized Bathroom with shower.

The kitchen has everything you could need (Blender,coffee making machine,Bottle openers,Microwave, Fridge, Cooker etc . .)

There are also 4 bbqs on-site which can be used free of charge with free charcoal.

They even had satelite tv with around 10 English channels ( Sports & Movies & News )

The hotel is quite a distance from anything ( Beach, Strip in albufera , Restaurants ) You 100% need to have a car to get around easily . . . The owner (Gentille) however was very helpful as we didn't have a car and drove us where we wanted to go everyday ( we Gave her a small tip each time for petrol )

The grounds the hotel are set on are very neat & tidy & spotlessly clean. More of a tropical feel to the place than mediteranian as there are bannana trees, pomengranite trees, olive trees, Lemon trees & Scorching weather .. .. ..

They have 2 small pools & 1 kids pool which are very clean but quite cold . . . Always plenty of beds To lay on & also Theres a pool table , playing cards & fusball tables.

The owners also have 2 dogs which live onsite Blancy & charlie both are very friendly & good fun.

There is a place called villamora which is a posh area on the marina which is nice if you want to go for a nice meal & champagne or cocktails ( Fairly quiet - 15 Mins drive from Hotel )

There is also another place called The Albufera strip which is alot more lively if you want to go out & Have a dance to some loud music @ a cheaper price. There are also a few restaurants along this strip & some places to shop.
These are really the only two places to go in the evening with a bit of atmosphere.

The local beach i think is called olus d'agua ( 10 Mins Drive ) You can walk from this beach and climb through the cliffs ( Quite safely ) all the way down to villamora beach.

The owners are two of the nicest people you will ever Meet & are probably the reason why people have been going back there for over 20 years!!!

I would definatley return to this hotel & I am already looking at next years Prices


: )

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms near the main pool as they are away from the main road which can get quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    19
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The "Flor da Laranja" is a beautiful place. You can discover many things in the garden (exotic trees like banana, pepper, fig fruit, pomegranate and and and...) or just relax at one of the two clean pools.

The whole area was very clean and neat. In the appartments you have everything you need for cooking. Also several well equipped BBQ-areas are available.

We enjoyed our stay and want to send greetings from Germany to the fantastic owners Sr. Barreto and his lovely wife and of course to their nice dogs Charlie and Blanky :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Just come back from a great week at Flor da Laranja - cannot recommend this property enough. Great welcome - beautiful grounds, great apartment, clean, everything you need. Towels and bed linen changed every other day. Really helpful owner who was happy to give advise on the local area. Perfectly placed to explore the Algarve - just off the beaten track - a haven of tranquility.

Room Tip: We were in room A6 - brilliant position lovely view over the pool and surrounding area. Quiet locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

We recently come back from a week in Flor De Laranja. We had a lovely time and would definitely consider going back another time. We had a simple studio for the two of us, but was clean and well equipped. A car is definitely a must for ease of getting around and day trips to get away from the more touristy areas of The Algarve. We enjoyed trips to Sagres, Portimao and the beautiful town of Loule to go to the fab market there.
The pool area at Flor De Laranja was quiet and relaxing most of the week we were there although at the weekend there was a rather large group of Portugese bikers and their families that somewhat commandeered the pool and bbq's but apart from that no other problems. BBQ facility is great especially as everything is provided, utensils and charcoal. The owner reckoned my boyfriend could become a champion griller! There was a lovely fish restaurant within walking distance, although watch out for the 'extras' they give you and then get charged for at the end!
All in all this was a great find, good value for money and nice to be away from the main tourist trap of Albufeira, but close enough to visit. The owners were lovely and really friendly and accomodating. Would definitely consider a return visit!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Ok, in a nut shell...clean, friendly, dated, small but perfectly formed! We went here in June 2012, we had a 2 bed apartment that over looked the small parking area. At first we just thougt 'what have we booked???', then we had some sleep and it all looked mush better in the morning!! The rooms are big, but beds very squeeky and hard, bathroom is very small and crampt and the kitchen has everything that you could possibly need on holiday, including a hand blender and coffee machine. The air conditioning is fab....and definatly needed!! The pool is clean and comfortable with plenty of sun beds and space so that you are not on top of eachother. The kids arnt allowed to have inflatables in the pool, however, this was relaxed for the 'baby' pool! There are 2 BBQ areas that can be used at anytime, but must be left clean and there is even a computer with internet accress should you need it. Unfortunatly while we were there, there were also a large group there from Spain for 2 nights, they were noisy and broke things, but they were warned by the owners, bad behaviour was not accepted. If you have very 'lively' children, this might not be the place for you, but if you are parents who look after your children and they are well behaved, it is perfect. There are plenty of regular visitors here, some have been going there for 21 years!! They are all very friendly and helpful. You do need a car here and I would say cancel you airport transfers of £100 (family of 4) and get a car from the airport. The local supermarket is a long hike and good resturants are the same really. The walk from the beach to Villamoura is lovely, but long, not really the best thing to do in 105 heat with a 9 year old and a 4 year old, but they enjoyed spending a lot of time in the pool when we got back!
Over all it is lovely, get past the dated decor and you will have an amazing time!

Room Tip: Block A, for 1 bed choose an upstairs room with 2 balconies. A1 was ours, got the sun from 10 till...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Our 4 night stay at Flor de Laranja was very relaxing. Big, comfortable apartment with lovely pool and bbq area outside. Unfortunately for us it was cool and rainy for our stay but still a beautiful place. Nice and quiet area. Would definately stay there again :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We were travelling with our 3 year old son in the last week of Sept. As has been said the place is difficult to find. What you DO NOT want to do is pay for a transfer there and back and think you can walk everywhere else ; unless you are superfit you can't. You do really need some form of transport (bike if you are fit) or a small car. The closest sandy beach is about a 5 minute drive and the same to the supermarket and small strip. If you are trying to work out where this place is on a map its also about a 5 minute drive from the Sheriton Algarve if that helps!.
Its a small gated family run complex of bunglows and houses divided into 1 and 2 bed apartments. The place is very clean and well looked after but not necessarily considered modern. Outside there are 2 pools, plenty of sun loungers and sunbeds, a drinks machine, table football, snooker table, 3 barbie spots, icecreams and a coffee machine, free laundry with iron. There are also a good selection of books (English).
Inside again the rooms are clean, with a small old fashioned TV (portuguese only no satalite). In our studio was a double bed, fold out sofa bed and fold out single bed. Bathroom had a bath with shower over - lots of hot water, kitchen had cooker, fridge freezer, microwave, coffee machine, toaster and kettle, plenty of plates, cups etc saucepans and even a hand blender if you want to make baby food!. The airconditioning is free and VERY effective (so bring your thermal pjs!). Mossis were around at night so you might want to bring a coil if you want to sit out. also the rooms are not serviced at the weekends and a bit hit and miss in the weekdays . Finally things I would suggest you might want to bring; extra loo roll, nappy sacks (as usual in portugal no loo paper down the loo but they dont provide anybags to put it in just a bin, which if not emptied each day isnt very nice) a decent sharp knife if you are a cook! and some large towels for the pool or beach. Food and any processed food is surprisingly expensive so if you are on a budget consider packing a few bits to take with you. I would also seriously consider taking out excess cover on any car hire. The drivers in the area are crazy every car is marked and ours got hit in the supermarket carpark on 2 seperate occasions.

We loved the place and are happy to recomend it. It's not however somewhere you go for great night life or if you dont intend to keep an eye on your kids. "Free range" badly behaved children (or adults for that matter!) are clearly (and quite rightly in our opinion) not welcomed there. If you however want to have a lovely quiet break though for the money we booked independently so didnt get any little welcome packages etc (and we paid £150 for the week) I truely doubt you will find better.

Room Tip: If you have young children and want to lie by the pool while they nap in the afternoon if you ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flor da Laranja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flor da Laranja

Address: Pata de Baixo, Vale de Carros, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Flor da Laranja 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Flor da Laranja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flor Da Laranja Hotel Albufeira
Flor Da Laranja Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flor da Laranja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.