We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does exactly what it says on the tin.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flor da Laranja

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Flor da Laranja to your Saves list
Flor da Laranja
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pata de Baixo, Vale de Carros, Albufeira 8200, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Does exactly what it says on the tin.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

We recently come back from a week in Flor De Laranja. We had a lovely time and would definitely consider going back another time. We had a simple studio for the two of us, but was clean and well equipped. A car is definitely a must for ease of getting around and day trips to get away from the more touristy areas of The Algarve. We enjoyed trips to Sagres, Portimao and the beautiful town of Loule to go to the fab market there.
The pool area at Flor De Laranja was quiet and relaxing most of the week we were there although at the weekend there was a rather large group of Portugese bikers and their families that somewhat commandeered the pool and bbq's but apart from that no other problems. BBQ facility is great especially as everything is provided, utensils and charcoal. The owner reckoned my boyfriend could become a champion griller! There was a lovely fish restaurant within walking distance, although watch out for the 'extras' they give you and then get charged for at the end!
All in all this was a great find, good value for money and nice to be away from the main tourist trap of Albufeira, but close enough to visit. The owners were lovely and really friendly and accomodating. Would definitely consider a return visit!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    19
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Ok, in a nut shell...clean, friendly, dated, small but perfectly formed! We went here in June 2012, we had a 2 bed apartment that over looked the small parking area. At first we just thougt 'what have we booked???', then we had some sleep and it all looked mush better in the morning!! The rooms are big, but beds very squeeky and hard, bathroom is very small and crampt and the kitchen has everything that you could possibly need on holiday, including a hand blender and coffee machine. The air conditioning is fab....and definatly needed!! The pool is clean and comfortable with plenty of sun beds and space so that you are not on top of eachother. The kids arnt allowed to have inflatables in the pool, however, this was relaxed for the 'baby' pool! There are 2 BBQ areas that can be used at anytime, but must be left clean and there is even a computer with internet accress should you need it. Unfortunatly while we were there, there were also a large group there from Spain for 2 nights, they were noisy and broke things, but they were warned by the owners, bad behaviour was not accepted. If you have very 'lively' children, this might not be the place for you, but if you are parents who look after your children and they are well behaved, it is perfect. There are plenty of regular visitors here, some have been going there for 21 years!! They are all very friendly and helpful. You do need a car here and I would say cancel you airport transfers of £100 (family of 4) and get a car from the airport. The local supermarket is a long hike and good resturants are the same really. The walk from the beach to Villamoura is lovely, but long, not really the best thing to do in 105 heat with a 9 year old and a 4 year old, but they enjoyed spending a lot of time in the pool when we got back!
Over all it is lovely, get past the dated decor and you will have an amazing time!

Room Tip: Block A, for 1 bed choose an upstairs room with 2 balconies. A1 was ours, got the sun from 10 till...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Our 4 night stay at Flor de Laranja was very relaxing. Big, comfortable apartment with lovely pool and bbq area outside. Unfortunately for us it was cool and rainy for our stay but still a beautiful place. Nice and quiet area. Would definately stay there again :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We were travelling with our 3 year old son in the last week of Sept. As has been said the place is difficult to find. What you DO NOT want to do is pay for a transfer there and back and think you can walk everywhere else ; unless you are superfit you can't. You do really need some form of transport (bike if you are fit) or a small car. The closest sandy beach is about a 5 minute drive and the same to the supermarket and small strip. If you are trying to work out where this place is on a map its also about a 5 minute drive from the Sheriton Algarve if that helps!.
Its a small gated family run complex of bunglows and houses divided into 1 and 2 bed apartments. The place is very clean and well looked after but not necessarily considered modern. Outside there are 2 pools, plenty of sun loungers and sunbeds, a drinks machine, table football, snooker table, 3 barbie spots, icecreams and a coffee machine, free laundry with iron. There are also a good selection of books (English).
Inside again the rooms are clean, with a small old fashioned TV (portuguese only no satalite). In our studio was a double bed, fold out sofa bed and fold out single bed. Bathroom had a bath with shower over - lots of hot water, kitchen had cooker, fridge freezer, microwave, coffee machine, toaster and kettle, plenty of plates, cups etc saucepans and even a hand blender if you want to make baby food!. The airconditioning is free and VERY effective (so bring your thermal pjs!). Mossis were around at night so you might want to bring a coil if you want to sit out. also the rooms are not serviced at the weekends and a bit hit and miss in the weekdays . Finally things I would suggest you might want to bring; extra loo roll, nappy sacks (as usual in portugal no loo paper down the loo but they dont provide anybags to put it in just a bin, which if not emptied each day isnt very nice) a decent sharp knife if you are a cook! and some large towels for the pool or beach. Food and any processed food is surprisingly expensive so if you are on a budget consider packing a few bits to take with you. I would also seriously consider taking out excess cover on any car hire. The drivers in the area are crazy every car is marked and ours got hit in the supermarket carpark on 2 seperate occasions.

We loved the place and are happy to recomend it. It's not however somewhere you go for great night life or if you dont intend to keep an eye on your kids. "Free range" badly behaved children (or adults for that matter!) are clearly (and quite rightly in our opinion) not welcomed there. If you however want to have a lovely quiet break though for the money we booked independently so didnt get any little welcome packages etc (and we paid £150 for the week) I truely doubt you will find better.

Room Tip: If you have young children and want to lie by the pool while they nap in the afternoon if you ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

This was our second stay at Flor da Laranja, the first being the last time we were on holiday in Portugal, four years ago.

We like this place as it is a quiet, family-run small apartment complex, in an out of the way location. The facilities include several swimming pools and plenty of outdoor cooking areas, if you fancy a BBQ. There are also plenty of sun loungers and umbrellas to go round. The apartments are spotless and there is a good maid service on most days. You will need a rental car, however, as it is off the beaten track.

The only criticism we had was that we stayed in apartment B3 which has the bedroom closest to the main road and if you have the window open the traffic noise is quite high and seems to go on all night. We did get used to it though, and if you don't want to hear it simply close the window and put the air conditioning on. I believe that apartment B5 also has the same layout.

Overall though we love Flor da Laranja and will definitely be back for a third visit!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whaplode
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

Only had a week at this little jem but we would certainly go back again. As others have said you need a car but most packages include one anyway so not a problem. A perfect place as a center for exploring the algarve as it's almost in the middle,not to far from Faro (about 30 minute drive) and easy to find. If you want the nightlife it's only a 10 minute drive to Albufeira.
Fairly early in the season (1st to 8th May 2011) so apart from Albufeira it was as we like our holidays. Fair selection of resteraunts and bars in the three local villages and a beach that streches from Villamoura to Albufeira so if you like to stroll along the beach your not going to run out of room. Apartments are all self catering but to be honest we only ever had breakfast there and ate out every night as the local food is fairly cheap and plentiful. All in all we would recommend this small compex to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

Stayed here 5th Sept 2010 for two weeks. Fabulous pool and facilities, plenty of sunbeds. The apartments are spacious,spottlessly clean, well equipped microwave,fridge freezer, oven,kettle, coffee maker, balcony with furniture and umbrella. We went with Thomsons and the price included a car which you need as it is quite isolated. The nearest beach is Felesia about 3km away and one day walked along the beach to Vilamoura and back about a 2hr walk. The best restaurant in the area is The Van Gogh owned by a dutch lady off the main road to the right has fabulous views over the coast, a little more expensive than the others but better quality. The only negative are the beds which are quite hard but altogether a great place to stay and would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flor da Laranja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flor da Laranja

Address: Pata de Baixo, Vale de Carros, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Flor da Laranja 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Flor da Laranja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flor Da Laranja Hotel Albufeira
Flor Da Laranja Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flor da Laranja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.