We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay here!!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aparthotel Oceanus

Save Saved
You added Aparthotel Oceanus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aparthotel Oceanus
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 8200-650, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
county durham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay here!!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I have returned from a weeks hoidays in this hotel and had a brilliant time. I was travelling with my boyfriend and his family. We all had an apartment for 2 people and were very spacious. Some of us were located in the annex section and the rooms were spacious with a separate kitchen and a seating area with arm chairs, table and tv. The bedroom isn't in a separate room although their is a screen to pull across if needed. If in the annex request a room overlooking the pool as the suns shines on your balcony until gone 7.

The rooms in the main building were smaller but we were still more than happy. The was no separate seating area in these rooms but if you lucky enough to get an end room there is a fantastic corner baconly with a table chairs and 2 sun loungers.

There are 2 pools are smaller one were the annex is. This is a lot quieter and more relaxing if you prefer quiet. The larger pool is just across from the main entrance and is a good size with loungers and lots of space. However, as previously mentioned I wouldn't really class it as being 'across the road'. Its not exactly a main road, more like a car park belonging to the hotel and is perfectly safe.

The snack bar is very good prices. We only had a couple of snacks there but no complaints.

Overall, a great stay and if we were ever looking at going back to this resort we stayed in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Annex- over looking pool Main block- a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    137
    35
    14
    6
See reviews for
82
155
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Just returned from a glorious week in Olhos de Agua. We stayed at the Oceanus Aparthotel and I would highly recommend it as a base for your holiday. We arrived around 11.30 and our apartment wasn't ready - check in is around 4 normally but we were told to check again at 1pm and it was ready. We were able to leave our luggage in a secured room and pop over to the pool snack bar and grab a bite to eat. Staff on reception were helpful and assisted at all times. Our apartment (1 bedroom) was great. Beds were the most comfortable I've slept in at a holiday location and plenty of pillows. We had a fantastic balcony overlooking the pool area with 2 sun loungers and table/chairs. We were able to sit out and chill in the evenings. Room had all necessary items - kettle, toaster, microwave, tv with dvd player included. My only gripe is that the towels were not changed daily - 2 days the used towels were hung up again and were wet from the previous usage. In particular the last day before we travelled home. Bit disappointing. Detracts from the overall experience & hardly see how it impacts on their costs. Anyhow, apart from this would have no problem recommending to anyone. A safe is available for E20.50 for the week (E10 returned on departure), wifi is available for E10 for the week. Worth it - best signal in hotel reception area where you can sit and catch up. Air/con included in our holiday. The pool was great. Our daughter (12) used the main pool and loved it. There was a smaller children's pool which seemed grand as well. There were plenty of sun loungers and the cushions for them are only 1 euro per day. The toilets were clean and well maintained. We ate most days at the snack bar beside the pool - food was spot on. Freshly made pizzas, range of sandwiches/toasties, salads, burgers etc. Definitely try the chicken breast with piri piri sauce - yummy! Range of drinks, ice-creams, slushies available. Location - it 100%. Walk down to the beach is around 10 mins. All downhill so wouldn't be advisable if you need assistance walking. There are also a number of nice little restaurants down by the beach and tourist shops where you can purchase souvenirs etc. We also found a great little restaurant/cafe called Kilograma on the main road behind the hotel. You basically pay for the weight of your food. We ate there a few times and it came to under E30 for 2 adults and a child, including a bottle of wine, water and soft drinks. Great variety to choose from - definitely try it out if you are there. There is also a nice cafe beside it (Cafe Creme) and a bakery where we bought fresh rolls / croissants each morning. The cafe also has free wifi. Would also recommend the restaurant down by the beach, Tamarillo. Great value, pizza was amazing. We tried Acqua restaurant as well by the beach - food was just ok. They had decent live music after the meal which was cool. We only went into Albuferia one evening. Taxi cost around 8 or 9 euro. Meal was not great and cost over 80 euro for main meal & bottle of wine. Taxis are a pain to get back at night so we decided to stay in Olhos thereafter. There are 2 supermarkets nearby - 5 minute walk to both. Totally relaxing holiday and will definitely return

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building with a pool view - they are quieter and you get to watch the sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This is a clean and tidy apartment block with all you need for a great holiday. Olhos d'Agua is a small town, with a scattering of good bars and restaurants at good prices. The larger pool is mainly for families, there is also a smaller and very quiet pool more suited to adult travellers. The apartments were clean and well equipped. They are quite basic, but if you want 5 star you won't get it for 3 star prices. Reception and bar staff pleasant and helpful. I would definitely recommend the breakfast at the snack bar, 3.5 euros for a full English. Lots of shops nearby, with a large supermarket a five minute walk away, beach around 10 mins. Nice bar downstairs with entertainment most evenings. Galleon Bar down at the beach area very nice. A couple of minor niggles which would be really easy to sort out and would have made me score the hotel even higher. On our final day we had no maid service and no clean towels left. The following day we had a late evening airport transfer, and were told to use our dirty beach towels to shower in the courtesy shower room (indoor pool changing area). I think it would be very little trouble to give guests a clean towel to shower with on their last day. I used our room towels and got a ticking off from the receptionist. Come on, this is a hotel, at least look after your guests until they leave. The towel we used had been given to us clean two days ago anyway, and used twice so damp, so still not great for getting dry with. So if this hotel had a maid service 7 days a week like most hotels, and the petty towel situation could be sorted, I would have given it 5/5 without a doubt. Useful tips, there is an amazing Indian Restaurant called O Licorne nearby, you would never find it if you didn't know about it, back of hotel turn right and walk for about 10 minutes. It is across the road set back slightly but signposted. Local Chinese restaurant was ok but nothing special, Holidays Bar (English) situated below the hotel snack bar at the back is friendly and cheap, Taverntino at the back of the hotel is good, and drinks prices are extremely cheap. Sun Travel are good for transfers to and from Faro, and cheaper than most.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel. Staff at reception were very helpful and pleasant. About 10 euro taxi to centre and regular buses to Quertiera and Villamora. Apartment style with open plan sitting rooms and kitchen -very spacious,very clean. Would recommend.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Pleasantly surprised with this place. Very spacious rooms with a separate well equipped kitchen. Very clean, nice staff. There are two blocks of apartments and two pools and good facilities. Had no trouble getting a sunbed and it was all very relaxing.

Contrary to the previous post on here............the bar is downstairs and nicely decorated and I didn't find it dark at all. The cocktail waitress Veira was great and the cocktails she made were wonderful and very reasonable pricewise.

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and would come back anytime!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I stayed here with my friend for a week in June. We arrived late and there was no reception in the apartment block and no one around so was unsure how to check in, luckily there was a red emergency phone which connected us to reception in the other building (which we didn't know about as arrived late and in the dark).
After checking in at the other building we found our room and started to have a great holiday.
The room was pretty large for two of us, very nice clean kitchen, large living area and great powerful shower in the bathroom.
The pool area at the apartments was fairly quiet and had an adults only feeling however the pool at the hotel block had more life, there was a pool bar and cafe, more people around, it's always good to have the choice as you can use either.
The resort itself was fairly quiet but plenty of restaurants and a few nice bars to keep you entertained.
The beaches in olhos d agua were amazing! Some of the best I have ever seen.
If you want to visit the strip it's only about 6 euro in a taxi, and staying a little distance away from it was in hindsight a good move.
The old town was by far the nicest place to be of an evening, beautiful restaurants overlooking the sea, cute narrow streets with gift shops to wonder around and plenty of street entertainers.
This was my first time to Portugal and the good especially cataplana was amazing! Portuguese wine was very good quality and surprisingly cheap. All the locals that we met were so friendly and helpful, not one person was rude and thru could not do enough for you,
I would not visit mainland Spain again after going to Portugal, no comparison!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dollar, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Unfortunately, upon arrival late in the evening we were disappointed that the entrance and overall appearance of the hotel was very dated. Although very friendly reception staff this did not compensate for a very dreary bedroom, dirty bed linen and an overall feeling that I was back in the seventies.! The bar area was downstairs in a dark basement and it is not made clear when booking, that the swimming pool is situated across the road in what I can only describe as a compound. These apartments are very centrally located in a lovely resort,close to the beach ,bars and lovely restaurants, however this was not enough to entice us to stay there, and the next morning we requested a move to another apartment complex. We were very disappointed with the Oceanus but delighted with our new aparthotel , albeit, not in Olhos d'Agua which is a gorgeous little village that is predominantly Portuguese and has an abundance of fresh seafood and fish on offer in the gorgeous restaurants. This experience has not put us off returning to the Algarve as the, beaches, food and Portuguese people were fantastic and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the main road as very busy and noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aparthotel Oceanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Oceanus

Address: Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 8200-650, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
#13 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#32 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#32 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Oceanus 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanus Aparthotel ***The newly expanded Oceanus Aparthotel is located in the centre of the charming summer resort of Olhos d'Agua on the Algarve. Recently enlarged through the acquisition of the Aparthotel Olhos d'Agua, this 3 Star vacation retreat makes an affordable base for couples and families with a wide range of shops and restaurants nearby and 102 attractive studios and one bedroom apartments resting in 2 buildings surrounded by lovely gardens with a sparkling swimming pool. Guests of the Oceanus Aparthotel can discover the marvellous beaches of Olhos d'Aqua (500 m) and Maria Luísa (800 m), explore delightful little villages with narrow cobbled streets, and tackle the challenging golf course in nearby Acoteias. For a bargain holiday in the Algarve, Oceanus Aparthotel makes the grade! Faro International Airport is 30 km from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Aparthotel Oceanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Oceanus Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve
Aparthotel Oceanus Hotel Albufeira
Oceanus Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aparthotel Oceanus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.