We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY GOOD THREE STAR ACCOMMODATION” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aparthotel Oceanus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aparthotel Oceanus to your Saves list
Aparthotel Oceanus
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 8200-650, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD THREE STAR ACCOMMODATION”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Pleasantly surprised with this place. Very spacious rooms with a separate well equipped kitchen. Very clean, nice staff. There are two blocks of apartments and two pools and good facilities. Had no trouble getting a sunbed and it was all very relaxing.

Contrary to the previous post on here............the bar is downstairs and nicely decorated and I didn't find it dark at all. The cocktail waitress Veira was great and the cocktails she made were wonderful and very reasonable pricewise.

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and would come back anytime!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    154
    38
    15
    6
See reviews for
89
172
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I stayed here with my friend for a week in June. We arrived late and there was no reception in the apartment block and no one around so was unsure how to check in, luckily there was a red emergency phone which connected us to reception in the other building (which we didn't know about as arrived late and in the dark).
After checking in at the other building we found our room and started to have a great holiday.
The room was pretty large for two of us, very nice clean kitchen, large living area and great powerful shower in the bathroom.
The pool area at the apartments was fairly quiet and had an adults only feeling however the pool at the hotel block had more life, there was a pool bar and cafe, more people around, it's always good to have the choice as you can use either.
The resort itself was fairly quiet but plenty of restaurants and a few nice bars to keep you entertained.
The beaches in olhos d agua were amazing! Some of the best I have ever seen.
If you want to visit the strip it's only about 6 euro in a taxi, and staying a little distance away from it was in hindsight a good move.
The old town was by far the nicest place to be of an evening, beautiful restaurants overlooking the sea, cute narrow streets with gift shops to wonder around and plenty of street entertainers.
This was my first time to Portugal and the good especially cataplana was amazing! Portuguese wine was very good quality and surprisingly cheap. All the locals that we met were so friendly and helpful, not one person was rude and thru could not do enough for you,
I would not visit mainland Spain again after going to Portugal, no comparison!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dollar, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Unfortunately, upon arrival late in the evening we were disappointed that the entrance and overall appearance of the hotel was very dated. Although very friendly reception staff this did not compensate for a very dreary bedroom, dirty bed linen and an overall feeling that I was back in the seventies.! The bar area was downstairs in a dark basement and it is not made clear when booking, that the swimming pool is situated across the road in what I can only describe as a compound. These apartments are very centrally located in a lovely resort,close to the beach ,bars and lovely restaurants, however this was not enough to entice us to stay there, and the next morning we requested a move to another apartment complex. We were very disappointed with the Oceanus but delighted with our new aparthotel , albeit, not in Olhos d'Agua which is a gorgeous little village that is predominantly Portuguese and has an abundance of fresh seafood and fish on offer in the gorgeous restaurants. This experience has not put us off returning to the Algarve as the, beaches, food and Portuguese people were fantastic and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the main road as very busy and noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I have just come back from a solo trip to the Oceanus in Olhus. I had a lovely large studio with a well equipped kitchen area and 2 balconies, one large one with sun loungers on. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The Oceanus is handy for the beach and all local attractions such as bars, shops and restaurants. I ate some fantastic meals. The food and service at the A Cantina Restaurant near the apartments was excellent, with high quality meals in lovely surroundings. There is also a great Indian/Tandoori on the road towards the beach, a 2 minute walk from the Oceanus. On the opposite side of the main road there is a beautiful home shop, A Tulip. I was able to walk to Albufeira along the main road, taking approx. 40 minutes. My stay here was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

An absolute gem of a hotel,our room was perfect for what we wanted,two pools which catered for pretty much everyone's needs,a really quiet pool for couples,and a more spacious and lively pool for kids and families,a brilliant base and not too far away from nearby places if you wanted to avoid staying in the old town and albufeira etc

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We rented an apartment for 1 night for the family (2 adults, 2 kids)
The apartments are really huge. Clean and with everything you need for you stay.

The pool area is ok. With a restaurant where you can have decent food. There are restaurants all around and a supermarket.

The main problem with Oceanus is the environment. Buildings all around.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pwllheli, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Just returned from a 1 week stay at this hotel
Upon arrival we were given rooms facing the main rd ,was going to ask to change but we got use to it after a few days x
Hotel is very clean and the main pool is not very big but very relaxing and water depth is good also has a baby pool
The snack bar area is very good ,great prices and lovely staff
It cost 1 euro the hire the foam sun covers each day
There is a grassed area by the pool of which we used a lot as it had shaded areas as we needed it sometimes as the weather was very hot hot hot !
We dined at the Chinese over the rd and also the restaurant next door to it x both good meals
We also walked down to the beach area and ate in the Italian bar/ restaurant which was also very good x watch out when they give u appetisers to try whilst you wait for your meal to arrive x they don't ask you they just place them on your table ,breads,dips ect x it will appear on your bill at the end !
The beaches nearby are amazing ,beautiful sea and lovely sand x
There are water sports available but these can be found further along the beach ,we walked behind the RIU hotel and down lots of steps to another beautiful area of beach
There are jet ski,donuts,and we tried "the sofa" lots of fun ect but very fast ect 15 euros each (cost 60 per go!)minimum of 3 ect x so best have 4 ect works out cheaper x each person
Shops, there are lots of little gift shops by the beach ect ,but there is a cheap gift shop just down the rd from this hotel ,cross over and walk down a bit ,much cheaper souvineers than near the beach ect it's quite a big shop so everything under one roof x
The hotel could do with a bit more entertainment at night to keep the quests in hotel and maybe something by the pool in the day ,but we entertained our selfs ect
Bar prices good ,we ate in the hotels restaurant on out last evening and it was one of the best meals we had x this is adjacent to the hotel of which Oceananus guests can use x and get 10% discount x
Overall a great hotel ,would defo go bk there x

Room Tip: There are rooms situated on the main rd noisy ,but you get use to it x
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aparthotel Oceanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Oceanus

Address: Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 8200-650, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Oceanus 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanus Aparthotel ***The newly expanded Oceanus Aparthotel is located in the centre of the charming summer resort of Olhos d'Agua on the Algarve. Recently enlarged through the acquisition of the Aparthotel Olhos d'Agua, this 3 Star vacation retreat makes an affordable base for couples and families with a wide range of shops and restaurants nearby and 102 attractive studios and one bedroom apartments resting in 2 buildings surrounded by lovely gardens with a sparkling swimming pool. Guests of the Oceanus Aparthotel can discover the marvellous beaches of Olhos d'Aqua (500 m) and Maria Luísa (800 m), explore delightful little villages with narrow cobbled streets, and tackle the challenging golf course in nearby Acoteias. For a bargain holiday in the Algarve, Oceanus Aparthotel makes the grade! Faro International Airport is 30 km from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aparthotel Oceanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Oceanus Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve
Aparthotel Oceanus Hotel Albufeira
Oceanus Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aparthotel Oceanus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.