We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic hotel, excellent location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colina do Mar Residencial

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Colina do Mar Residencial to your Saves list
Colina do Mar Residencial
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Maria Teresa Semedo Azevedo, 3, Albufeira 8200-155, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
cornwall
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good basic hotel, excellent location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the location, it's a stone's throw away from all the great restaurants and bars of the old town, but you wouldn't think so as its quiet. Our room was very clean on arrival and was maintained with fresh towels on a daily basis also a fridge, kettle and hairdryer in the room. It is basic and a little old but it's perfect for a cheap week away for somewhere to sleep and have a nice hot shower. Breakfast was continental which was nice with lovely fresh bread and a very nice coffee machine! It is served 8-10am and is replenished through out this time. The staff were nice and reception was open 24hours a day. The pool is on the rooftop with fantastic views, it's quite small but when we were up there, we had the pool to our selves most times. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a cheap and cheerful holiday in the fantastic old town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    77
    64
    20
    14
See reviews for
16
110
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leitrim
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed here from the 19/26 Sept. My overall impression is quite good on all counts for this hotel.Cheap,clean, safe place to rest your weary head in. Pity about not having a bar etc.The location is excellent, and will return some day

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed here for a week and got a really cheap deal. Good location. Spacious rooms with plenty of storage fridge and tea making facilities. Decent bathroom with plenty of hot water. Hotel a bit tired but for what we paid £30 a night bed and breakfast for two I wouldn't complain. A small pool and terrace on the roof which was handy after a morning sight seeing. Basic breakfast. You wouldn't go hungry. A very good location but a steep block to climb. Therefore not good for those with walking difficulties. Would use this hotel again. Just don't expect luxury.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry, Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Just back from a relaxing break at the beginning of September. The hotel was very clean, sheets, towels. Fridge in room, kettle, cups and plates, hairdryer in bathroom. Late check out of 12.00 pm very handy. The staff very friendly, brilliant English. Breakfast basic but adequate in the morning; rolls, toast, croissants, cheese, ham, tomatoes, eggs, fresh fruit and fantastic coffee. Steep hill of about 50 meters but same very manageable.
The old town itself very beautiful and fantastic restaurants, good entertainment in bar street and the surrounding areas. Taxi 5 euro to the strip if you are feeling up to it, live rock band in Wild and co worth a look and Donaldo's a good restaurant. O'Manger and Jo Jo's in old town good as well. We used sun transfer for a taxi service 50 pounds return very prompt polite service. Nice wee rooftop pool that had the sun all day and adequate loungers when we were there. We met some lovely people, everybody very relaxed and in total holiday mode. I would have no hesitation in returning but would prefer a room on the fourth floor simply to be nearer to the pool :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This hotel is basic but clean there are not many staff and they work long hours short walk down a steep hill into the old town max 5 minutes its a shame that the surrounding area has buildings completed but not in use. Even though this hotel is close to town centre there was very little noise. Great resteraunt at the bottom of the street on right hand corner T-Bone steak only 12 euros very busy which is a good sign.

Room Tip: Request a room on upper floors they are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

After reading several reviews on this site I wondered what I had let my self in for. But I can honestly say I have been plesantly surprised. The staff are very friendly and helpful with good English rooms are clean and the bedding has been changed daily. The rooftop pool isn't overly big. The hotel is located 150m from the centre of old town and 200m from the beach my only negative is the gradient of the hill it is situated on if this is not a problem to you then overall a great little hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My Fiancee and I stayed here for a week at the end of June.

The location is great if you arent hiring a car. It is literally a stones throw from Albufeira town, as long as you dont mind a hill and some stairs then its perfect.

Love Albufeira, but it is getting more and more commercial which I was slightly disappointed with on this visit.

The hotel... it is basic. We knew this when we booked but it was very middle of the road verging on poor. When we arrived our double room was a decent size, but it had a funny smell. Our bedclothes smelt like they hadnt been changed from the previous guest and it smelt as though they may have been sweated on by a middle aged man!
We addressed this with the staff and they did change the bedding for us. It was definitely an improvement but they smelt musty and we generally just slept on the sheet.

The breakfasts left little to be desired. They were included in the price but were very basic. The only thing we were really keen on was the waffles with honey which you can toast yourself but they only served them on 3 days. There is cereal to choose from aswell as some bread with butter and jam. We didnt expect a cooked breakfast but we wasnt overly impressed with the selection.

We only saw three members of staff whilst we were there, they seem to rotate between reception desk and breakfast duties. They were relatively friendly and answered questions when asked.

The weather was fantastic and Portugal is a really lovely place to go.
Highly higly highly recommend 'Dolphins Driven', boat can be picked up from Albufeira harbour. Was out for 2 and half hours saw tons of dolphins right next to the boat before then exploring the caves close by. Not a gentle mosey by any means - prepare to get thrown around and if your at the front extremely wet. Brilliant experience would happily go again.

Overall, lovely holiday but the 3 stars which I have given the hotel is mainly for the location. The hotel is overall is outdated, extremely basic and a little shabby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Colina do Mar Residencial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colina do Mar Residencial

Address: Rua Maria Teresa Semedo Azevedo, 3, Albufeira 8200-155, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Colina do Mar Residencial 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Colina do Mar Residencial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colina Do Mar Residencial Hotel Albufeira
Colina Do Mar Residencial Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colina do Mar Residencial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.