We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phil&IreneAdams” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Choromar Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Choromar Apartments to your Saves list
Choromar Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Candido Guerreiro, Lote 22 / 23 | Montechoro, Albufeira 8200-347, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Phil&IreneAdams”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Just got back from choromar with my wife ,Brother and sister-in-law and had a great time we would like to thank Carlos and Grace and all the staff for another top stay brilliant apartments and in a quiet part of Albufeira
staff so friendly went there last year and they all recognised us and made us very welcome staff were brilliant always had a smile and joke for you Entertainment on every night with Pedro the top kareoke king who got everyone going
Rooms were a good size and very clean had everything you needed we were in block 2 and virtually had the pool to ourselves they supply a free bus to old town or beach large supermarket about 10 mins walk strip is about 15 min stroll hopefully will we be looking to go back again in October.
We used Yellowfish Transfers to get there from the Airport and they were brilliant they were at the airport waiting for us and were spot on time for our return

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    139
    84
    35
    53
See reviews for
167
143
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roscommon, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Just back today the 3rd may,thought it was really nice relaxing food is good,staff lovely and friendly,walls you can kinda hear everything next door,an it's only 10/15 min walk to the strip which is a nice stroll anyway,an we even walked to the oldtown most evenings which will take at least a half hour,nice for sight seeing,

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

the good points staff are friendly apartments are very big beds are comfy wifi 1 euro for a weeks stay bad points there was three of us in a ibed apt with 2towels we requested on more than 1 occasion for an extra towel but alas it never came location to far from everywhere a good 15 mins walk to the strip thats like an obstacle course dog droppings everywhere so watch your step and of course the noise music goes on till 2 in the morning and then u get the drunks coming in at all hours makingmore noise the week we stayed the were booked out so maybe this had something the do with all ive said but i for one will not be returning

Room Tip: avoid main building as its above the noise in the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel about 9 pm, recption staff were very friendly, we had 3 rooms between us (family of 8) we were given the keys and directions from a picture, we were in separate blocks as our room was a 2 bedroom. Although we were not told, wifi is available at just €1 for your entire stay, even though its only available in the bar and Lobby I think it's great value and wish I'd known earlier in my holiday!
Bar:
I can't remember what time food starts serving but is served until 11, while the bar serves drinks till 2am. The food is standard, although we stuck to basic chips, burgers, breakfasts etc while in the hotel. From what we saw though the chicken kebabs looked lovely! If your a beer drinker, the bar serves the local beer of super bock which is about €2 , half the price of bud etc.
The entertainment doesn't have much variety, karaoke every night with either pedro or some other guy who is a complete letch! The bar staff are soo nice, Fatima and 'Robert di Nero' are very helpful.

Pools:
There are 2 pools available, the main pool which is right next to the bar, and the 'private' pool which was exclusive to the 2nd block, half of our family had rooms in this block so we had acsess however we felt this was annoying as we had all paid the same amount yet we wouldn't have been able to use the pool if we didn't have the rooms in that block. 2 of our party ended up with ear infections and had to go to the hospital it got so bad, when speaking at the bar 'di Nero' said it was a common problem with the pools there.

Rooms:
The cleaner for our room didnt really seem to clean our room apart from replace toilet rolls, our beds were never made, and the bins weren't emptied! The only day she made the beds was when the sheets were changed.... The day before we left :/ Apart from that the rooms were ok, they only had one plug socket per room, and being a room with 3 girls, this got annoying! The safe was €27 I think and we got €15 back.

Area:
The hotel literally is in the middle if nowhere, however we got taxis everywhere, the new town/the strip is more lively and not really suitable for younger kids, although there is some ok restaurants there, that's about €5/6 in a taxi. The old town is much nicer, better quality restaurants and more family friendly bars, and every bar you go in usually gives the kids a free drink! We found 'jojos' here great value for lunch meals, not so much so evening meals. The old town is about €7 taxi. Reception will order the taxis for you and there is taxi ranks in the town for a return. However if you have a family of more than 4 (normal taxi) ask at reception for the 8 seater, he charges the same as 1 car instead of gettimg 2! then ask the driver for a card and just give him a ring when you need him, we only found this out on the last few days, it would have saved us a hell of a lot of money! It was like having a private chaufeur.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grindleford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I have just come back from Choro Mar and I can see how the comments previous people have put which are mixed could be attained. Firstly Grace and her team including Fatima and Dario will do anything for their guests and I could not fault them. I spoke to Grace on a number of occasions about things and she was more than helpful.

It is cheap and although 3 star it might not be quite what you expect from a 3 star. There are a number of pools although the one outside our block was being renovated and not in use. The walls are quite thin though which would be my only gripe. It is situated in a quiet area (no signs of dodgy people that others have stated!) but it is a short walk to the 'Strip'. The Strip is my idea of hell (English Breakfasts, Sports TV and Karaoke!) The Old town is much preferable but is approx 1 hours walk or a 7euro taxi ride.

Contrary to what some people have said there is also a very decent supermarket less than a 10min walk from Choro Mar - Think some people's expectations are too high!

Overall the holiday was better than I expected as I had gone on my own but even though I had no problems with Choro Mar I would stay in the Old Town if I went again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Just back from 2 weeks at Choromar and it was better the second time! Stayed in the yellow building separate from the main block and felt like it was my own private apartment. It is a bit out from the centre but a pleasant walk morning or evening- too hot mid day! In the separate block you have a modern well equiped apartment and pool area. You can also use the facilities of the main block. I liked the peace around my own pool as it was little used.Entertainment is good- live music every other night and kaoroke on the other nights. Some guests though prefer to watch football 24/7! Food is excellent although we cooked mostly for ourselves. We hired a car and there is ample parking and it is a great base for exploring the area. Train station a short drive away - good for when you don't want to drive. Free bus 5 days a week to beaches and only 1 euro for wifi code to use in bar and reception. Staff are excellent. Small shop on site for basics but excellent supermarket in "Big Building" in Montechoro- fresh bread at all times of the day! Local bus service from school bus stop nearby that connects to regional services at bus station. I found the location great- rural but near amenities and feel part of the community. As cat owners we felt at home- several friendly cats in the area! Great value holiday- 2 weeks including flights for less than £400 for 2!

Room Tip: Separate block- yellow building if you want peace and quiet and to feel you are in your own private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed here with 8 girls, 5 of us in a 2 bed and 4 in a 1 bed apartment for 3 nights for a friends hen do. The apartments are super clean. Fairly close together. The food in the hotel is good - really cheap and perfect for what we wanted. The beer wasn't too cheap (but that's Portugal all over I think). The heated pool by the main reception was good - but REALLY deep! The staff were really nice. Security in the main reception all night. Only about a 4Euro taxi ride to town (bit too far to walk though)

The only downside is the showers - they're a bit temperamental and the hot water only lasted 5 minutes (you can imagine the ciaos with 5 girls sharing a room!).

Albuferia is FAB for a hen do! We went to the strip every night and found some lovely places to eat.

Would return for a girly drinking weekend (I don't think my liver could take a full week!).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Choromar Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Choromar Apartments

Address: Rua Candido Guerreiro, Lote 22 / 23 | Montechoro, Albufeira 8200-347, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Choromar Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Choromar Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Choromar Apartments Hotel Albufeira
Choromar Aparthotel Albufeira
Choromar Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira
Choro Mar
Choromar Apartments Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Choromar Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.