We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday 2014” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cerro da Marina Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cerro da Marina Hotel to your Saves list
Cerro da Marina Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Cerro Grande, Albufeira 8200, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hull, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Holiday 2014”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed at your hotel on the 15/6/2014 to the 25/6/2014 on a half board basis, the hotel is exactly what is says, small and very friendly, the room we had(109) was very good with a pool view.
The food was very good, the breakfast wasn't laid out like other hotels but was still very good tasting. The evening meal(had to pre order noon that day) was also very good. No problems getting a sunbeds every day, carol and paulo were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

Laura the Thompson rep was also very nice as was all the staff, hotel was on a slight hill but was very manageable, if not a taxi ride was only 5 euros into town centre.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

Ken & carol
Hull

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    61
    21
    9
    3
See reviews for
16
139
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed for one week 06/7/14 - 13/07/14. First impresion when we arrived and went for walk round pool area was this was too quiet for us ...you felt like you needed to whisper...it was so quiet !
Stayed by pool only two mornings in the whole week mainly because of the music that was played through numerous speakers in every area of pool and gardens ( radio Kiss ) music to loud to concentrate and all day every day ....WHY ?
Rooms were very good ,clean, roomy and cleaned daily with nice balcony, although the air con was very noisy therefore could not leave on at night , also some sort of plastic covering on matress so i woke several times in night sweating . DO NOT have room on floor just off reception because this is the service floor and the chambermaids start at 7 am most days
Apart from breakfast only had one lunchtime meal on first day , ordered toastie and ckicken sandwich .... took 1 hour to arrive .
Ate in the old town every day , so much choice
Sorry to be so negative but we were expecting a lot more, it just was not for us

Room Tip: As before do not have rooms on floor just off reception , this where the chambermaids are based and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Where to start? If you want a hotel within a stone's throw of the Old or New Towns, C de M is not for you. If you want a hotel which is quiet, has excellent facilities, friendly and helpful staff, good food and high quality and clean accommodation, look no further. The hotel is a flat/downhill walk of 10-15 minutes from the main square, although there are some closer bars and restaurants of good quality nearer. The flat/steeply uphill journey back from town is manageable by anyone halfway fit or costs 5-6 euros in a taxi from the square.
SD box v. reasonable, free aircon and TV. Rooms reasonably spacious and well-equipped/furnished/decorated. Ditto bathroom. Hotel is quiet (although nearly full) and during our two week stay 26/6/ to 10/7, no children at all staying there.
Maid service wonderful. Milena is fluent in 5 languages and gets by in another six or seven - definitely a first for us!! We stayed B&B - best range of hot and cold food for brekky we have had anywhere. Also, pre-book by midday for evening meal and get 3 course dinner for 11 euros - definitely good value for money and menu changes daily. V. reasonable snack lunch menu between 12.30-1.30pm.
Bar prices reasonable for hotel but some items either over- or under-priced. Roundabouts and swings!!
Pool area clean and well-appointed with enough decent sunbeds for the number of rooms although likely to be a little busy in peak season. Also nice shaded "chill-out" area with jacuzzi. Sauna and massage facilities bookable. Also small selection of proper gym equipment free to use for those who just don't stop even for holidays!
Staff excellent from Carol on Reception to Melina, Ana and Inga who double up on cleaning, catering and waitressing duties to some extent or other. Any other staff not mentioned by name also do a great job but these four are those with whom we had the bulk of our contact.
If you are being picked up very early on your last day (like we were), breakfast items can be provided the night before and kept in the mini-bar fridge in your room overnight.
The whole experience was a joy and we really cannot think of any suggestions we could have made to improve our stay. We can honestly say that this was the best 3 star hotel we have ever stayed in and cannot recommend it too highly.
Finally, the hotel is covered by Laura, the Thomson resort advisor (reps, they used to call them). She was there at least once daily except for one day each week when she was supporting colleagues elsewhere. Although quite young, she is very mature, professional and knowledgeable. She will do anything within her powers to ensure that you are well-informed and that any problems are solved promptly. She and the hotel deserve each other, in the nicest possible way.

Room Tip: I don't think any of the rooms would be a problem. There is no pool or passing traffic noise an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Like many reviewers on here, this was not my first visit to the Cerro de Marina and I enjoyed this trip just as much as previous ones (this was my third visit). It's possibly the most relaxing hotel I've ever stayed at. And this is why I keep going back!
It's a small hotel which although is a little dated internally, is a lovely place to spend a holiday. Our room was large and spacious, overlooked the pool with a very nice bathroom (which I think had recently been updated). I think all the rooms overlook the pool so you always get a great view. Also, the hotel is incredibly clean! The housekeeping staff do an amazing job there.
Breakfast is great and something I always looked forward to; nice selection of breads, ham, cheese, etc with cooked options which always included scrambled eggs (possibly the best scrambled egg I've ever had!)-, baked beans, bacon, boiled eggs and sausages. The only thing I would say is that coffee comes out of a machine and it would be better fresh (but It didn't stop me having it every day!)
Lunch is available and it's such great value, so we always stayed at the hotel. They serve sandwiches, salad, pizza, soup, burger, etc.
The hotel also has an honesty bar- which is never manned, you just help yourself and write down what you've had so it can be added to your bill at the end of the holiday. This is a real novelty and something I've not come across at other hotels. I think some guests found this strange but I thought it was perfect! This also helps make the hotel so very quiet and relaxing as there is hardly any staff around during the day (apart from at meal times).
The pool and gardens are lovely with plenty of loungers (with umbrellas/ sun shades)- we never struggled to get one. And there is a lovely undercover decked section with sofas - somewhere lovely to spend a bit of time if you need to get out of the sun (I feel asleep her more than once!). It's also got a lovely Jacuzzi which many of the guest enjoyed (I didn't try it out myself).
Each evening we wandered out of the hotel and down the hill to the town square. It's about a 15 minute walk down and rather steep in sections so ladies, take flat shoes! It's a lovely walk on the way down, not so lovely on the way back but it does help you burn off some of dinner! If you struggle walking then this probably isn't the place for you (although you can get cabs up the hill!).
We never stayed in the hotel for dinner in the evening but seemed to be great value and other guests enjoyed it (we felt it was a little too quiet for us!)
The staff at the hotel are so friendly and welcoming, it almost feels as though you are staying in someone's home. Paulo on reception is a real asset to the hotel.
Overall the hotel is great value for money and a haven of peace and calm- definitely somewhere to go if you want to really wind down. It would suit couples more than families with young children- there weren't any young children there when I was there which was rather nice.
I'd definitely recommend it and I'm certain i'll go back!.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first view have a better view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

just returned from our 2 week stay at the Cerra Da Marina. this is our second visit to this hotel and it was just as good as last year. We had the same room as last year and Carol and all the staff are lovely. Our Thomson Rep was very helpful with all we wanted to know. Can recommend the 4+4 sunset trip, although we did not see the sunset due too the weather the Ponti boys (Carlos,Chicken George and Shrek) to name a few made our trip worthwhile despite the weather.will definitely be going back next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We have just returned from another terrific stay at the Cerro de Marina, my friend and I were treated like old friends. The hotel is kept in pristine condition, the personal touches by the staff make the holiday, Carole and Paulo on reception made us really welcome and we were looked after like 5 star guests by Inga, Ang, Milena and George. We decided to eat at the hotel the second week,the food was excellent with good choices, it was well presented and elegantly served. We will definately be back.

Audrey & Brenda

Room Tip: We had a first floor room but all rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The hotel is at the top of the cerro grande (great hill). Don't let that you put you off. I am not good at hills; I could easily manage the walk down the hill and its is a cheap taxi ride back up the hill; the staff are wonderful. Pool and garden are wonderful to accommodate the sun worshipers and those that need to miss the midday sun. The rooms are a good size. The only criticism was the lunches are very simple. Being close to old Albufeira and its many restaurants, we never ate there in the evening. Our three favourite restaurants good enough to visit twice were Dom Carlos. Casa Del Mer and Cabana Fresca. Tip for the ladies (from Caroline): the hair dryer in the the pool ladies is better than those in the room!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cerro da Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerro da Marina Hotel

Address: Rua do Cerro Grande, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
#14 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#16 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#21 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cerro da Marina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a landscaped garden, this hotel overlooks Albufeira’s new marina and offers elegantly decorated rooms with balconies. Only 700 metres from the beach, it features an outdoor pool and free Wi-Fi.Cerro Da Marina Hotel’s air-conditioned rooms are decorated in neutral colours. Each room overlooks the garden or the pool, and has a flat-screen satellite TV and a minibar.Guests can start their day with a breakfast buffet. The hotel’s restaurant opens to the pool area and serves international cuisine and Mediterranean dishes. Special diet menus are also available.The nearest golf course is 4 km away, and close to the hotel there are water parks and zoo parks. The Main Church of Albufeira and the Fisherman's Beach Albufeira are only 700 metres away.Faro Airport is 27 km away, and the hotel offers free public parking on site. A car rental service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Cerro da Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerro Da Marina Hotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve
Cerro Da Marina Albufeira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cerro da Marina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.