We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cerro da Marina Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cerro da Marina Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cerro da Marina Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Cerro Grande, Albufeira 8200, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 162 hotels in Albufeira
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Where to start? If you want a hotel within a stone's throw of the Old or New Towns, C de M is not for you. If you want a hotel which is quiet, has excellent facilities, friendly and helpful staff, good food and high quality and clean accommodation, look no further. The hotel is a flat/downhill walk of 10-15 minutes from the main square, although there are some closer bars and restaurants of good quality nearer. The flat/steeply uphill journey back from town is manageable by anyone halfway fit or costs 5-6 euros in a taxi from the square.
SD box v. reasonable, free aircon and TV. Rooms reasonably spacious and well-equipped/furnished/decorated. Ditto bathroom. Hotel is quiet (although nearly full) and during our two week stay 26/6/ to 10/7, no children at all staying there.
Maid service wonderful. Milena is fluent in 5 languages and gets by in another six or seven - definitely a first for us!! We stayed B&B - best range of hot and cold food for brekky we have had anywhere. Also, pre-book by midday for evening meal and get 3 course dinner for 11 euros - definitely good value for money and menu changes daily. V. reasonable snack lunch menu between 12.30-1.30pm.
Bar prices reasonable for hotel but some items either over- or under-priced. Roundabouts and swings!!
Pool area clean and well-appointed with enough decent sunbeds for the number of rooms although likely to be a little busy in peak season. Also nice shaded "chill-out" area with jacuzzi. Sauna and massage facilities bookable. Also small selection of proper gym equipment free to use for those who just don't stop even for holidays!
Staff excellent from Carol on Reception to Melina, Ana and Inga who double up on cleaning, catering and waitressing duties to some extent or other. Any other staff not mentioned by name also do a great job but these four are those with whom we had the bulk of our contact.
If you are being picked up very early on your last day (like we were), breakfast items can be provided the night before and kept in the mini-bar fridge in your room overnight.
The whole experience was a joy and we really cannot think of any suggestions we could have made to improve our stay. We can honestly say that this was the best 3 star hotel we have ever stayed in and cannot recommend it too highly.
Finally, the hotel is covered by Laura, the Thomson resort advisor (reps, they used to call them). She was there at least once daily except for one day each week when she was supporting colleagues elsewhere. Although quite young, she is very mature, professional and knowledgeable. She will do anything within her powers to ensure that you are well-informed and that any problems are solved promptly. She and the hotel deserve each other, in the nicest possible way.

Room Tip: I don't think any of the rooms would be a problem. There is no pool or passing traffic noise an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    55
    19
    8
    3
See reviews for
15
124
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Romsey, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Like many reviewers on here, this was not my first visit to the Cerro de Marina and I enjoyed this trip just as much as previous ones (this was my third visit). It's possibly the most relaxing hotel I've ever stayed at. And this is why I keep going back!
It's a small hotel which although is a little dated internally, is a lovely place to spend a holiday. Our room was large and spacious, overlooked the pool with a very nice bathroom (which I think had recently been updated). I think all the rooms overlook the pool so you always get a great view. Also, the hotel is incredibly clean! The housekeeping staff do an amazing job there.
Breakfast is great and something I always looked forward to; nice selection of breads, ham, cheese, etc with cooked options which always included scrambled eggs (possibly the best scrambled egg I've ever had!)-, baked beans, bacon, boiled eggs and sausages. The only thing I would say is that coffee comes out of a machine and it would be better fresh (but It didn't stop me having it every day!)
Lunch is available and it's such great value, so we always stayed at the hotel. They serve sandwiches, salad, pizza, soup, burger, etc.
The hotel also has an honesty bar- which is never manned, you just help yourself and write down what you've had so it can be added to your bill at the end of the holiday. This is a real novelty and something I've not come across at other hotels. I think some guests found this strange but I thought it was perfect! This also helps make the hotel so very quiet and relaxing as there is hardly any staff around during the day (apart from at meal times).
The pool and gardens are lovely with plenty of loungers (with umbrellas/ sun shades)- we never struggled to get one. And there is a lovely undercover decked section with sofas - somewhere lovely to spend a bit of time if you need to get out of the sun (I feel asleep her more than once!). It's also got a lovely Jacuzzi which many of the guest enjoyed (I didn't try it out myself).
Each evening we wandered out of the hotel and down the hill to the town square. It's about a 15 minute walk down and rather steep in sections so ladies, take flat shoes! It's a lovely walk on the way down, not so lovely on the way back but it does help you burn off some of dinner! If you struggle walking then this probably isn't the place for you (although you can get cabs up the hill!).
We never stayed in the hotel for dinner in the evening but seemed to be great value and other guests enjoyed it (we felt it was a little too quiet for us!)
The staff at the hotel are so friendly and welcoming, it almost feels as though you are staying in someone's home. Paulo on reception is a real asset to the hotel.
Overall the hotel is great value for money and a haven of peace and calm- definitely somewhere to go if you want to really wind down. It would suit couples more than families with young children- there weren't any young children there when I was there which was rather nice.
I'd definitely recommend it and I'm certain i'll go back!.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first view have a better view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

just returned from our 2 week stay at the Cerra Da Marina. this is our second visit to this hotel and it was just as good as last year. We had the same room as last year and Carol and all the staff are lovely. Our Thomson Rep was very helpful with all we wanted to know. Can recommend the 4+4 sunset trip, although we did not see the sunset due too the weather the Ponti boys (Carlos,Chicken George and Shrek) to name a few made our trip worthwhile despite the weather.will definitely be going back next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We have just returned from another terrific stay at the Cerro de Marina, my friend and I were treated like old friends. The hotel is kept in pristine condition, the personal touches by the staff make the holiday, Carole and Paulo on reception made us really welcome and we were looked after like 5 star guests by Inga, Ang, Milena and George. We decided to eat at the hotel the second week,the food was excellent with good choices, it was well presented and elegantly served. We will definately be back.

Audrey & Brenda

Room Tip: We had a first floor room but all rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The hotel is at the top of the cerro grande (great hill). Don't let that you put you off. I am not good at hills; I could easily manage the walk down the hill and its is a cheap taxi ride back up the hill; the staff are wonderful. Pool and garden are wonderful to accommodate the sun worshipers and those that need to miss the midday sun. The rooms are a good size. The only criticism was the lunches are very simple. Being close to old Albufeira and its many restaurants, we never ate there in the evening. Our three favourite restaurants good enough to visit twice were Dom Carlos. Casa Del Mer and Cabana Fresca. Tip for the ladies (from Caroline): the hair dryer in the the pool ladies is better than those in the room!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This hotel is perfect if you want a cozy, peaceful, welcoming hotel without the frills.

From the minute we arrived, the staff was so incredibly friendly and accommodating. All staff spoke fantastic English, addressed us by name, printed documents for us, and arranged for us to shower and access everything we needed on our last day since we were staying beyond check-out.

Food-wise, breakfast is included and served from 8-10am. There is a nice variety of hot and cold options including eggs, bacon, tons of breads, cereals, fruit, tomatoes, tea, coffee, OJ and even champagne. It doesn't switch much from day to day though. From 4-4:30 they have tea time with complimentary tea and a light snack. For drinks and snacks 24 hours a day, they have the honesty bar where you can help yourself and you write what you've had and they will charge it to your room. It was always clean and well-stocked. Such a great idea! Lunch is available daily, but we were never there to sample that or dinner.

The pool area was wonderful. There was always a sunlounger if you wanted one. Couples talked, read, slept, swam, played cards, but it was quite. No children! Day and night, the hotel was very peaceful and quiet. The common area was super inviting with tons of couches, tables and chairs, a piano, TV, board games, books, and magazines for you to share and enjoy. There is also a small outside workout area overlooking the pool. So neat!! Only a few machines (2 bikes, an elliptical, rowing machine), but it's something at least! (See picture)

The room was nice and had some great touches in beachy decor. It's not the most modern hotel, but has lots of character. We had a little difficulty finding the correct setting for the AC unit, but it cooled the room quickly. The hairdryer was pretty outdated and dried my hair very slowly (see picture), so if that's important to you, you may want to bring your own. Also the beds were much firmer than we would have liked. I had a few body aches from it.

As others have mentioned, the walk to town center is quite far. Be prepared for quite a walk or have the desk call you a taxi. The trip to the town is mostly downhill, but the trip back is quite uphill and could be tough for those not used to a lot of walking. We are early 30s and pretty in shape, so we were fine with it, but definitely needed good footwear for walking. I couldn't have done it in heels. The town square is very lively!! Hundreds of bars, restaurants and shops!

PROS:
- staff
- value
- pool area
- ambiance
- food and drinks
- security

CONS:
- Distance/walk to beach and town
- hard beds

Room Tip: We had a pool view which was very nice and not noisy at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Stayed here for a very relaxing week. Welcoming staff from the minute you arrive. Chilled out pool area with no issues getting a sun lounger. Chill out area in the shade was very relaxing.
Rooms were clean and a good size.
Honesty bar during the day works really well and although dearer than the local bars it's still reasonably priced
Breakfast was ok but basically the same every day. A bit of variety would make a big difference. However a breakfast was left for us on the last day as we were leaving at 7am. That was a nice touch.
Situated up a hill which may not be ideal for some but only 10/15 mins from the old town.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cerro da Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerro da Marina Hotel

Address: Rua do Cerro Grande, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#11 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#15 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cerro da Marina Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a landscaped garden, this hotel overlooks Albufeira’s new marina and offers elegantly decorated rooms with balconies. Only 700 metres from the beach, it features an outdoor pool and free Wi-Fi.Cerro Da Marina Hotel’s air-conditioned rooms are decorated in neutral colours. Each room overlooks the garden or the pool, and has a flat-screen satellite TV and a minibar.Guests can start their day with a breakfast buffet. The hotel’s restaurant opens to the pool area and serves international cuisine and Mediterranean dishes. Special diet menus are also available.The nearest golf course is 4 km away, and close to the hotel there are water parks and zoo parks. The Main Church of Albufeira and the Fisherman's Beach Albufeira are only 700 metres away.Faro Airport is 27 km away, and the hotel offers free public parking on site. A car rental service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cerro da Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerro Da Marina Hotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve
Cerro Da Marina Albufeira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cerro da Marina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.